Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2005
In my opinion - with the exception of Smell Of Female - this is the Cramps best album. Its the perfect combination of rockabilly, humour, gas station punk rock & kitchsh gore.
I am really annoyed because I have just noticed the 2 star review on Allmusic for this and they referred to it as "one of the weakest efforts in the Cramps canon" - utter nonsense. This is quality.
There is a great version on here of Muleskinner Blues, as well as the usual selection of completely insane Lux/Ivy originals.
For all its worth - I also thoroughly recommend "Flamejob" CD
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
The Cramps have contaminated me with rock 'n' roll! When the record turned up in the mail and i opened it to reveal it's full vinyl glory it was like that of the second coming of Christ. The artwork here is trashy and that typography is almost hypnotic in it's oozing cool. As for the music, i can't describe the serotonin levels increasing in my brain as i revel in such great songs as Bikini Girls... and Everything Goes. There's also some great cover songs on here too that The Cramps make their own to the extent where the originals are virtually blasted to hell with a good helping of gunk and gook splattered all over them.
If you get the vinyl record you WILL NOT regret it, it is like a material manifestation of the soul!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
If you like the Cramps you have to get this album with some great tracks such as their souped up versions of Macy "Skip" Skipper's Sun recording of Bop Pills and the Fendermen's Mule Skinner Blues. Who can resist titles like Bikini Girls With Machine Guns and The Creature From The Black Leather Lagoon!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2004
The recording/production is not true to the Cramps on stage sound (check out Big Beat in Badsville, Flamejob for that) but this beautifully remastered edition on Ivy and Lux's own label is a jewel.
The recording, 1989, is very well produced/mixed. The ride cymbal, like in all Cramps albums, is very rich.Miss Candy del Mar on bass, given a different lease compared to fuzztones rocked out by Brian Gregory, Slim Chance,bounces her riffs against the bass drum and floor tom..Ivy resumes her all conquering rockabilly, tremolo guitarring, and King Lux gives it the Cramps signature with his reverberating, finely tuned vocals. If you like this album, almost certain you'll buy another Cramps release..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
Lux'n'Ivy dish up the expected mix of choice covers,spankingly great new tunes and tons of innuendo.Put simply this is how rock'n'roll should be played.If tunes like All Women are Bad,Bop Pills and the hit(!)single Bikini Girls don't get you throwing the chairs around the lounge then you're probably a Dido fan.Invest!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2012
there seems to be a tendancy with The Cramps for people to discredit or ignore or simply not know about the mid to later albums but this, like the rest is well worth owning. get it and your life will be rosier, even just for the version of shortnin' bread. recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Bought this to reprocess the original which I had worn out! Brilliant! This is one album I could not live without
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Had this , the first time round, on cassette tape, but never got round to buying it on CD, great stuff, one of the best US Punk Bands
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Fantastic - rumbles along nicely, feels dangerous, dirty and nice all at the same time - just like good Cramps should
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Real music, its great!! Will be getting more, just wish I had seen them live....Poison Ivy & Lux Stay Sick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)