Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
15
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£25.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2002
This is a joyous album with the extended McGarrigle clan making musice and having a great time. This may sound as if The McGarrigle Hour is a little self-indulgent but it truly isn't.
Kate and Anna are timeless and on this album they are joined by their chidren, their spouses (current and ex) and friends, well-known and otherwise. The choice of songs is eclectic but very satisfying. There is something for everyone and something to suit every mood. If you get the opportunity you should see the McGarrigles live but this is certainly the next best thing.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2002
I was unaware of the McGarrigle sisters before seeing them on Transatlantic Sessions on the Ovation Channel. I was also unaware of the connection between Annie McGarrigle and Loudon and Rufus Wainwright (ex-wife, mother) until I purchased this CD. This family affair CD represents the best in traditional music, incorporating such standards as "What'll I do?" with even earlier songs such as "Alice Blue Gown" and the extremely poignant "Gentle Annie." These songs really do take the listener back to an idealized past, in much the same way the early Randy Newman did in songs such as "Dayton, Ohio." The era the songs come from may not really have been that simple or innocent, but it's easy to be lulled by the McGarrigles into believing so.
The males in the family don't come across quite as splendidly, and contribute to a bit of uneveness on the compilation. This is particularly true of Rufus, a very good performer in his own right, but not featured to great effect here. The chemistry song and "Heartburn" come across as contrived attempts at cleverness, especially when contrasted with the abundance of great understated material on the rest of the CD. Loudon does contribute to one of the true highlights of the sessions in his duet with Annie on "Young Love." It's the best rendition of the song I've heard.
In all, this is a heartfelt outpouring of song from an immensely gifted family of musicians. If one didn't believe in the power of genes before hearing this CD, one listen is enough to convince.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2010
Well the truth is that this is a somewhat self/family indulgent affair, something which the McGarrigle/Wainwright clan, and the Richard/Linda Thompson Dynasty are getting a little too proficient at.That being said this is still an excellent album which starts off with a superb version of the sublime Loudon Wainwright's "Schooldays".From then on it's a hit and miss affair with some brilliant songs and some over the top ones. I share another reviewer's position of being not overly enamoured of Rufus Wainwright's singing style whilst believing that his father can do no wrong!!!So, something of a mixed bag but you've still got to have it!!!...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
The cd is just average for such iconic country folk as Kate and Anna. They were having a great time doing this with family and Emmylou, maybe I just expected too much.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very nice to have another McCarrigle Music available. Was not as special as the 2 discs For my sister though however surely also fine to have and listen to. Those special voices of the sisters with some contribution of their relations is also very worthwhile the more as there is not much McCarrigle music on the market. Was also very nice to have them on the Atlantic Sessions nr 1 which is a great experience . Have seen and listened the DVD with 56 songs already many times. Thank you for the music McCarrigle girls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
This is a special CD because it lists the music the Mcgarrigle sisters liked and grew up with, the music of their close friends and collaborators and that of their children. There is also a delightful hitherto inedited song of Kate about sea salt.
If you like to get to know the musical world surrounding the McGarrigle sisters, then this is your thing. Do not hesitate and buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
Excellent songs and individual/group performances mainly by the family members but plus a nice song by the Kate & Anna and a young Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
I love the MaGarrigle sisters but this one for me, is only average. There are many more better songs that I will continue to listen to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
I wish there was a replacement for these sweet and delicately delicious voices in such exquisite harmony. JK Souther (Mrs.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
I enjoyed the McGarrigle sisters, Loudun and Martha Wainwright's tracks, but I really didn't like Rufus's singing: sorry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£22.50
£15.82
£17.42

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)