Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2017
excellent quick service, product as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
I had this on cassette and wanted to pick up a CD version secondhand. Confusingly, this release has a quite different track listing to the identically titled CD with the same image only in pink, which is missing Beatbox, Moments in Love, and Clost to the Edit.

The track listing of this blue-covered Best of is:
1) Opus 4 2mins
2) Beatbox (Diversion One) 8.33 mins
3) Moments in Love 7.00 mins
4) Close (to the Edit) 5.41 mins
5) Peter Gunn (The Twang Mix) featuring Duane Eddy 7.15 mins
6) Paranomia (featuring Max Headroom) 6.40 mins
7) Legacy 8.20 mins
8) Dragnet'88 7.15 mins
9) Kiss (featuring Tom Jones) 8.09 mins
10)Something always happens 2.28 mins.

Although many tracks are shared on both, I believe that this blue version has extended mixes of the same songs. Art of Noise and their label released lots of different versions of tracks, all discussed a fair bit on Wikipedia, so it's a question of what you like best. The differences between the pink and blue versions are discussed in detail in reviews on amazon.com (US Amazon). Obviously, I really like this version, but I'm docking one star for the "watered-down" Beatbox (Diversion One), instead of the original punchy Beatbox which appeared on the EP "Into Battle With the Art of Noise", now re-released. That version also seems to be on the about-to-be released (Sept 2011) Collector's edition of "Who's afraid of the Art of Noise".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Let me begin by stating that I am no expert when it comes to music. My tastes are pedestrian and retro but I know what I like and Gizmo music falls into this category. I had never really heard of Art of NOise before coming across their version of the Robinson Crusoe theme tune. That caught me and led on to my listening to this album. It is esoteric, very bohemian and slightly weird but if you like electronic music that contains a beat and has energy then this is an excellent album.
I subsequently read that every type of music in the 90's was influenced by this group and whilst I am, as indicated above, no expert on music I can see why this is said. Well worth listening to and very original.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
I'm never quite sure what this cd best of is fully called as there is this 'blue album' best of & there is also 'pink album' best of. This the 'blue album' has longer tracks on it & remixed tracks too and for me is favoured over the more common 'pink album' which has more normal versions on it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
The best best of cd out there of this forgotten band, all the hits you need GR8!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
I had only been able to get this on Cassett until now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Good delivery item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2016
As good now as was then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
I'll be honest, some of it on here is noise, but the good tracks more than make up for it. Anyone who is a fan of 80s synth pop would enjoy this, but it may not be to everybody's taste.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
vg
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)