Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20
Street talk
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 July 2010
I wondered what Steve Perry without Journey would be like. I've only been a fan for a few months and didn't know much about him but I have to say that this is a fabulous album, not that I would expect any less than fabulous from Steve Perry now, having listened to his music a lot over these months. All the tracks are equally as good as each other but my favourites - in addition to "Oh Sherrie" - are "I believe", "Running Alone", "Captured By The Moment", "Strung Out" and "Don't Tell Me Why You're Leaving". He really does have a magnificent voice and for those who are already Steve Perry fans but don't yet have this and who may be thinking about it, I would highly recommend it. For everyone else who haven't yet tried Steve Perry's music, you really don't know what you're missing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
Great Album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2010
As I write this review in Nov 2010, Classic Rock magazine are reporting that Steve Perry has re-discovered his mojo and has written 50 new songs that he is now planning to develop and whittle down to a new solo album for 2011. Why should you be excited by that news? Listen to this album and his other offering For The Love Of Strange Medicine and you will understand. Without any fear of contradiction I can safely say that Steve Perry is the finest and most powerful male rock vocalist ever ... bar none. Lou Gramm, Jon Bon Jovi, Bruce Springsteen, Ian Gillan, Dio and Ozzy all have their sound and place in rock history ... but Steve Perry is in a completely different stratosphere.

This is a fantastic album where Steve undoubtedly taps into his influences from Journey but he does throw in the odd track that is somewhat of a surprise. For instance the second track 'I Believe' wouldn't sound out of place on a Tamala Motown album and is it just me or does Running Alone sound like a no brainer for a superb Christmas song?

If you are a fan of Journey or just AOR in general you will love this album. Buy both Perry albums and do the prep before the alleged new album comes out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2001
Steve Perry has an awesome voice and is a great performer, with or without Journey. His little Perryisms set him apart from other vocalists. Street Talk was a great album and I still enjoy listening to it often. Steve Perry has been my hero since the early Journey days.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2001
Steve Perry has an awesome voice and is a great performer, with or without Journey. His little Perryisms set him apart from other vocalists. Street Talk was a great album and I still enjoy listening to it often. Steve Perry has been my hero since the early Journey days.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2006
i first bought this album back in the late eighties,and next to escape, is the best thing steve ever did,but now with the extra tracks it must be in the top three albums(solo) of all time.sit down switch on and play,a voice and music which will make you believe you are in heaven.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2013
I believe this is Steve Perrys first solo release since leaving Journey. He certainly has an amazing voice and (back in the day) was very easy on the eye, unfortunately that doesn't really save this album which I found to be a little self indulgent and sadly lacklustre. For my money 'Oh Sherrie' is the only noteworthy song here perhaps because he's singing about the love of his life Sherrie Swafford. Bear in mind this is only my opinion but I would say try to listen to the music before you buy the album and don't expect the full on Journey experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2000
Thoughtful listening that gives a feeling of wholesome buzz about life and love, but you would only know that, if you listen to this wonderful album.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2007
This is Steve Perry at his best, his singing is always so full of soul. This is a classic with similar elements to other Journey albums, but capturing a slightly more mellow and soulful side to his singing. So definitely worth checking out, especially if you are a fan of Journey.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2006
If you love Journey then this is deffinately for you. Perry delivers with passion and rock. Great album. Old but still great.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Street Talk
£30.77

Need customer service? Click here