Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
70
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 March 2015
I couldn't resist buying this - it had to be worth a few quid for a laugh.

Starting with William Shatner's contribution, it is fair to say that he has managed to carve out a second career as a...'musician'. His spoken word, theatrical, Shakespearean interpretation and delivery of the songs featured is often hilarious, at times cringe-making and occasionally actually rather magnificent. Is the joke on us? Probably....

Leonard Nimoy is a whole different kettle of fish. He actually possessed a cracking good singing voice and he does great justice to his songs featured here.

Good fun - guaranteed to put a smile on your face.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
I'm not sure whether this is advantageous or not, but I find putting this on in the car can end a relationship. Buy one, just in case.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Clearly you're not looking at this thinking you're getting pitch prefect easy on the ears quality.

There are no duets between Kirk and Spock unfortunately. To be fair though this is a fun disc for a car journey and you can tell the singers are in fact trying their best, play it seriously and think they have 'it'.. For their effort I'm happy to share this as a Five! After all its only a few quid and the kids might get a giggle.

The chaps though need to stick to their stunning phasers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
....cheesy ....perfect gift for a Spock/Captain James T Kirk fan ........He laughed out loud when gift was unwrapped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Can Leonard Nimoy sing ? YES
Can William Shatner sing ? Deffinatly NOT
But then again he dosen't pretend he can.
Great comedy recording
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Do not listen to any of these tracks in the car. I once heard Shatners 'Lucy in the Sky' on the radio and was shaking so much (with what I can only describe as a highly potent mix of extreme mirth and total, magisterial awe) that I nearly veered off the road.
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 September 2012
So bad it's good. Really. Just keep telling yourself that as STAR TREK's WILLIAM SHATNER and LEONARD NIMOY (photon) torpedo their way through some truly incredible songs, including poems and Shakespearean dialogue. Both actors released albums in the late Sixties and early Seventies to capitalise on their onscreen personas and this is a 24 nugget joint compilation of their 'finest' moments. Nimoy, the guy with the ears, is clearly also the guy with the voice. It's not a thing of great beauty, but he can at least hold a few on-pitch notes together (the poptastically bizarre BALLAD OF BILBO BAGGINS, however, does seem a bit of a stretch, even for a Vulcan's vocal chords). Shatner, on the other hand, 'performs' his songs in a manner that suggests murder has always been legal and is likewise something to celebrate. Over and over again. There's a certain something about his delivery of LUCY IN THE SKY WITH DIAMONDS and IT WAS A VERY GOOD YEAR that does actually make you feel we're on an extended 'trip' through space - but, sadly, without the required spacesuit. And Nimoy's version of EVERYBODY'S TALKIN' only confirms (or compounds) this arguable felony. His A VISIT TO A SAD PLANET - narrated in Spock's deadpan logical tones - is hilarious, containing as it does one of the least surprising surprise endings EVER recorded; someone really must have believed at the time that such a 'reveal' would blow all who heard it away into a higher dimension of elevated thought. Well, if the physical manifestation of that is coughing one's much-needed drink back up and out one's nostrils then yes, result. Hmm, just as well that in space, as the strapline not-quite goes, no-one can hear you choke and splutter.

1. King Henry The Fifth - William Shatner
2. Elegy For The Brave - William Shatner
3. Highly Illogical
4. If I Had A Hammer (The Hammer Song)
5. Mr. Tambourine Man - William Shatner
6. Where Is Love
7. Music To Watch Space Girls By
8. It Was A Very Good Year - William Shatner
9. Ruby Don't Take Your Love To Town
10. Hamlet - William Shatner
11. A Visit To A Sad Planet
12. Abraham, Martin and John
13. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds - William Shatner
14. If I Was A Carpenter
15. How Insensitive - William Shatner
16. I'd Love Making Love To You
17. Put A Little Love In Your Heart
18. Sunny
19. Gentle On My Mind
20. I Walk The Line
21. Ballad Of Bilbo Baggins
22. Everybody's Talkin'
23. Both Sides Now
24. Spock Thoughts

SPACED OUT is an artefact of its time by two artefacts of their time, both shoehorned together for our entertainment. Maybe something to look at askance - with the dead weight of modern cynicism and disbelief a mere heartbeat to one side - because, in the final analysis, this coming together of two very different talents is also a heap of FUN.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2005
Why the 5 star rating? Well, read all about it...
Shatner is quoted on the insert as saying, "I've been entranced with music for the longest time...and the bane of my life is that I really can't sing...I'm kind of feeling my way into an area that I'm discovering." This is exactly what many people miss - this isn't just a compilation of songs, this stuff was done as conceptual art. Conceptual art is not always made to popular tastes.
Thus, when I listened to this (my dad has the vinyls) I alternatively howled with laughter, tapped my toes, and sang along. The excellent selection does cover the unforgettable favorites, such as Shatner's Mr Tambourine Man and Nimoy's Ballad of Bilbo Baggins. These are truly unique.
These famous songs should not typecast the album, though - for instance, Shatner's renditions of Shakespeare are arguably quite good. The pieces are dramatic and interpretive (back to the art thing) and Shatner dares to be different - how much fun would it be to hear only one version of Hamlet? He's aware he can't sing so adapts (incidentally, Rex Harrison spoke his way through most of My Fair Lady - a musical!!)
Nimoy, on the other hand, provides spoken word and singing. One of the best songs is Where is Love - a touching, simple and well sung rendition. YES Nimoy CAN SING. I really liked the spoken piece, A Visit to A Sad Planet, as I hadn't heard before and found the ending intriguing (no spoilers here!). You really notice the difference between the 'Spock voice' and his 'Nimoy voice.'
With the variety on the CD you're bound to find something you love - whether because it's a funny laugh and you think it's dated or simply because you appreciate something a bit different from two cultural icons.
Bottom line: A really well-selected, quality produced, compilation of Shatner and Nimoy's art/interpretive records of yesteryear. You don't need to go buy six CDs, just this one. It's an eclectic, unusual CD you'll probably find you like a lot more than you expected (and it's a HECK of a conversation piece).
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I must have been pi**ed when I ordered this......only play it when I am pi**ed.
A fool and his money etc....................
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2005
This is REAL music, a true piece of art. You will want to sing along to songs that before you never new you liked. At the same time it challenges your perception of what is good music.
Bill's "It was a very good year is a fine comic interlude", but
personally I much prefered Nimmoy's deep flat singing voice to Shatner's ham acting style. With 18 Nimmoy tracks I'm not complaining though.
Its said Mozart never wrote a wrong note, and that's why this is so, so much better than Mozart.
Nimmoy and Shatner don't shy away for letting loose and enjoying themselves and its positively infectious. There is plenty of invention and variation throughout.
I recommend this to all fun-loving adults.
... and if you're not a fun loving person, then sit back, keep listening and you soon will be.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)