Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
66
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 March 2015
I couldn't resist buying this - it had to be worth a few quid for a laugh.

Starting with William Shatner's contribution, it is fair to say that he has managed to carve out a second career as a...'musician'. His spoken word, theatrical, Shakespearean interpretation and delivery of the songs featured is often hilarious, at times cringe-making and occasionally actually rather magnificent. Is the joke on us? Probably....

Leonard Nimoy is a whole different kettle of fish. He actually possessed a cracking good singing voice and he does great justice to his songs featured here.

Good fun - guaranteed to put a smile on your face.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2001
Star Trek can be taken too seriously - to some, the show is so perfect, even the Borg would take time out to watch it. Although unintentionally, Shatner and Nimoy offer us a good laugh at the Trek's expense. Take "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds" for example - the way Shatner delivers it is so weird and spaced out, it would make Timothy Leary sound like Esther Rantsen! Seriously! As for Nimoy - that's just funny on the whole concept of it... Spock.. er.. singing? A character devoid of emotions and feelings... singing? You just got to laugh, even if you just laugh at his singing voice, it is purely divine comedy!
However, what makes it just that bit funnier, was the fact that the two were, at the time, making something deadly serious! It was just so kitsch and pretentious, it goes way beyond the point of hilarity!
It is customary to include an 'if you like this' section, but things like this are unique. However, if you like jokes at the expense of mediocrity and pretentiousness, hunt down a copy of "Neil's Heavy Concept Album" (Nigel Planer's character in The Young Ones) - it will also have you in stitches!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 March 2015
I couldn't resist buying this - it had to be worth a few quid for a laugh.

Starting with William Shatner's contribution, it is fair to say that he has managed to carve out a second career as a...'musician'. His spoken word, theatrical, Shakespearean interpretation and delivery of the songs featured is often hilarious, at times cringe-making and occasionally actually rather magnificent. Is the joke on us? Probably....

Leonard Nimoy is a whole different kettle of fish. He actually possessed a cracking good singing voice and he does great justice to his songs featured here.

Good fun - guaranteed to put a smile on your face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 March 2015
I couldn't resist buying this - it had to be worth a few quid for a laugh.

Starting with William Shatner's contribution, it is fair to say that he has managed to carve out a second career as a...'musician'. His spoken word, theatrical, Shakespearean interpretation and delivery of the songs featured is often hilarious, at times cringe-making and occasionally actually rather magnificent. Is the joke on us? Probably....

Leonard Nimoy is a whole different kettle of fish. He actually possessed a cracking good singing voice and he does great justice to his songs featured here.

Good fun - guaranteed to put a smile on your face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
Some reviewers will say this CD is so bad it is good. I'm of the opposite opinion - it is so bad it is a distillation of the really awful. Shatner's Shakespearean recitations (terrible, and set to an inappropriate musical score) are merely bewildering, the track 'How Insensitive' will make you weep as well as nod your head - how insensitive it was of Shatner to record such a dirge - and of course there's the famously infamous rendition of 'Lucy in the Sky with Diethylamide'. However, these disasters pale in comparison to his reproduction of Bob Dylan's 'Mr Tambourine Man': Shatner's desperate grappling with the song can best be described as that of a man who has had ten too many, flailing against the injustices of balance, gravity, and quivering floors.

But don't think for a second I'm going to let Nimoy off the hook (whose work fills the bulk of this CD). Okay, his voice isn't too bad, but the sandal-wearing subject matter is utterly dire. You may have thought 'If I had A Hammer' was cheesy, but it ain't when compared to the likes of 'If I were a carpenter' - which opens with the classic lines ' ... And you were a lady, Would you still marry me, would you have my baby'. I needn't go into the banal 'I'd love making love to you' need I, or 'The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins'? I mean, where are the spiders? Finally, there are Nimoy's strange spoken tracks: the first is `Highly illogical', a mildly satirical critique of human behaviour (such as man's desire to earn as much money as possible - even though you can't take it with you when you're dead). The second, `Spock Thoughts', is a collection of Nimoy's thoughts on how best to live your life - with such pithy comments as 'Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence'; 'If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter, for always there will be greater and lesser persons'; and 'Keep interested in your own career, however humble, it is a real possession'. Whilst there's some self-evidently good advice to be had here, it's a bit rich coming from a man who demanded $1 million to appear in a cameo role in a couple of ST TNG episodes.

I have to say the one thing I do like about this CD is in fact ... it's genuinely funny packaging, with the two stars on the cover in suitably madcap poses.

So, if you're thinking about acquiring this album, may I caution you: the majority of the positive reviews on Amazon here are of the aforementioned `It's so bad it's good' variety. If instead you happen to think bad is bad, don't touch this CD with a bargepole. Fortunately I got it as one half of a Christmas present (thankfully, the other, greater half was the complete box set of the Fast Show).
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2005
It was a love for the song 'Lucy (in the sky with diamonds)' that I braved the scared and concerned looks of my other half as a parted cash to buy this CD. All the while knowing that only William Shattner could sing it the way it needed not be sung. I think I may have been going too far when I turned up the cd player and started grinning like a mad fool as the room filled with his voice. Its a laugh, buy it for the satisfaction of knowing you own it. Hell play it enough and you'll eventually (though briefly) begin to actually enjoy it.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2003
This is perhaps the only CD I can't listen in whole. I have to stop and take at least one day rest, because it's unbelievable.
I can't still figure out, if those two gentlemen ment it seriously or as a joke.
My favoutite peaces are Music to Watch Space Girls By by Leonard Nimoy, it's the essence of 60's, and Highly Illogical, song of Mr. Spock...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2002
At last the best of two men whos melodic journey took them to the edge of musical experience can be heard side by side. This is a great compilation bringing together the best of Shatner & Nimoy. Nimoys output is more prolific & has greater representation here with most of the tracks being from his albums, covers of such classics as Everybody's Talkin' & If I Had A Hammer. There are also some more pointy-eared songs like the excellent observational Highly Illogical & the spoken-word warning from the stars A Visit to a Sad Planet. But as good as Nimoy is with his brand of sci-fi lounge music it is Shatner whos tunes linger in the minds eye. He only has a small number of songs but they are all horribly beautiful from his lyrical interpretations of Shakespearean verse such as Hamlets soliloquy to his haunting primal scream which ends Mr Tambourine Man. Definitely a record to beam up to your collection!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2008
Thrill to the sound of Leonard Nimoy croaking `Bilbo Baggins', William Shatner murdering `Lucy in the sky with Diamonds'. An hour of serious humour, intentional and unintentional and excellent music production values shattered by the scenery wobbling just like `Star Trek'. Buy this hits compilation with impunity it is actually so kitsch that it's great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2001
What can I say that hasn't been said already. This was obviously recorded after someone had been sniffing a few moon rocks because it is so completely bizarre no sane mind could have conjured this album up.
The comedy value alone is priceless. Billy Shatners Mr Tamborine Man and Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds will haunt you long after the medication has worn off.
This is just the kind of album to stick on when you've had a completely pants day because it really does show that even though your life may not be great at the moment at least you're not William Shatner or Leonard Nomoy so you can always be thankful for that. If this doesn't have you laughing your socks off in 5 minutes nothing will.
A big thumbs up to Billy and Len!!!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.01

Need customer service? Click here