Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2000
I remember hearing a song on the radio at about 8 years old that haunted me in to adulthood. The song was "Moonlight Shadow" and it remains one of my favourite ever songs to date. It would be sad to write Oldfield off as only being famed for Tubular Bells and co as there are some truly wonderful and charismatic songs on this album. "Five Miles Out" shows how its all done and "Heavens Open" is a must for playing whilst driving the long open road. This album is brilliantly quirky but so easily listened to I don't why I am the first to review it!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2001
I first bought this ablum for my aunt birthday when i was about 15. I thought i would play it and see what all the fuss was about - and i liked it so much she never actually received it. I bought her something else instead!! Now i am 21 and looking to buy the CD. I think my favorite song on the album is Family Man. It is catchy, the words mean something, and it makes very good background music as I drive. Do not asume Mike Oldfield is just a classical writer, he is amazing and you will probebly recognise some of the songs.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
It's ok, I really love Mike Oldfield and bought this because of price. There are some brilliant tracks on it Moonlight Shadow, In Dulci Jubilo and Portsmouth and some not so good ones in my opinion. Again i think at the right price it's worth putting this on your album list.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mike Oldfield, a multi-instrumentalist, achieved worldwide success with his debut, Tubular bells, but never came close to matching its success again although his albums continued to sell well in his British homeland. This collection of his music from the seventies, eighties and early nineties shows Mike's development as an artist. Although titled Elements, this is really a Best of package.
The set opens with the opening theme to Tubular bells and includes his four British top ten hits (In Dulce Jubilo, Portsmouth, Moonlight shadow, Sentinel) as well as Family man, which was only a minor UK hit for Mike but which became a top twenty UK hit via a cover by Hall and Oates. Some of Mike's lesser hits are missing including the UK top twenty hit, Blue Peter, which is Mike's interpretation of the theme to the long-running children's TV series - it was even used on the TV for a few years.
The vastly under-appreciated Maggie Reilly (a brilliant soprano) sings on some of Mike's records, most notably Moonlight shadow, an extremely sad song albeit with a bouncy tune. Another brilliant guest vocalist is Bonnie Tyler, featured on Islands.
While you might wish to buy the original Tubular bells album in its entirety, this sampling of Mike's best music spanning nearly twenty years shows plenty of variety.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Elements is probably one of the best places (along with Tubular Bells, of course) to start with Mike Oldfield. This has a great selection of his music over the years up to his Tubular Bells 2 album. You get a fair range of his instrumental stuff, as well as his other songs such as the excellent 'Family Man' which has one of the best Oldfield solos ever, in my opinion. He has always been an original, enigmatic character and this collection goes some way to introducing you to the music of this unique songwriter and musician. Well worth a try.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
The best hits of the "classic" (i.e., pre Tubular Bells II and its sequels) Mike Oldfield, from the most "pop" ones (Moonlight Shadow, Heaven's Open, Islands, etc.) to the first instrumentals (Incantations, Ommadawn, etc.).

This is a great gift for someone that thinks that Mike Oldfield is only what he's been doing the last 20 years.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
This is was a fantastic compilation of great music from a great artist. Amazon is one of a very few places where you can get it. For the true lover of music I recommend this CD to any one that fits that description. Get it while you can.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
any true mike oldfield fan should not be without this c/d. his class as a musician shines through every track. once again amazons delivery was second to none. love the c/d love amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Featuring Mikes best compositions, can't go wrong if your a fan. Maggie Reilly should get more acclaim for her singing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
If you don`t like this album, then you wont like Mike Oldfield...
If you still don`t know...
This album is a great starting place for you and contains a good all round mix and match up of Mike Oldfiels melodies...
5/5
10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)