Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Taming The Tiger
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 February 2003
I just love this album - everything about it is wonderful.
Joni's singing is superb - the set is laden with gentle, subtle, tuneful songs, but listen to the lyrics and the messages are there for us to hear, but not rammed doww your throat.
In an album which does not have even an average song - no weak links here - my favourite is "No Apologies". The message of anger at what is happening in the world comes across, but with quiet authority, pedal steel guitar and Joni's unmistakable guitar picking. This is typical - throughout, the musicianship is top-notch, very much understated and enhances her singing.
If you loved "Turbulent Indigo", and thought it would be hard to beat, I urge you to listen to "Taming The Tiger" and you will find that it has exceeded it's predecessor. What is more, the booklet of lyrics and paintings is, as you might expect of Joni, wondrous.
Joni is an icon who, it appears from reports, may stop recording (is she disenchanted?). I suggest that other artists would still learn a great deal from Joni and I hope she continues to grace our CD players with new material for many more years to come.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Man from Mars and Lead Baloon are stand out songs for different reasons. The former for being beautiful in a Hejeira style way and the latter being Joni in no way I can remember - heavy rock influence but a modern jazz/rock ensemble that has to be listened to to appreciate. As a whole, if you like Joni, you'll like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Well up to her usual superb standard and love it. She's the greatest! And, of course, she's a cat lover!
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00000AG8X/ref=cm_cr_ryp_prd_ttl_sol_25
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
joni a little past her peak,still better than most
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Very Nice again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2016
Must admit it's only Joni's recent illness and her (justified) rantings about Dylan's Nobel Prize award that have brought me to explore more of her work. Previously I've only had Blue - since its release - but for some reason never gone deeper even tho that album is easily in my top 10 albums by anyone. Maybe because I thought she couldn't match it. Well here I am, working my way thru the fabulous canon of work and I was wrong in my assumption. Joni's a giant. This album is superb. Love it. If you're a Joni fan you'll know that already. If you're not, maybe start with earlier work and build up to this? But do get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
If your awareness of Joni Mitchell's musical achievements doesn't extend beyond, say 'Big Yellow Taxi' or 'Both Sides Now' then you really need to come to this album via 'Blue' and 'Court and Spark' and possibly even 'Hissing of Summer Lawns' to really appreciate what is going on here. In 'Taming the Tiger' you find all the wonderful combinations of the ingredients - melodies, harmonies instrumentations and lyrics - to be found in the likes of 'Night Ride Home' and 'Turbulent Indigo' but much more subtly presented almost as a series of personal musings on what has gone before. The first time I listened to it I got the feeling that it was a kind of postscript on the final page of a musical autobiography. It certainly wasn't the last album she made, but it does feel that it may well have been intended as such! Another remarkable achievement from someone who to all intents and purposes is the perfect singer/songwriter.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2000
After the double Grammy she received for Turbulent Indigo, Joni Mitchell returns from her artistic sabbatical with even more flair. After Fred Wallecki persuaded her not to give up recording by pushing a VG-8 into her hands, this new guitar has provided her with an even greater musical muse. Starting off with the exuberant 'Harlem In Havana', Joni revisits places she grew up in as a child and writes an untypical sounding song (for her and anyone else!)which kicks the album into a new area and makes sure her audience knows where she is going.
An album full of reminisces, old and new, about family, her new boyfriend, about the music business. Highlights include the deeply heartfelt 'Stay In Touch', 'Love Put's On A New Face' and the evocative 'Man From Mars'. Not shying away from world issues, her 'No Apologies' is hard hitting, while 'Lead Balloon' is pure bite. This album points forward to beyond her upcoming album, 'Both Sides, Now' which is an album of standards recorded with the London Symphony Orchestra.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2001
We've grown older with Joni Mitchell and some of the songs here reflect the passage of the years. The music is as moving, sharp and intelligent as ever, with wonderful saxophone from the great Wayne Shorter and insistent drumming from Brian Blade (I see Joni returns the compliment by singing on Brian's Perceptual Album). Joni has always been a great jazz singer and she sounds specially fine with jazz players (check her Summertime on Herbie Hancock's Gershwin's World). Nice length too. Just becuase a CD can hold 60 minutes of music doesn't always mean it should be filled.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 April 2017
Taming The Tiger was Joni Mitchell's 16th album with the title referring to the unexpected success of predecessor Turbulant Indigo - although you may be forgiven for erroneously believing it to refer to Joni's cats who feature both on the cover and prominently in several of the tracks.

Man From Mars is about a pet cat prone to wandering and disappearing for several days before turning up unexpectedly. The song speaks of Joni's emotions at the temporary  loss, and the raw emotions felt.

Title track Taming The Tiger and it's instrumental reprise Tiger Bones talks of Joni's life having walked away from the recording industry and enjoying quiet domesticity with her pets and husband Larry Klein.

But the album isn't just about a contented life, railing against injustice and environmental damage again raise their head in No Apologies, covering war crimes, capitalism and unbridled progress, all familiar targets for Mitchell.

Larry Klein and Wayne Shorter again provide superb backing on many of the tracks, with the big positives for this album coming when they play on excellent tracks such as The Crazy Cries Of Love and Harlem In Havana which really frame Joni's music to best effect. These are both major late period works, although Mitchell's guitar work throughout is exemplary the arrangements here shine.

Before the reprise of Tiger Bones there's a well-chosen cover to end the album, My Best To You, almost showing Mitchell signing off from the music business although she recorded two orchestral works and made a comeback in 2007 with Shine. Joni's playing throughout is accomplished, and of there was one criticism it would be of Lead Balloon which doesn't quite come up to the high standard of the rest of this fine work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Shine
£5.60
Travelogue
£20.85

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)