Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2000
After listening to the first track,'Betty Et Zorg,'in a drama lesson instantly I felt sad. The eerie score of the first track created a strong sense of emotion, and the low bluesy tone of it gave me a sense of lonelyness and being down. The other tracks on the album are also very inspirational and enjoyable to listen to. I definatly have a slot in my CD rack reserved for it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
If you loved the movie, you'll love the soundtrack.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
The music to this film is timeless!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
You will appreciate this soundtrack more if you have seen the movie. A series of haunting melodies and themes abound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Gabriel Yared's original music for Betty Blue (Subtitled) (DVD) [1986] is one of those few soundtrack albums that can be judged as a stand-alone record. Not a million miles away in overall feel to Eric Serra's Grand Bleu: Version Integrale, but with twilight (rather than water) as its central theme, and with much more variation in style (paradoxically making it sound more cohesive). Amongst the outstanding mood pieces, Yared also manages to knock up everything from jazz to fairground music. And when I say "knock up" I mean that as a compliment really - he's done these tracks as someone who has an ear for the music but who doesn't want you to take the end-result too seriously.

In places this LP kind of puts me in mind of the Durutti Column's classic Circuses and Bread (Remastered), but not even Vini Reilly, as much of an innovator as he is, would, I believe, be brave enough to have attempted something this varied.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
All good, nothing bad!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
The used CD's arrived. I was surprised to find that they were in almost pristeen condition. Not a single scratch. Very pleased to own this soundtrack which has sentimental value to me and is great for those melancholic times in one's life. Get a copy. Rob.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2009
I love the movie and if I didn't have a sentimental attachment to it, and associate the music with it in my mind, I would probably never listen to this ost by M.Jarre (ost The English Patient). It's just really not that great as music. But if you loved the movie and are a sentimental sap like me, then by all means buy it.

The most beautiful tracks on the cd are all very short. One times in at about 56 seconds! With the exception of 2 or 3 tracks, almost every song is a little over a minute in length. The entire cd is about 40 minutes long. Most soundtracks usually contain complete versions of the songs when only a portion is used on the film. In this case I found that what you hear on the film is what you get on the soundtrack. Some of the tracks sound like samplers, with a fade up then fade down.

The music is un-even, with beautiful numbers seperated by bad ones, but that is a matter of opinion. If you saw the film and heard a song you liked, beware that the soundtrack is not much longer than what you heard on film. I would give this OST 5 stars because of the beautiful music, I gave it 3 because of it's length.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Exelent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)