Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
20
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 March 2002
A Single Man is probably the most underrated of Elton's albums. Maybe it got lost under the roar of punk rock in the late seventies; maybe the 2 year break after Blue Moves and such an apparently low-key return was a mistake but there are some absolute gems here. Part Time Love was a great slice of pop, It Ain't Gonna Be Easy is dark and brooding and Georgia and Shooting Star are great tunes as well - all that and Song for Guy as well. Even the bonus track Ego (a minor hit over here when it was a single only release) is creative golddust.
At the end of the day, this is a great album of 70s soul influenced pop, and while it might not be quite as good as Elton's very best albums (Tumbleweed Connection, Madman, Don't Shoot Me, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Blue Moves) it sits right behind them and a long long way ahead of what he is doing today.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2000
This is my all time favourite of Elton's albums. My vinyl copy is scratched to bits from so much playing. It cheers me to hear this collection, from Shine on Through to Madness. Part-time love is a joyful song and the football chorus on Georgia makes me tingle. Song for Guy is excellent. If you are an Elton fan, you'll love this one.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Although not regarded as one of Sir Elton's classic albums, this still includes enough quality to make it a worthwhile purchase. The most familiar tracks are the hit singles "Part Time Love" (not Elton's finest moment) and "Song for Guy", a touching musical lament which, even at just short of seven minutes, does not outstay its welcome. Pick of the bunch are "Shine on Through" and "Georgia", and the addition of numerous bonus tracks adds to the album's attraction. "A Single Man" is a decent enough offering, but without doubt it falls short of Elton John's usual high standards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I used to have this on LP but lost it. Was overjoyed to listen to it again. One of Elton's finest with a real mix of songs, not in the classic Elton John style, but instantly recognisable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
I first bought this album in 1978 and really liked it. Despite the absence of Bernie Taupin with the lyrics, this is still very listenable and will always remain dear if only for the one track "Song for Guy" which obviously comes from the heart.
I had copied this to an audio cassette and passed on the original vinyl, but then moved house and lost most of my cassettes in the process, so for all these years I have been without - until now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 December 2011
The first album without his famous lyricist Bernie Taupin... well, Elton got a a lot of grief because of Bernie's absence, we all love him; but I wouldn't dismiss this album just because he isn't there. In fact, this record has brilliance marked all over. Elton has more soul influences in the choruses, experimenting a lot more here, with his great piano playing and melodies untouched. If you are an Elton fan, by all means grab this album instantly, it has so many great songs that you won't believe is such an unknown record. I guarantee you some great hidden gems like 'Song for Guy' or the soulful country influenced 'Georgia'.

Let the music play!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
This album contains an interesting mixture of songs of different styles - some fast, some slow; some loud, some quiet; some sensitive, some in-your-face . . . and even what is virtually an instrumental ( "Song for Guy" ); unfortunately, the result is that one or two songs are not quite so pleasant to listen to ( e.g. "Big Dipper" and the really quite awful "Madness", where - unusual for Elton John - there is rather more shouting or ranting than singing to be heard ). "Song for Guy" is, however, such a beautiful classic ( and a strong candidate for being Elton's best ever song ) that it alone would make the album worth buying, even if all the other songs were merely mediocre. That, however, is far from being the case - "Part Time Love", "Shine on Through" and "Georgia" being some other very notable stand-out tracks. Although this reissue contains 5 further bonus tracks that were not on the original album and that are actually rather mediocre, this fact cannot take anything away from the top quality of most of the rest . . . and the record can, after all, be switched off after the final lovely strains of the last "official" track, "Song for Guy", fade and die in the air.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
What is there to say about this record. In my personal opinion this is one of the best EJ records
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
Not one of his best, but it has its good points. Namely "A Song For Guy."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
This mid 70's album s often overlooked amidst the great Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy. Worth the price alone for "Ego"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)