Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
12
4.2 out of 5 stars
Quartet
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 July 2009
If you're reading this review for actual buying advice, then you know nothing about the 80's, or one of the most underrated bands of the era, otherwise you'd have clicked 'buy' already. Go on, what are you waiting for?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2003
This album is overall a very worthy sounding piece of neo-classical synth. However it is missing something somewhere between track 9 (an original from 1982) and track 13 (an extra track). Dont perceive me wrongly, as those extra tracks are extremely macabre and mannequin like, which is why I like Ultravox. Especially 'Break your back', a beat-box ballad reminding me of 'Hiroshima mon amour'. 'Serenade' is a wonderful sounding song, which really made me think of classical music in its use of ostinati and moving, progressive bass line etc. This album is a very artistic 'art-house' offering, not as atmospheric as the monumentally dark 'Rage in Eden', but it sounds more accessible than Lament and especially 'The Island Years'. I couldnt give it 5 stars because it doesnt grip me enough to listen to it all the way through and not having to look at the seconds left of the a song! 'Rage In Eden' on the other hand just takes me along in the journey, with some tracks sounding as if they've come from 'The Shining' or 'The Hunger'.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2017
This is yet another classic ure era ultravox albumn full of quality songs as a big fan of john foxx and his ultravox I also like the later ultravox they are very underated vision in blue tune does sound a bit like tubeway down in the park well recommebded
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2008
I remember this album being released and being rated only 1* material by Robin Smith in the Record Mirror - it is sadly lacking in objectivity to allow a heavy metal enthusiast to review an album overflowing with electrosynth melody and classical overtones. From the moment that you first flip this disc, you are onto a winner. Reap The Wild Wind was the show opener on the 'Monument' tour and is a fitting start to this album. Despite being only an album track, 'Serenade' is certainly my favourite song on this LP - accomplished and catchy - play it to your kids and they will demand piano lessons. The guitar riffs in Mine For Life transport you back to the pre-Ure era and Hymn is a song to sing along to. Visions in Blue is technically the best work that Ultravox ever produced and includes (in classical music terms) an interrupted cadence - it has stood the test of time every bit as well as Vienna and is worthy of equal recognition. 'Cut and Run' is another incredibly infectious and catchy tune, while 'The Song (We Go)' includes the memorable drumming sequence that the boys performed on stage at the end of 'The Voice'. This is truly an unforgettable album and if you are new to Ultravox, it is a great start because it is much more of a complete entity than anything that came before and after. All the LPs up to and including 'Lament' have moments of brilliance but there is nothing to match this for a suite of great music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Fabulous album - takes me right back to my teenage years as a big Ultravox fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2008
This album has its moments, "Reap The Wild Wind" especially, but on a lot of this they sound a bit bland compared to "Vienna" and "Rage In Eden". Why couldn't they spend as much time and effort on the rest of this album as they did with the singles on it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
Unfortunately,a mistake was made and the vinyl was sent as opposed to the CD. The record was scratched and, therefore, of no use. However, as the money goes to charity a copy of the CD has been ordered through another provider.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
I can honestly say I forgot how good this album was. The digital remastering as well as the additional tracks make this album download really good value. This album is classic Ultravox; at their best and so of the era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2000
....for Ultravox to recapture the mood of their first two Ure-led albums, providing three chart singles, and an US fanbase with the Reap the Wild Wind track. But George Martin's enthusiasm in the production suite bleached their typical haunting synth-orchestral arrangements, none of which was necessary given the success of Vienna. The vienna-esque structure of the albums best moment, Visions in Blue, is the last real gasp of Ultravox being imaginative and visionary before relaxing on their laurels, and consigning themselves to bland releases happily ever-after.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
This is an excellent album,on par to vienna. If you like 80`s style new romantic electronic music this is a must have album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse