Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
90
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2017
Unbelievable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
arrived on time and cd as described. thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
paul weller at his best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
a great collection, tho I still hold Heavy Soul to be his best ever album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This wonderful greatest hits package from 1998, collects together most of the legendary Paul Weller's solo singles from 1991's 'Into Tomorrow' to his then current hit 'Brand New Start', and everything in between, several of which never made it onto his studio albums. Four tracks from Paul's excellent 1995 release 'Stanley Road' appear, 'Out of the Sinking', 'The Changingman', 'You Do Something to Me' and 'Broken Stones', all of them major hit singles. This is a very comprehensive overview of good old rock-and-roll music, mixed in with stylish R + B and soul. Whilst I can't say that every track here is standout, but when it's good, believe me, it's excellent.

This album is beautifully packaged with a booklet that contains some great pictures, memorabilia, information about where and when each of the tracks were recorded, as well as a message at the end from the big man himself.

Here with have distinctively British music that is perfect music for the Summer, Winter, Spring and Fall too, it's timeless. If you are looking for a good overview of Paul's work as a master singer/songwriter without his bands The Jam and The Style Council, 'Modern Classics: The Greatest Hits' is the album to buy. From here, you should progress onto last year's More Modern Classics release, which features highlights over the following 15 years. Cheers Mr. Weller - please keep the music coming Sir!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2000
I bought this album on the strength of one song (You Do Something To Me). Had I realised how amazing this album is, my justification of buying it would have been more substantial. If you're thinking about buying it, don't think at all. Just buy it knowing that you'll be missing out on a compilation album of one of the best songwriters of the past couple of decades. I simply can't speak highly enough of this album!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Lovers of bluesy rock, with occasional folky flavours, are certain to find plenty to enjoy on this collection of Paul Weller's 1990's output with the likes of 'Peacock Suit', 'Sunflower', 'Wild Wood', 'Hung Up', 'The Changingman', 'Out Of The Sinking', 'You Do Something To Me', 'Broken Stones' and many more besides. This compilation serves as a very decent introduction to Weller's solo work and his excellent solo albums such as 'Wild Wood' and 'Stanley Road'. Highly recommended and very good value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)