Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
Greenslade (Int'l)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.66+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 October 2009
In the early 70's BBC Radio One used to have "live" concerts on Saturday evenings. One week it was Wolf (Daryll Way ex. Curved Air) and Greenslade playing for a half-hour each; both new groups. Greenslade were dual keyboard band with no guitarist - Dave Greenslade (ex. Colosseum) and Dave Lawson. They were not the first two keyboard band (e.g. Rare Bird) but their level of symphonic progressiveness and sheer range of "sounds" was, to me, a revelation - although Dave Lawson's singing voice was a bit of a audio 'Marmite'. The key songs on this, their first LP, were - as in the live performance - Feathered Friends, Drowning Man and Melange. More records followed of good music (the next, "Bedside Manners are Extra" often rated as their best - but not by me) but none to compare with this one. By 1976 it was all over - Dave Greenslade has had a fairly good solo career and has put formed / reformed Greenslades from time to time - but not even close to this!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2000
When a friend at school asked me to lend him the "best" album from this band I had been talking about (that no one else had yet heard of) this is the album I gave him. Yes, there may be better individual tracks on other Greenslade albums, but overall the material here represents their strongest compilation of work, in my opinion. And don't get me wrong, there are classics here too, in particular Melange, which remains one of my favourite tracks. The make-up of the band was (and is) unique - two keyboard players and no guitarist - and sounds as good today as it did when first released.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Always wondered why greenslade didn't quite make it. They were always the 'not quite' group amongst yes, genesis etc etc. now I understand why they weren't quite there. It's the lack of musicality by the restrictions within the instrument set !! They just needed that bit more & they could have been bigger. I loved them - but wanted to love them more !!!!
Bit like marrilion & genesis - nearly but not quite

At the time everything, including the art !!!!!! Was in their favour.

A bit olarisof sunhillow - nearly but not quite - a shame really
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
My brother introduced me late in the day to this group, having been a fan of progressive rock since the early 1970's. Took a couple of listens to, but it grew on me and I can say that not one track is anything other than uniquely enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Always were good, this is no exception.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
Also worth pointing out, Mike, that Radio One's Saturday evening concerts were actually pre-cursored in the late 60's by the Light Programme's "Workers Playtime", which included early but definitive tracks from artists such as Arthur Askey (e.g. "Hello Playmates" and "Bumble Bee"), The Bonzo Dog Doo Dah Band ("You Done my Brain In") and Ken Dodd ("Tears for Souvenirs")...all Svengali figures to the then adolecent Darryl Way and Dave Greenslade. By 1974 the influence of these 60's titans of pop was crystallised in Darryl's live rendition of "Donkey Serenade" at the WRP's autumn conference at the Blackpool Winter Gardens. The hits that followed, "Golly... You're a Bird!", "Open the Box - I'd Rather take the Money" and "We're Only in it for the Lolly" defined the era in a way that has never been surpassed. Sadly the dizzy heights lasted all too briefly and by the time I saw them in 1987 at the Whisky-a-Go-Go in Barnoldswick they were a tired and emotional shadow of their former selves...the replacement of their previously magnificent Moog Synthesiser with a Rolf Harris Stylophone summing up the entire evening.
33 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
This is great. Dave Greenslade and co ditch the idea of having a guitar player and instead, opt for a twin keyboard attack consisting of dovetailing electric pianos and hammond organs, with added mellotron for texture and Chris Squire-esque bass playing, all hammered home with tight drumming.
Highlights are the opening track, 'Feathered Friends' and the more instrumental based tracks, such as 'An English Western', 'Melange' and the stunning closing track, 'Sundance'.
The music here is so uptempo and colourful, you don't really notice, let alone care about the absence of a guitar player; but if you're a prog fan why would you? Emerson, Lake and Palmer nevered bothered too much with guitar, nor did Van Der Graaf Generator or Rick Wakeman. In fact, the musical approach on 'Greenslade' has much in common with Wakeman's 'Six Wives of Henry VIII' album. It's a good slice of direct, keyboard driven rock. Ok, the vocal passages, which are dotted throughout the album aren't particularly inspired, but to be fair, this album isn't about vocals. What we have here, is a band of gifted musicians having an absolute blast in the studio and delivering some entertaining, unfussy, unpretentious progressive music that really puts a smile on the face. Throw in an awesome Roger Dean sleeve for good measure and you're good to go.
This is bloomin' marvellous stuff. Give it a whirl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Its in the wax to the max
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)