Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
10
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.70+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2007
Of all the various versions of Tubular Bells, this, the second to be recorded I think, is my favourite because it has a sound to match the vision. Made off the back of the huge popularity of the original it stands comparisons with any of the subsequent re-makes and remixes.

Oldfield was a wonder to play all the instruments on the original, and he made some interesting points with all the follow ups, including the bum note removing total re-recording of a few years back, but only this orchestral version has the subtlety and strength of a full orchestra to bring every aspect of the music to life.

It would be going too far to say the difference is similar to that of a colour TV version of a black and white original, it's more the DVD HD version of an old VHS tape: it's all there, just clearer, sharper and ultimately with more feeling.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2004
If the original version of 'Tubular Bells' wasn't enough, 'The Orchestral Tubular Bells' takes it one step further. Arranged by David Bedford and performed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, this rendition is as equally haunting as Mike's original masterpiece. Mike appears in the second part on acoustic guitar, making the listener remember whose music this is. Definitely not one to be omitted from any Mike Oldfield fan's collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
I'm a great fan of the original, bought this on the cheap and it is OK. Though I think the recording levels are very low, and recording quality not that great.
However, it makes interesting listening.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
An interesting take on the well-known original, although at times it's hard to relate the two recordings. Only Mike's entrance on guitar towards the end of part two (and The Sailors Hornpipe!) reminds you of the original Tubular Bells.
The sound level is way too low which spoilt it for me, (hence the 3 Stars) so I used sound editing and burnt a blank CD at three times the original volume level. What a difference. A much better listen, in spite of the basic poor recording mentioned by other reviewers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
When I first started to play this cd I wasnt to interested, but has the music progresses the orchestral interpretation of the original tubular bells are originally refreshing and amusing. Overall I really enjoyed this version and have played it time and time again. Highly recommend if you are Mike Oldfield tubular bells fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
This was a great idea and I think it starts really well. However, at various points in track 2 the quality and coherence of the playing takes a dive and some of the bum notes and out of time playing really bring it down. I could understand these flaws if it was played once, live, and there wasn't a chance to fix the errors. Given all the attention that Mike Oldfield has given Tubular Bells in its various forms, I think that he could do much worse than simply re-recording this good rich orchestral treatment of his music, without the annoying errors.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Quite disappointed with this CD - I don't know quite what I was expecting but this was not it. After hearing the original - this version does not come even close.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
Nice cd. I loved the original one this is pretty close but no substitute really. I like it don't get me wrong. But the original wins hands down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
I had an old tape copy of this music and wanted either a vinyl or CD replacement. This was bought secondhand and arrived qickly and in good condition. The disc plays perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Superb!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)