Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
4.3 out of 5 stars
James Bond - From Russia With Love
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.95+ £1.26 shipping


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 October 2017
Although he did work on the music for Dr. No, From Russia With Love was John Barry's first 007 soundtrack as composer. And he really hit the ground running. The varied styles of music suit the changing moods of the film: exciting, mysterious, menacing and romantic. For example, "The Golden Horn" brilliantly brings to life the exotic feel of Instanbul. The sound quality throughout this remastered and extended version is superb.

Without a doubt, this album belongs in the collection of every Bond music fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
It's good for me thanks u for it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Item delivered is not as advertised: it is not the remastered version as shown in the product images.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Love these old soundtracks. Great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
And it doesn't disappoint. I have two other John Barry Bond soundtracks - Goldfinger (apparently Barry's own favourite) and On Her Majesty's Secret Service. The former is very good, but the latter is terribly repetitive - each track is a variation of either the OHMSS main theme or the We Have All The Time In The World song. It's still a good album, but out of the three I have I prefer Goldfinger and From Russia With Love. The listings on the back have some mistakes: track 17 Death Of Kerin (should be Kerim) and track 13 Man Overboard - Smersh In Action (should be Spectre In Action).

As another Amazon customer pointed out track 1 doesn't feature the Hammond organ in the mix which it did in the actual movie. It's still a beautiful track.

All in all, highly recommended if you're a Bond and Barry fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 August 2010
One of the vital aspects of the James Bond series success was the music. The big, bold Bond action theme, the 007 intro at the start, the memorable title songs - they were great pieces of music, which are instantly recognisable. And synonymous with these great tunes, which are still being used in the series today, over 40 years later, is the name of John Barry, the composer, who created a huge legacy of film music.

One thing that distinguishes Barry's work, to my mind, is that the film scores can be listened to in isolation from the film. And so it is here. This is an album of orchestral music that is in turns stirring, romantic, martial and flighty. There are regular themes and motifs appearing throughout, associated with particular characters, but not knowing anything of the film does not diminish the litening pleasure. Compare this with, for example, the Italian Job soundtrack which requires a good knowledge of the film, and you will see what I mean. It is almost a symphony for Bond.

Added into the mix is a superb vocal track, delivered by the incomparable Matt Monroe. Along with Bassey's Goldfinger I consider this to be one of the finest Bond theme songs.

This is an excellent release from EMI. The sound comes through as clear as crystal and as sharp as a pin. There is a short booklet with a few notes, but this is largely disposable. As another reviewer has noted, not all of the tracks are lifted directly from the film, some are contemporary alternative recordings. But this does not really detract from the set, it is instantly recognisable as the from Russia With Love soundtrack for anyone familiar with the film. My one small niggle is that there is no dialogue from the film. Barry's music stands up very well by itself, but I would have liked the odd classic line thrown in That's not enough to stop me giving this excellent release of some excellent music 5 stars though.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2008
This is a wonderful soundtrack from the second 007 adventure, but does anyone know what happened to the Hammond Organ that was so prominent on the opening theme of this film ? The Hammond was so big in the sixties and if you all put your Dvd in of this film you will see what I mean ! The Hammond made this theme something special, please get back if you have the answer. Sorry only 3 Stars til the Hammond is back in its rightful place.
1212 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
Reviewed Vinyl LP edition reissue 2014 on Doxy Cinematic label. The score is fine as you already know if you are reading this. My issue is with a rather cobbled together vinyl reissue, seemingly without much pride from the company. It says the disc is 140g virgin vinyl......feels like a wobble board nonetheless. The sleeve has scant info on the score, writers, orchestra etc. There appears to be another edition due for release end of 2015, so I wish I'd waited a bit. I bought this at same time as a Capitol vinyl Reiss of Goldfinger, which is faithful to the original & emphasises quality variations which are not always easy to vague with online shopping.
Incidentally, the company's web address printed on the sleeve is for a website which does not exist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
John Barry's impeccable crafting of his theme, to fit the scenes, and Matt Munroe's title track, make this a must have for any Bond-o-phile
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2000
After the excellent work John Barry did for the Dr. No soundtrack, it was no surprise that he returned for another stab. The work he did on the Michael Caine promoter, "Zulu", in the same year as Dr. No, merely backs up the decision the producers took.
Besides the main title, the other tune of note is "007". This would be reprised in form or another in every John Barry score and others too. Although it stands as an alternative to the original "James Bond Theme", I dare say that confronted with "007" people would identify it just as easily as the other courtesy of its repetition over the years.
Atmospheric tunes of note include "Meeting In St Sophia" (sic) and "Gypsy Camp" which, respectively, provide haunting and vibrant melody to more interesting areas of the plot.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Dr No
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)