Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2017
Well worth the purchase with some great songs from Chris Rea. Great to listen to such song as ' Square Peg, Round Hole ' and
' Thinking of You ' amongst the 12 songs included on this CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
So here we go...another lost masterpiece from Chris Rea and all for just 99p...what a bargain...
Swift delivery too...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Everything is oke :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
Keeps my feet tapping, but not as great as GGBS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Cd box damaged and grease spots on cd but I could was them away
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2003
The Blue Cafe by Chris Rea is possibly his best album produced in the 90's. It didn't have the success of Auberge, or God great banana skin, but reached a credible no 10 in the charts and was a welcome answer to the poor La Passione.
The opening tracks of this album are quite modern Rea. Square peg, Round hole is a rough song with agreat guitar part in reas usual style.
Miss your kiss is similar. Where do we go from here is not bad, and grows on you
The shadows of the big man is a powerful son with a great string part to it.From then on however the mood changes and we get the best songs on the album. Since i found you is a real joy after the down beat opening songs. A change of key to the major in this song and its bright lyrics make it great listening.
Then comes my favourite song on the album- Thinking of you. i don't know what it is about it but it makes me feel strange. the piano part and great instrumental break combined with the lyrics of the last verse make it a classic.
The rest of the songs, except perhaps the title track, tend to blend into one until you're familiar with the album. They are all layed back with great tunes and lyrics.
The title track is very good- and is bound to get you singing.
Definately one to buy.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
After some disappointing CD's in the 90's Rea gets right back in form with this belter of a CD. He seems to be enjoying himself again and he opens the CD by blasting out two quality rockers with "Square peg, round hole" and "Miss your Kiss". He then spins off in a variety of styles with another highlight being the "ace of heartish" - "Thinking of You".
This CD is often overlooked when considering Rea purchases but miss this one as your peril, this is his most consistent album since "Road to Hell 1" - So go on BUY IT!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2000
Chris Rea has a good aray of sounds under his belt which he has admirably shared with us down the years. He did however come a victim of his own success when he recorded/filmed La Passione.
So he went back to recording tried and tested styles on a set of strong if at times unremarkable set of songs. The opener, Square Peg Round Hole, hits you with the trademark slide guitar and gravel voice. Through the rest of album we hear songs which could have easily been taken straight out of his back catalouge.
I particularly like Sweet Summer Day and the title track which both sound like Chris listened to "On The Beach" prior to recording them. Other highlights are Where Do We Go From Here and Shadows Of The Big Man which are great examples of quality songs recorded by musicians who clearly enjoy playing together.
Ultimately it's worth a listen if only to reafirm the fact the Chris Rea is still writing decent material and playing a mean guitar!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
An amazing album that is for most of the tracks upbeat and rocky
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2011
The Blue Cafe I am a Chris Rea fan but after reading some reviews I wasn't sure I would like this. No worries, this album is fantastic and everything I like about the music Chris Rea puts out. Each album seems to have something that bit different and so far I can't fault any of them. The Blue Cafe is definitely worth having if you have enjoyed any of his music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)