Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
35
4.0 out of 5 stars
Extra Texture
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 July 2017
Typically patchy George solo album, but it has its moments. I'm keen on You, The Answer's At The End, This Guitar, Can't Stop Thinking About You, Midnight Blue. The impeccable session playing helps move things along nicely. I can't stop hearing Dylan's voice singing "Can't Stop Thinking About You".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Cant get enough of George!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
excellent!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2004
I'm not sure why this Album fairs better than Dark Horse in these reviews. Both have things to reccommend them. Dark Horse - the title track and Simply Shady, and this album 'You', but apart from those tracks, I don't really think that either album is too good (In the current format at least, there may be a revelation in quality if they were re-mastered, in particular this album which can sound murky at times).
I am a big fan of George but for me this, alongside Somewhere in England and Live in Japan, is one of his least essential albums. Certainly it is mellow, but the whole album lacks a central core, and can sound a bit like a bad saxaphone club. Muddy at best.
Better bets are the sublime Living in a Material World, and 33 and a third, the two albums that sandwich this one. Material World has a superior mellow quality, and better tunes, and 33 a more refined jazzy sound.
I do really love 'You', but it is essentially the only real tune on this album. As I say, maybe a remastering similar to that found on the Dark Horse Years would do this album a power of good in its clarity, as I think that there is a lot going on musically, buried beneath this murky mix.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2011
Good Lord, what a surprise. Listening to this now, it's difficult to fathom the vitriol (at worst) or the general dismissiveness (at best) that Extra Texture attracted when it first came out. It's no 'All Things Must Pass' or 'Thirty-Three and a Third', but it can in no way be described as George's, or any artist's, nadir. Some of the songs and arrangements on here, and the production overall, is brilliant: listen to the piano, bass and orchestra arrangement on 'The Answer's at the End', or 'This Guitar can't keep from Crying'. And what confidence in his singing, and in his artistry in general. Yes, maybe he'd been 'hanging out' a little too much in LA, but it's great to hear the influence seeping through from all the artists he was producing at the time. And it's almost a shock to hear his voice in such fine fettle after the struggled, strangled 'downer' (in my opinion) that was Dark Horse.

As a comparison between this and the previous album, 'I just can't help thinking....' that, yes, he might have been a bit down on Extra Texture, but what is wrong with that? So often sadness is a key to unlock one's artistry, and in any case it sounds as though so many of the songs are a conversation with himself and not necessarily with the world at large; the whole thing emerges as more hopeful, and less of a tortured struggle, than its predecessor. It's George's soul album, as another Amazon reviewer has very wisely pointed out. It's sad in parts, but it doesn't suck the air/energy out of the room as, I think, Dark Horse does. And it's no way cloyingly-preachy, in the sense that Living in the Material World can be.

If there's a problem here, it's that some of the songs just aren't that interesting (Ooh Baby, World of Stone, Can't Help Thinking about You, for example), though again in comparison with it's predecessor I think it scores a higher hit rate (I can only listen to the title song, So Sad and Ding Dong on DH). And yes, I'll admit it: I think His Name is Legs is a great tune! Listen to those horns! Just don't listen too closely to the words.....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
'Extra Texture' (45:55) from September 1975 arrived just nine months after the previous album 'Dark Horse'. Like it's predecessor, 'Extra Texture' has often been unfairly dismissed by critics. Okay, it may not be 'All Things Must Pass' (1970), but at least it didn't contain an extra LP of jam sessions ! Perhaps the somewhat 'muddy' mix did not help, but this 2014 remaster provides upgraded and clearer sound.

My first taste of the album was a second-hand copy of the single 'You' / 'World Of Stone' in 1984. That was followed by a US vinyl import of the album in the late 1980's, and then the 1991 AAD CD.

The album starts with the upbeat single 'You', which made use of an unused backing track for a Ronnie Spector album. George had to sing the song in a higher key than he was used to. The piano was played by Leon Russell, who also plays on 'Tired Of Midnight Blue'.

Track 2 'The Answer's At The End' is a personal favourite, with lyrics taken from a wall at George's Victorian home Friar Park, by the previous owner Sir Frank Crisp ("now let his foibles pass"). Jim Keltner's drums pack a punch, as they do on most of the album. Track 3 'This Guitar (Can't Keep From Crying)' is another strong track. The song is repeated as a bonus track at the end of the CD, which adds little to the original long-player, as a 1992 demo with 2002 overdubs.

The song 'Ooh Baby' was inspired by Smokey Robinson and his song 'Ooh Baby Baby'. 'World Of Stone' is another personal favourite. The 45 second reprise of 'You' seems like pointless filler, which brought the original side one to a close.

The old side 2 contains the weakest song 'His Name Is Legs'. The song is about the drummer with the 'Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band' (from the late 60's / early 70's) called 'Legs' Larry Smith. George's lead vocal is not one of his most effective, nor is it one of the best tunes. No complaints about the other three songs on side 2 though.

If you are buying a George Harrison CD for the first time, this is perhaps not the one to purchase first, but is still a worthwhile part of his solo legacy. Like most of George's recordings, there is a spiritual quality, as well as organic sounds with real instruments. David Foster, who went on to achieve greater fame, provided string arrangements, as well as playing piano and organ throughout.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
This is probably the most overlooked of George's solo albums, this is definitely one of my favourites of any of the beatles solo works! I don't do too many reviews, but felt this album seriously deserved one. This album has so much emotion and feeling attached to it. George's lyrics and singing send the hairs on the back of my neck upwards! The song 'you' sets the tone of the album, 'this guitar (can't keep from crying) is quite frankly beautiful! A bit more of you seems to tie both parts of the album together before the wonderful 'Can't stop thinking about you' I can't recommend this album enough!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
In the wake of the Scorcese film on George, my interest in Extra Texture was rekindled. I'd owned it on vinyl, and decided to get it on CD. The album still has not been remastered, and it could benefit from a bit of work. That said, I have been amazed at coming back to these songs some twenty five years on from first knowing them. Maybe it is me that's changed, and in my middle age I can discern things that in my mid twenties I didn't resonate with so much.

Like several reviewers here, Extra Texture has become synonomous with George's most depressing period (marriage break up, hepatitis, fallout from 'disastrous' US Tour...) played out on an album. I am finding this NOT to be the case now. Yes, the material does reflect lyrically and musically on occasions this downbeat frame of exhaustion - Grey Cloudy Lies most overtly. Yet there's not a stuckness in the depression, more of a decision and resolve to move on to somewhere better. Tired of Midnight Blue is really positive - it seems to describe George's realisation that Olivia's and his love for each other is the way out of the world of late night drinking and depression. 'Made me wish that I'd stayed home, with you' is pretty much the compass point that would turn George's life around back towards domestic bliss and soon to follow fatherhood.

However, what has really struck me on rediscovering Extra Texture has been the soulfulness of George's vocals, the care that has been lavished on the arrangements, and of course the top quality musicianship on show here. The strings, prominant bass and sometimes a little too distant vocals would all benefit from the remastering process. But the present production doesn't place ET at a severe disadvantage to the modern ear.

I am finding there to be more life and oodles more passion on these tracks than I had previously been aware of. It's a little more slow burning, but passion and conviction nevertheless. I can hear the album more in it's chronology now too, and several tracks could also have been placed on 33 and a Third - there's the soulfulness of Ooh Baby, which is a very close relation to Pure Smokey - and the band is probably pretty much the same. I'd have liked to have known what western music George was checking out in '74-'75. Surely he can't have just been listening to Krishna chants! The Fabs never hid their love of rhythm and blues, and my ears hear more than a little black soul, deep south gospel and even funk influences going on here.

I wouldn't suggest this should be the first port of call for someone just getting aquainted with solo George, but I'd certainly say it's definitely more worthy of investigation than some would tell you, and you may even find it becomes one of your unexpected faves!
44 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Nice lp but vastly overpriced at £31!! The album has been out 3 or 4 times already so artwork and recordings are paid for thousands of times over. George is a legend and the fans like myself are being totally ripped off with these prices
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
I like George's solo albums and have them all, which can't be said of the other former Beatles' recordings. (Does anyone actually own Some Time in New York City?)

Extra Texture (Read all About It!) followed Dark Horse and is more of a soul than rocky album. It has some great funky tracks along with a few that musically drag a bit, such as Grey Cloudy Lies and The Aswer's At the End. However, You is terrfic and muscular, Tired of Midnight Blue has a nice R and B groove, and This Guitar Can't Keep from Crying is an acerbic but appropriate response to crtics. Ooh Baby was George's first obvious tribute to Smoky Robinson and is a nice track, but not as successful as 33 1/3's 'Pure Smoky'.

The musicianship and production/sound are fine and, as Ray Cooper has observed, they have melody. George plays some nice licks and ; it's just that sometimes the songs are a little too long. There are some jokes on the cover ("onothimagen") and on the album (His Name is Legs) which show George's sense of humour.

The CD lacks the nice packaging of the LP, for which the album title was cut out of the cover, and as another reviewer has noted, it could do with a remaster.

If you haven't heard Extra Texture, it's well worth a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Brainwashed
£17.99
Cloud Nine
£11.20
Dark Horse
£13.88

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)