Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
Sexless Demons and Scars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 28 October 2001
Imagine a blend of Babes In toyland, L7 and Bikini Kill with added crunch and screaming-little-girl vocals and thats what your getting with Jack Off Jill's debut album, 'Sexless Demons and scars'.
The first track, 'American Made' starts of fairly creepy, before breaking into a bruising chorus. Other highlights include the hidden track, which starts off as a song and turns into a screaming, bloody mess, and 'My Cat' with it's strange lyrics and little girl lisps.
Each song switches between wailing, shouting, screaming, whispering and singing like a six year old in a temper tantrum. Lead singer Jessicka is by far one of the most talented, intelligent and interesting female vocalists out there.
Some of the lyrics are quite disturbing, as well as sick and twisted songs like 'Swollen' and 'Everythings Brown'. Some of the songs make you want to dance! 'Horrible', 'Devil With the Black Dress On' and 'Covet' make you feel good to be alive whilst some of the songs make you wish you were dead.
A strange, two sided album from the best punk band out of Florida!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2007
If you want proof of Brian "Marilyn Manson" Warner's surprisingly cosmopolitan artistic outlook, you won't find it in his own albums, a non-stop barrage of mediocre pseudo-rebellious buttrock. You'll find it rather in his (early) mates; chiefly the underrated (outside of angsty minigoth circles) Trent Reznor, and Jack Off Jill.

The Marilyn Manson namedrop is both necessary and completely wrong - while they are tied to him as the guy from their scene who made it mega-big and gave them a magnanimous leg-up, they are absolutely not a Mansonite goth-lite "industrial" "metal" band at all. They are nothing more or less than the screechiest, kookiest and most malicious riot grrl act to never quite get the tag. The punchy, uptempo tunes; the defiantly lo-fi production (one imagines MM hasn't put out a demo with less than twice the budget of this album); that band name - all conspire to make this an enjoyable and infrequently terrifying romp.

Again, we are not talking catchy top-40 candidates here. Of this set, only 70s hard rock pastiche "Devil With The Black Dress On" comes close to hummability, and lead single and JOJ anthem "My Cat"'s self-conscious quirkiness has a goth-flavoured feminist edge. It's a catchy pop ditty compared to opener "American Made" - or indeed, most of the rest of the disc.

The only weak point is the lyric sheet - we are not talking anything more than the most typical minigoth angst-fest given the vaguely feminist twist which, for a band so indebted to Babes in Toyland and L7, could scarcely be avoided. Promising song titles like "Working With Meat" turn out to be nothing more than sulky introspective rants.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2002
This is their first album and if you see my clear hearts review you will see i liked that one more. It only just wins mind you they are both superior quality. One thing that is really cool is the fact that at the same time a track can have a gross sound or a real strange sound it can also make you laugh with the interesting lyrics choosen. Jessicka does the best job ever and gives some tracks a eerie sound with her sometimes young girl singing. Another cool thing is when you get to track 13 don't switch off insted go all the way to track 99 and listen to a hidden track wait for it to count down then it will play, the track is called angel f**k i think thats right, it is very cool and has a mental chourus. If you liked the speed or sound of this and the vocals then i seriously recommend you look at Kidneythieves as they are cool to. Stand out tracks for me would be the hidden one Horrible, My cat, Super sadist and poor impulse control. I say i like those ones the best but i truthfully like all the tracks. This is a superb album and if you liked this one then you should look in to their second album. Again be patient and wait till it gets sent to you as it can take a long time as it isn't always in stock. Believe me your wait will be worth it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2000
from hearing a few snippets on the net, i knew i had to have this cd. unfortunatly, i found it was terribly difficult to get hold of. then... i was introduced to the world of online shopping. amazon, i found had 3 albums by this band which was so amazing, and they were pritty cheap by compaison to what record shops wanted.
the music is bruatlly hard but wondefully soft at the same time, jessikca raspy and gentle vocals contast beautifully with the music, making her voice surely the sweetest voice in metal. the album is beautiful, original, addictive and fantastic. its surprissingly cheap at amazon too, and its so worth the challenge of managing to find it...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2003
A friend first played me this album. at the time, still into pop music i was sceptical. however, the angry lyrics, the loud chords and jessicka's angsty voice made for an album that sticks up a middle finger at the world. the first track "American made" grabs you. it pulls you into the album and makes you think "hmm..... not bad". followed by songs about cannabilism, abusive boyfriends and sadists, the group cover a large number of topics and feelings. there's even a song about a cat!!
i do have to admit that several of my friends think i'm crazy for listening to this. who knows, they might be right.
the ablum's final track is my personal favourite. "where angels fuck" is original, and inspirational. theconcept of having a girl screaming at her partner under the chorus is slightly chilling.
although this album is generally good, i've got to admit that it could do with having a broader style on it, and then it might appeal to a wider audience.
teeny boppers beware. this may just burn out your ears..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2003
i think that this is one of the best albums the world has ever seen. but with songs like american made, horrible, my cat and girl scout and so on you cannot help but totally fall head over feet in love with this album. i cannot think of a time where i enjoyed listening to 1 album so much as i have done with sexless demonds and scars. the album leaves me stunned and begging for more. i want to shout out to all you heavy punk and goth rock fans out there that this is the bestest band in the world!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
This is just an awesome album. Although it is occaisionally similar to Kittie, it is in fact (in my opinion) musically better. The first three songs make such a great start to an album that you're so hooked that the rest just grinds into your head and stays there. Jessika's voice is fresh, new and different. The music is excellent, heavy metal but in a punky sort of way.
The stand out tracks are My cat (lol) lollirot, Girl scout, Horrible and Working with MEat.
Buy this if u like music!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2004
Anyone who has heard this album will agree, it dosn'nt get much better than this. A must buy for any self respecting meatalhead. Highlightes include My Cat and the awsome Girl Scout. BUY BUY BUY!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2004
Anyone who has heard this album will agree, it dosn'nt get much better than this. A must buy for any self respecting meatalhead. Highlightes include My Cat and the awsome Girl Scout. BUY BUY BUY!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Nine Inch Nails
£17.24

Need customer service? Click here