Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2005
Its really hard to review this album - this has been the soundtrack to my life since 1997 and makes the "if you could take only ONE CD to a desert island" question EASY to answer.
I have never heard an album better than this in my life, and I doubt I will. If you like melodic, edgy, driving rock/metal then this is as good as it gets. Kerbdog can play the simplest, spiky riff and blow all these modern "heavy" bands out of the water. This is a band that rocks out without relying on dischord, swinging their guitars around like lunatics and inciting violence in the pit.
I have had the pleasure of meeting Cormac and Darragh (through WILT) and they are awesome down to earth guys.
I would say Kerbdog fans will also enjoy Silverchair, Helmet, Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Fuel, Throat, and Dry Rise.
Get hold of this album somehow. But I warn you - it will make virtually everything in your collection sound less good than you remember!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2003
where to start? this is my all time favorite album by far, bought on the day of release and i still listen to it all the time. even though it's about five years old now, it still sounds fresh and exciting, with some of the best alt.metal songs i have ever heard. highlights (if i HAD to choose) would be jj's song, on the turn, didn't even try, but they are all great really. part 'helmet' part 'therapy?' the songs are all power and melody with a 'quiet/loud' dynamic, changing from clean and soft to searing guitars and pounding drums. wilt fans should look elsewhere, there are no similarities with kerbdog at all apart from the bands members, and wilt will always come second place. cormac, colin and darrah showed pure musical geneus on this record. kerbdog shall remain the band that forever changed my life
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2003
Quite why this album did'nt catapult Kerbdog into orbit i dont know (maybe because they split). It is quite simply one of the best Post Grunge/Heavy Rock albums of the 90's. There really is not one crap song on the whole damn album, i dont even want to name any favourites because the whole album stands out!
On this album they've seemed to have found the secret book of greatest hooks ever and recorded it.
To get an idea of what Kerbdog sound like imagine the Foofighters' 'The Colour And The Shape' or Silverchair's 'Freak Show' with a more driven Punk/Metal feel.
Well, I've been listening to 'On The Turn' for about 7 years, bought a hell of alot of albums in the meantime and this one still does it for me.
Go. Buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2003
kerbdog leave a very long drawn out echo of 'what if?'
many bands are embarrisngly classed as the next big thing and then disappear or turn crap. it happens every week.
kerbdog WEREN'T herald as the next big thing and music mags for some unexplainable reason decided to do their best to ignore them.
kerbog were to play the role of reluctant heroes to many youths who decided to ignore fashion and look for something new and exciting. this album is THE most perfect rock album of the nineties. far more engrossing then 'nevermind' even!
just listen to 'pledge'!
INTELLIGENT, MOVING, HEAVY, POPPY, GRUNGY, PUNK, STORMING, EVERLASTING...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2002
Kilkenny trio Kerbdog made a masterpiece with this album, their second. Despite it being one of the most over-looked albums of the last decade, it is also one of the best. The huge Metallica/Alice In Chains-style riffs work superbly with Cormac Battle's deep, soulful lyrics and passionate voice - 'Sally', 'J.J.'s Song', 'Mexican Wave', 'On The Turn', 'Pointless', all of them could have (SHOULD have)been hits. But it wasn't to be - the band split shortly afterwards. As soon as this album stops, amidst a wave of feedback, it is guaranteed that you will be pressing play again. A true classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2000
This album is like an express train - full of driving power chords, heavy bass and damn good tunes. 'Sally' is the stand out track for me, nothing has made the hairs on the back of my head stand up like that since 'Beaster' by Sugar. The style nods towards Sugar but not in a derivative way, they just have the same killer chord sequences but with the intensity of Therapy! as an added bonus. The production on this album is crisp and clear with a raw, live feel to it, pushing the guitar right in your face. Anyone who likes indie/metal needs this album. Sadly Kerbdog split up after this album but this record shows how underrated they were. Do yourself a favour and buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
Ok, the fact is that the first time round Kerbdog missed and they never got a second chance, sure Dry Riser or End of Green are really great songs, but they weren't truly exceptional.

Every song on On The Turn is. Really. Truly. In my opinion this is probably the best rock album ever pressed, OTT is simultaneuosly very dark and very life affirming, but above all it's great rock! U2 went ultra-mega-uber-platinum and OTT got deleted, such is the way of the world, but if you want rock that hurts, makes you think, and inspires, then hunt this down, please believe me - two guitars, a singer, a drum kit, and a bass never meant so much, or counted for less.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2007
Unfortunately due to record company acquisitions and label juggling, Kerbdog were the losers in the label roulette.

I'm not going to critique this album at all. In my opinion it is a quintessential album that has inspired many bands since.

It is in my opinion it is as important as Never Mind The Bollocks or Nevermind.

Perfect riffs, spot on production and an all round experienced to be savoured.

Most important of all after 10 years it hasn't dated a bit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2000
"on the turn", is definately the best album i have ever heard. The songs are just so good that its unbelievable, if you like rock music then i can't see you putting this album down in any way. This should be the landmark album of the nineties rock scene, that all other artists should struggle to reach. I strongly recommend this album. Stand out tracks : they all do! jack gavin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
This came as new from Zoverstocks, there are times when I get CDs that are damaged although to be fair they still play. However this one arrived in perfect condition. Now the contents, brilliant from start to finish, they may have been overshadowed by bands like Therapy?, but they are a tour de force in their own right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)