Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
23
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2000
Having gone through the mill with his former musical colleagues, it seems that Ian Brown has reappeared with what the world actually was waiting for. He has come up with tunes like "Corpses in Their Mouths" and "Ice Cold Cube", getting the message across with just as much feeling as any other legend. As a debut solo record, all signs point to the same thing - this man is a true genius.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2005
This is a fantastic debut album from someone with imagination, invention, and guts to make the music he really wants. The album is lo-fi and the better for it as what else could follow 'Second Coming' in terms of style. This is music which challenges your concept of commercial music and the current production values which dominate the charts. The songs are great especially the vented spleen against John Squire. 'What Happened to Ya' (comparable to the Roses 'Tightrope') is funky and bluesy and great. 'Lions' which some reviewers don't appear to get is the most political song done by a British artist in over 20 years, "There are no Lions in England", there are no leaders, there are no truely great individuals running this country. This is anti-establishment with wit. Enjoy this album at a decently high volume.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2007
I'm ten years too late but this is impressive stuff from the Monkey King.

This album dispells all doubts about who was the true genius behind the Roses - Master Ian Brown!

I've read some comments about the albums alledged lo-fi production values; don't let that put you off. There is real quality here.

After four listenings (for real!), stand out tracks are 'My Star', 'Lions', 'Corpses in their mouth', 'Nah Nah' and 'Ice cold cube'. It shouldn't really be that surprising but the lyrics are inspired. 'My Star' in particular (I vaguely remember it as a single) is awesome. That perfect mix of sci-fi, cosomology, imperialism and political comment. By the way, Aziz Ibrahim's guitar is a great foil to the great man's voice.

I'm off to buy up the rest of the back-catalogue.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 1999
Brown was magical in The Stone Roses, and so we all had high expectations of this album. For many, he failed to live up to these expectations, but In my opinion, Brown's style is different, but equally superb. It's a bitter album detailing the legacy John Squire dumped on Brown. King Monkey isn't scared to try out new things here. If you want more Stone Roses style, you'll be dissapointed, but if you liked the singles, you'll love this Solo Debut Masterpiece.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2008
The man, the legend - I'm 35 and lets be honest 'The Stone Roses' IS the greatest album ever recorded. I remember this album when I bought it and I remember saying to my mates 'Corpses In Their Mouths' its just like the roses! I recently bought the rest of Ian Brown's albums. Quality - this man is the real front man! the absolute legend - Ian Brown is class and in years to come his albums will gain more recognition, makes you realise who the creative one was in the Roses - pure genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Still as good as it was when i first heard it as a 15 year old kid in '98. He's got that knack of writing songs that on the face of it are 2D but the depth is huge and they are foot tappers as well! The follow up albums are great also but i love this album as its got an unpolished charm which i got hooked on as that teenager playing for the first time!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
As a debut album this is rather very good.Ian Browns unique lyrical style and singing style all stand out.The tracks Corpses In Their Mouths and Nah Nah are the highlights of the album and its worth purchasing it for this reason alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
I say surprisingly as I'm not a huge stone roses fan - dont dislike them, just never took to them and can't listen to them over and over. But this album is well worth a listen, i have gone on to purchase more of his solo stuff since.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
a great album that everyone should hear. the fab lyricist of the stone roses. what more can i say

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/201456953669?_trksid=p2055359.m1431.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)