Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2005
The best place to start for anyone thinking of buying an Orb record as it's got most of their best tunes edited down to a nice length and offers one classic after another. Even if you already own the albums it's still worth getting this 'best of'. My one complaint is that there's no tracks from Orbus Terrarum (aside from having Oxbow Lakes as a secret track) which is a shame as it would be nice to hear a radio edit of Slug Dub. Still an essential purchase.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
What can I say, not that this is the Orb's best album because its not technically an album...however it has all of the Orb's best tracks on. The one thing I regret about buying this album was that it didn't come with the bonus CD. Every track on this album deserves credit so here goes. The album starts with the Minnie Riperton sampling "A Huge Evergrowing Brain...", which puts you right in the mood, this is followed by the Orb's massive "Little Fluffy Clouds", then "Perpetual Dawn" (Solar Youth Mix) quality techno/reggae with vocals over the top, followed by the edit of "Blue Room" which is marvelous, then the lowpoint of the album "Assassin" tis still good however, then the experimental "Pomme Fritz", followed by the bouncey "Toxygene", going on to the quality drum loops and samples of "Outlands", then onto the dancey "DJ Asylum", then onto the previously unreleased "Mickey Mars" which is my favourite, I'm sure this samples Enigma but don't quote me on it, then "Towers of Dub" with its cheeky intro, then "PI (part 1)" an ambient ending...but wait there's more...a hidden track "Oxbow Lakes" is a few minutes after "PI", sweeeeeet music. Must Buy!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
I've long been a fan of The Orb, I could wax lyrical about favourite tracks here or muse on the absence of others, but just want to share a few thoughts about the way this release has been assembled.

Classic singles and selected album tracks from The Orb's days in the sun are represented here, though not necessarily quite how I expected to find them. My expectations for a "Best Of"-type compilation would be a run-through of key tracks, in their definitive form. Defining definitive here I'm thinking the album versions or a-side single versions, unadulterated. It is true that The Orb have many marvellous alternate mixes of their songs (and seeking them out is a pleasure in itself, perhaps one that deserves its own word in the lexicon), but a "Best Of" somehow seems an inappropriate place for the Orb to go merrily off on multifarious tangents (even though they excel at that kind of thing) and yet that is what they have done.

They have done this in two ways, firstly in several instances presenting us with remixes (the hidden remix of Oxbow Lakes, by the way, is gorgeous), most of which do not veer too far from the familiar versions, but nevertheless the result is like looking at the same object from a slightly different vantage point, when maybe on this one occasion the angle of familiarity is the portal we are looking for. The second level of interference is the more unfortunate, all the tracks being mixed into each other to create one unbroken musical experience. This approach works if the listener is simply pressing play and sitting back, but if for instance they want to hear the 7-inch mix of Blue Room by itself as an isolated track they're out of luck as it opens with the chorus of Perpetual Dawn slowly retreating and ends abruptly as things morph into Assassin.

I was fortunate to get a copy with the bonus disc, it includes some fine mixes - OOBE seemingly transported to a parallel dimension with a cosmic snooker tournament in swing - and a few mediocre ones - Montagne D'Or, which in its original form is amongst my favourite Orb tracks, here has all its charm stripped away and its shattering climax magnified and divorced from context. I can't say how many of these mixes have been edited down in length, but the two I was previously familiar with certainly have, with the 14 minute 20 second-long "Chocolate Hills Of Bohol Mix" of Assassin (easily the best version on the original single) served in a misers tease of a portion at 1 minute 15 seconds, which seems a bit pointless.

Overall I hesitate to say this would make a good starting point for the uninitiated, it's more like being helicoptered in to key locations when on overland journey through the length of an album, starting with their first, would be much more rewarding. I'm not entirely sure if U.F.Off is actually aimed at newcomers or not, it would certainly whet the appetite, but it'll never be "the only Orb album you'll ever need to own". A series of stills of The Orb's classic moments this is not, if you look closely the stills are actually moving...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2013
Perhaps not exactly a "Best of" because most of the tracks here are edited down. All the same it's a decent introduction to The Orb and if it leads you to investigate their early work at greater length, that can only be a good thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
Fantastic compilation of great music. This fills a gap in my collection a mile wide from my student years in the early 90s. I wasn't really into the club scene but enjoyed dancing to "Blue Room" and "Little Fluffy Clouds". None of the other tracks live up to these two in my opinion but are eminently listenable to for those who prefer their armchair to the dance floor these days. Only one complaint: in the ambient spirit of The Orb the tracks are run together which is a bit annoying when listening to a single track as you get 30 seconds of the previous track first. Great cover art: juvenile but highly amusing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Been into The Orb since they started and altough ive already got most of theyre stuff this cd gives a taste of all of the diverse stuff on one album plus it was cheap :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
All the best of the Orb. Was reminded how good they are by their performance at Glastonbury and had to get a replacement for my old format recordings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
I give this album 5 out of 5 because I enjoyed it from beginning to end. I would love to collect more of the Orb, but Amazon do not do them except on mp3 download, which is no use to me. Come on Amazon, there is a lot of good music out there and some us want it on CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This CD arrived in good time and in good condition. This CD takes me back to the very late 90s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Awesome collection of Orb classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)