Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2002
the third talking heads album & probably their greatest begins with a Dada sound-poem & ends with what sounds like an LSD trip gone horribly wrong, in between all kinds of fear are examined with a sly grin. David Byrne appears through the album to be some kind of refugee from a Kierkgaard mindscape although his fear & trembling is punctuated with humour. life is a trap & it's the ultimate one so how best to deal with all that useless anxiety about Cities & Animals & Drugs (not to mention Heaven itself)? well, Byrne says if you can make a mockery of it - sing it all out & feel better.for my part i believe anxiety is the best source for any Art to mine so this album lays close to my heart. Eno's production is just right - a sense of manic unease bubbles throughout. the conclusion? "paranoia is a great mood propeller" (Don Van Vliet)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
This album is full of the complex rhythms and quirky tunes mixed with admittedly bizarre lyrics to make something that works unusually well. If you have listened to a little Talking Heads or own a 'best of' compilation, I would highly recommend this as a must buy album on the way to becoming a full-blown fan. Very infectious!

As a bonus, this version has a nifty DVD disc thrown in. There are live videos of 'I Zimbra' and 'Cities' as well as the whole album in a snazzy 5.1 format. 'Surround yourself in Talking Heads', is what they suggest and it isn't a bad idea, especially at such a reasonable price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2006
This album is one of my all-time favourites. The production still soudns brilliant more than 25 yers after its original release and the music is at once quirky and tuneful. Byrne's voice is quite unique and complements the music perfectly. From start to finish this is a proverbial tour de force of psychadelia mixed with influences of world music and tuneful guitar. The highlight for me is proabably Cities but every song is a gem.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2003
Astonishingly fresh almost 25 years after it was first released, this is Talking Heads masterpiece. The lyrics are as weird as they are inspired, the music is loose and muscular in its post-punk rocky confidence.
While most people buying this are probably going through the process of replacing vinyl, this album is far too good just for that audience. This is dynamite, exciting music, that makes you want to dance as much as it makes you think. Talking Heads lyrics were always far beyond the standard romance, regret or rage topics of pop, and this album includes songs about urban guerrillas, the boredom of eternal life in paradise and the sneakiness of animals.
Perhaps surprisingly, the greatest song on the album is "I Zimbra", which has meaningless "mouth-music" lyrics in an invented nonsense language. This may be one of the most influential songs after punk. As well as being a great dance track, it must be one of the first examples of world rhythms injecting rock with their hybrid vigour, a precursor to Byrne and Eno's ground-breaking album "My Life in the Bush of Ghosts" two years later.
So, if you owned this before, get it again. If you've never heard it, buy it anyway. At under a tenner, you can hardly go wrong, and you'll love it. No doubt about it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
With little doubt this is most probably the very best Talking Heads record (although I'll always have a soft spot for Stop Making Sense). I love every aspect of this release, from the minimal cover art, the short (predominantly single word) song titles, David's manic vocals, right through to the very immediate guitar sound. Excellent stuff.

On a record like this that is so consistently good, it's hard to zero in on stand out tracks - I love the nonsense of I Zimbra (it is strangely up lifting), the lyrical genius of Animals and the psychosis of Drugs. For me The track Mind, stands out both in terms of lyrics and the swirling lead guitar. Although not the best iteration, Life During Wartime remains one of the very best expressions of the North American mindset. A solid album, that I heartily recommend to all curmudgeons with a New Wave leaning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
I'm guessing if your gonna buy a T.H album your gonna buy Remain in Light, purely for Once in a Lifetime, am I correct?
Well hold on for a second, your gonna buy this first, because this is THE Talking Heads album.
How this album gets over looked is beyond all TH fans, it should be in everyones top 10 of ALL time.
Bad points first, don't expect too much from the video clips, there not the reason your gonna buy this, the quality isn't fantastic, but they're on, and thats more than some artists attempts at giving you bonus material.
Down to the good points, the surroundmix, quite simply awesome.
To me the dvd-a brings it to a new level, almost sounds like a different beast to the original(inferior) CD.
The surround mixes on all the tracks are breath taking, and they ultimately lead to the finale track-drugs, which is the best surround mix I've heard on ANY DVD-A, truly amazing.
This DVD has given me more goosebumps than any other album, and how many critically brillaint albums can you say give you goosebumps, track after track?
It's also got tonnes of photo's, loads of nice touches,and oh yea, a bonus cd, but I wont be listening to that, it simply cannot compete with this DVD-A
GO and buy, because memories can't wait!
Good work Jerry!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
This is number nine on my all time best albums list . when i first heard it right the way through it kind of knocked me side ways i did not know what to make of it but in a space of a week i just ended up loving everything about it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2002
This is an excellent album from an excellent band. There are a variety of styles on here that all work. From the almost anthemic Heaven, the guitar heavy Memories can't wait and the brilliant Life During Wartime. The music is a mix of guitars and electronics that compliment David Byrne's vocal style perfectly. It sounds as good now as when it was released and is a definite must have for any Talking Heads fan
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I love this CD so much that I would like to give it 6 stars if I could. I purchased this on vinyl many years ago. The music was awesome then and it is still awesome now. I also purchased the digital version 2 or 3 months ago so that I could carry it with me everywhere! IMHO, this is the very best album ever put out by Talking Heads.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
If you're a true Talking Heads fan, you can't do without this title.
Unfortunately, I lent this to a friend, and well, was one of those which never came back... :) Gonna have to buy it again some day :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)