Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
135
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2017
Stunning album, probably in my top ten of all time but the remastered version will not play on my CD player. I ordered one and sent it back as thought it faulty.Second one will not play either. I have a large eclectic CD collection and buy new CD's all the time. Every single one plays on my CD player except this one. I own a good quality separates Hi Hi system so its not at fault. No idea why it won't play but if you own a NAD cd player beware. This review is for the remastered version of the album. The original version plays fine and is awesome.5 stars for that one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
What a album,absolute masterpiece from start to finish..I just had to buy it on vinyl!!
Recommend all day long
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The drum rolls, then falls away for a building electric guitar, a drum, and a searingly vibrant wall of sound that rises before your very ears. This is the start of "Siamese Dream," a vintage Smashing Pumpkins album and one of the best, most underrated alternative rock albums ever released.
Opening with a bang is the dizzying "Cherub Rock," a song that serves as a perfect springboard into the heart of this album. It can shift in an instant between pulse-pounding (the deceptively-named "Quiet") and more progressive ("Hummer"). Corgan's range stretches even to the quiet ("Sweet Sweet"), the dramatic ("Disarm" with its bells and violins) or the catchy (the plaintive "Spaceboy").

Perhaps the most outstanding thing about the Pumpkins is their seamless blend of metal, neo-psychedelica and art-rock. The blasting electric riffs, sprawling melodies, and the whirling, sinuous guitars are all interwoven without so much as a sonic burp. At first glance, it seems like a fairly typical rock/metal album, but upon further listening, the alluringly complicated music begins to filter itself fully into your brain. Corgan's lyrics aren't for the perky among you -- angsty and introspective, while avoiding the trap of self-pity.

It's difficult to find a musical flaw with the Pumpkins in "Siamese Dream." Corgan's high voice flitters between murmuring and wailing. Backing him up are James Iha's layered, whirling guitar riffs and Jimmy Chamberlain's controlled, fast drumming. Acoustic guitar also gets to shine at the start of "Disarm." What sounds like church bells is even used.

Fiercely adventurious, brooding and expressive, "Siamese Dream" is a breathtaking ride into a majestic rock world all its own. Inventive and enticing, this is a modern classic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
i have owned this album since december 1993, when as a teenager in my penultimate year of high school, the whole 'grunge' thing was underway - i bought the cassette from grey & pinks record store on a trip to town after school - i remember the first time i had to listen to the whole album from start to finish, bizarrely, was on the way to participate in an indoor tennis tournament (ughh), was being driven there by my father, it was raining all the way and dark - the album was so new, fresh and awe inspiring - the track which gave me goosebumps at that time and still does to this day (listening to it right now on cd) is the majestical track called 'Disarm' - truly beautiful - as others have said, the album has no weak links and is a tour de force throughout - very high caliber material indeed

strangely i dont think this album has aged quite as much as some of the other big names from that time, the pumpkins style, certainly on this album transcends eras which are normally easily defineable

a great range of styles from more melodic through to heavy agressive riffs should find its feet with most audiences

thank god i was the right age to stumble upon this gem and still have it to refer to this day
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
I bought this album whilst on holiday in Florida in '95, I listened through all my youth it's a truly standout out rock album, that gets you going as well as any. Dreamt about it, hadn't heard it in years so downloaded the remastered edition and it's re-born to me I can remember every riff, lyric and drum beat. Struggle to think of a better album ever, seriously blown away again! But it, 90's rock at it's very very best, music at its beautiful heart!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
For the uninitiated, this is arguably the band's best album to date as well as one of the best albums in musical history. Not fact of course but it is arguable. There are no low points. Granted it does take a while to absorb and on first listen (hard to remember my first time as it was so long ago now) it doesn't particularly make much of an impression. Especially if you take, for example, the opener 'Cherub Rock'. It's a very lumpen, downtuned mediocre track on the first couple of listens. However, keep with it and it opens up to become one of the most inexplicably excellent songs you're ever likely to hear. 'Quiet' is more immediate and definite grunge single material. That said, it is a classic. And then the opening to 'Today' kicks in and you realise that what has come before, genius though it is, cannot compare. You suddenly cannot realise what is happening. Surely songs can't be THIS good?! 'Hummer' is a sleeper hit. After the 3rd or 4th spin it becomes classic material. One of my all-time favourite SP tracks. 'Rocket' is more of a companion track but it's still awesome. And the sublime 'Disarm' does just that.

'Soma' is like an epic battle from beginning to end. 'Geek USA' is a refreshing thrash. 'Mayonnaise' is purest genius (there's a lot of it about here), 'Spaceboy' is an exceptional ballad, 'Silverf@#k' is another nice thrash, 'Sweet sweet' is just that and 'Luna' takes us off tothe realms of uncertainty concerning whether we're going to hear anything quite as good ever again.

It's pretty good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
I still remember the first time I listened to this album on its original release - the drum roll and urgent guitars of "Cherub Rock" followed by the cacophony of "Quiet" and all of the brilliance that follows.
I had no hesitation in buying this re-issue and neither should anyone else. The remastering on the original album is stunning and is best heard on the more delicate tracks on the album such as "Spaceboy" or "Luna". Corgans voice is crystal clear and the sound quality is second to none.
The real bonus here is Disc 2 which contains some excellent early versions of tracks that later appeared on "Pisces Escariot" along with some early versions and alternate version of Siamese Dream tracks. I particularly like the cover version of Depeche Modes "Never Let Me Down" and the acoustic versions of "Spaceboy" and "Disarm".
The packaging is excellent, the DVD well worth a watch and the music sublime. Pumpkins fans have long debated whether Siamese Dream or Mellon Collie was the highpoint - whilst I think Mellon Collie is a great album it does have some tracks that I still skip through whereas Siamese Dream contains 13 masterpieces and thus for me has always been the highpoint of one of my favourite bands. All this and they are back with new material (albeit as Billy Corgan and his backing band!) - give the new album a go too as in my view its very good!
Buy this - it's well worth the money and you won't regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
i bought this LP not long after it came out when i was at art college and would buy most things that were either rated in the nme or by students i respected or aspired to..
i didnt know anything about the pumpkins; who they were, where they were from, their age, gender, influences, their persona and image within the industry..
the more i listened the more i became engaged and fascinated by the awesome, gigantic and original sound; the tunes, the voice, the noise, the feel of this sound that seemed to know exactly what it was, but that i couldn't quite pigeon-hole..
so fascinated and enthralled i was, i feared losing that feeling of intrigue the band brought me. i didn't read the song titles, nor research the lyrics, the meaning, nor the bands' identity and history. i didn't want to know..
in so high an esteem i held the music on this album for a long time, i didn't want to find out anything about the band that might spoil it! it was just a CD i'd discovered, by someone called the Smashing Pumpkins (whoever they were), that i could keep for myself and listen to at will.
over the years i must have played it to death. it was a real bonus ( and i can't put my finger on why) that they didn't chart and that people hadn't heard of them. perhaps it appeals to my child-like side,- thinking i know a secret.. i don't know (Tom Waits and Nick Cave, to name a couple, are still in that select club!.)
unfortunately, i couldn't remain in that state; i loved it so much that i bought the follow-ups.. i couldn't resist watching the eventual TOTP appearances..i stumbled across the odd article,. i saw the interviews..
what a shame. NOT because the Pumpkins aren't plausible or credible, because they absolutely are. they are (I think) the real deal. no, but because for me, they now have an identity and without wanting to i begin to place them, rate them, grade them, pigeon-hole them and KNOW them.
the intrigue has gone. it happened for me with new order.. with PCL i bought an LP without even knowing what it was or who it was by!,- but just because i'd vaguely heard or read something and the cover looked intriguing! its where i wanted to be taken. that innocence was wonderful!
i'm digressing i know.
this is a great album. an album that despite me having heard dozens and dozens of times, i'll come back to again and again. the intrigue has for me , unfortunately, gone. and I know what the Pumpkins were about. but it is definitely to their credit that now they are to me, a 'normal' band, as opposed to a distant mysterious, mythical and intangible entity, i still love this album.
i have all the other pumpkins material. Melon Collie is excellent but not as fresh.- it is trying to live upto something. on gish i felt like it was a band still evolving toward its peak. and with zero, machines of god and the like it feels a bit after the event.. like prolonging something or trying to replicate something. but failing..
instead of 95% of todays'fodder that you'll acquire simply because its of now and your mate's into it, forget fashion and BUY this album, and introduce yourself to the Pumpkins. this is arguably them at their finest and among THE finest. Absolutely underrated (even thought they're rated). They'll come round again, and perhaps sooner than you think..
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
While it has been compared - and placed on a similar level - to the works of "Nevermind", "Superunknown", and perhaps even "Ten", I feel that this record is too much of a sonic mess. While there are strong songs, like "Cherub Rock" and "Today", there is also a few uninteresting fillers, like "Quiet" and "Mayonaise" that drag on for too long, and are filled with rather clumsy solos (of course Corgan's own). "Bland" is the word for it, if this is possible in hard rock, but it is fitting, since a lot of it is a messy rubble. But things were about to get better ...
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.96
£5.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)