Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
37
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2017
Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
I admit i only have 2 albums by this artist, but this is the better one between this one and `a history of rock`.
It has great rock combined with great blues, which is essential in rock music; And also to me, is a big `up yours` to opposition from anyone in that frame of mind.

also, good rapping, and singing, make up part of the all round kick butt album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2001
Where do i start. This album has it all. Lets start with Bawitdaba. This is a great, pure, in your face rap metal song. Just one listen to this and you will be wanting the rest. So why stop there. Cowboy at first wont have your attention but give it time and it will grow on you. Devil Without A Cause is what this album was made for. It has it all form the heavy, kick ass intro, rap personified, to Joe C's awesome solo. Bullgod will blow you away. Roving Gangsta is a break from the metal onslaught giving you a easy listening, catchy, hip-hop tune. Welcome To The Party is a must to fill the dancefloor/mosh pit. Somebody's Gotta Feel This has a crunching bass with some kick ass guitars and rhymes. Fist Of Rage is classic Kid Rock. Hard, fast and unrelenting. Only God Knows Why is a break from the onslaught to bring it down. This is a great track. Fuck Off is unlike any song of Kid Rock. In a good way. The rap style is warp, unforgiving with the music to back it up. Eminem makes a brilliant contribution at the end. Where U At Rock is catchy as hell and to end the album Black Chic... is a great tale off what can happen on the streets. This my friend is a superb album. Hip-Hop, Metal, Rap, crunching tunes and in your face attitude that you want. This is the album to convert you to Kid Rock. Buy it or Miss out on soooo much.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2002
On Kid's debut release on Atlantic Records,Rock leans away from his R&B roots to show his rockier side,seen before on previous recordings such as "3 Sheets to the Wind" & "Ya Keep On". Despite the majority of hardrock songs on the LP,there are still hip-hop influences on tracks such as "Cowboy" & "Welcome to the Party",Detroit rapper Eminem also puts in an appearance in "F-ck You". The ill one also trys his hand at ballad singing on "Only god knows why",making good use of his fine singng voice. Some of the highlights from the album are "Fist of Rage","I am the bullgod" & possibley the catchiest chorus I've ever heard on "Bawitdaba". My final verdict is that this is probably the best rock album you'll ever lay your hands on & that kid should prove to be a mainstay in Atlantic for many years to come.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
I preface this review by making it clear that I do enjoy Beyonce’s music and feel that whatever Kid Rock might have publicly said about her is really just him secretly admiring her as a musician/music performer. However, I was curious to check out the music collection of Devil Without A Cause by Kid Rock because I’m familiar with some of his music from back around 1998-1999 when I was finishing up high school. The first songs that I remember first hearing by Kid Rock are Bawitdaba and I Am The Bullgod through a local alternative radio station the frequently played Kid Rock’s music. I ended up hearing Cowboy some time later. What I enjoy the most about this music collection is that he is not afraid to honestly bare his music soul publicly even on controversial matters and in a storytelling type of format. For instance, in track 14 of the music mashup of Black Chick White Guy/I Am The Bullgod he recalls a tale (I’m not 100% sure if it is himself or someone he knows) of an interracial couple first getting together as high school students and basically does not sugarcoat that the female ended up pregnant by freshman year of high school after they hooked up several times throughout middle and high school (some conservative people may gasp when he admits to them even hooking up in one of their school bathrooms during track 14). He sticks around as she has his baby(a boy) but stress and life eventually tear them apart. Some time later, they reunite again after he is making more money and they get intimate again. She has two more children and one of them is a daughter that he thought was his. He does not put down the daughter and even remarks how beautiful she is but the complicated part is that the character in Kid Rock’s musical story finds out that the daughter is not actually his. They eventually break up again but the guy eventually raises the son as his own and loves him very much even to this day. With this storytelling aspect in just track 14 alone maybe he could meet up with R-Kelly (even though he is from another music genre but R-Kelly has released the soap opera like yet interesting trapped in the the closet chapters that can be currently seen on youtube) and Kid Rock can get ideas on how he can translate just track 14 (Black Chick White Guy/I Am The Bullgod)alone into a play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2001
DWAC is an amzing album, Kid Rock is an amazing artist, this album mixes rock with rap with some funk, every song is brilliant, especially Bawitdaba, Cowboy, I Am The Bullgod, Wasting Time, Only God Knows Why, Devil Without A Cause and Welcome 2 the party, this album is a must for EVERY music fan, as is every other KID ROCK material
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You've got to buy this album because if you like rap metal songs,well lok no further than:Bawitdaba where you @ rock,I am the Bullgod.If you want hip-hop listen to:Devil without a cause,Wasting time,welcome to the party and lastly some songs with good lyrics you must listen to Cowboy,God knows why andwhite guy black chick
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2004
No other artist could come close to touching this album. Kid mixes so many genres together to make this album tantelizing and unique!. I bought this album a few years ago and to this day its novelty still hasn't worn off. Not only is it special in a way it's compelling in its origionality, but it is also warming to know that this album helped, if not revolutionised rock and rap by itself. This album stands out far beyond his other albums and prokes so many emotions in a wide range of songs. I strongly advise purchasing this album if you have found albums such as cocky, history of Rock or Kid rock or any of his previous albums appealing.
It is an album which is full of heart and soul, and it should go down as one of the all time greats!. YOU'LL LOVE IT!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 1999
Kid Rock is not only good music, he is also the center of rock n' rap! I don't know why you Europe folks don't like him but in America where I live, he sold four million plus copies of this album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)