Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
91
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
Jimmy at his best ! Get it !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
thanks Kido
regards Shirley/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2007
There 'ain't no doubt' that Nail is best known as a fine comic and dramatic actor, but it's worth being reminded of his brief but startling career as a country-tinged pop singer.

I can remember being blown away after hearing Ain't No Doubt on the radio as a teenager. I nearly smashed the radio up in astonishment when they said the singer was Nail. He sounded really American!

But Nail went on to prove he was no one-hit-wonder. Crocodile Shoes is one of my all time favourite songs and makes me cry every time. Those poor, poor crocodiles! Nail's voice soars above the plodding session musicians and wrings your heart like a 6ft4 Geordie.

All the hits are on this album: both 'Crocodile Shoes' and 'Ain't No Doubt' are on this album.

Buy it and surprise yourself.
11 Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Jimmy Nail's best-known acting roles on the small screen are Oz Osborne in the hit BBC comedy series 'Auf Wiedersehen, Pet', and the title character in 'Spender'. However, as well as being a fine comedic and dramatic actor, this multi-talented man is also a great singer-songwriter, who enjoyed varying levels of success as a recording artist between 1985 and 2001.

'The Nail File', which was a top 10 UK hit album upon it's 1998 release, contains all of the best-known songs that Newcastle born Jimmy has to his name. The powerful, hauntingly nostalgic 'Big River' is one of my favourite songs by any artist, where Jimmy sings with great fondness about his home town, and how it was once famous for it's industry until the 1980s drew in. I have to say this one 'gets me' every time, although the song does end with a lot of hope and optimism.

All the other notable singles are on this album, most of which have a country and western flavour, especially one of Jimmy's biggest hits, the catchy weepie 'Crocodile Shoes'. There are also occasional elements of R+B thrown in, notably on 'Ain't No Doubt', which was a number one smash for three weeks in the Britain in 1992. On this rather unique song, which discusses that of a failing relationship, backing singer Sylvia Mason-James sings her lines, declaring her love, followed by Jimmy, who says the words that he believes she really means.

In terms of a 'hits' collection, 'The Nail File' does the job, and serves a neat little showcase of Nail's creditable work. If you like you're music with a country-and-western flavour, I have no hesitations in recommending a little bit of Jimmy to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2000
As a fan in the US, it's hard to find Jimmy Nail's albums; this was well worth the import. All the songs on the CD are strong, worthy of being singles, and span genres from blues, country, europop, and theater. This album was better than I expected, and I am still listening to it often six months later. Not only that, it's got a clever title, which I appreciate. Stand-out songs, to my ear, are Ain't No Doubt, Absent Friends (love Gary Moore's guitar), and Big River. If only this had come out after the film "Still Crazy," and could have included some Strange Fruit material too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Good collection of tracks from Jimmy Nail. Liked the TV shows and there's a good selection from Crocodile Shoes and individual single releases
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
Good album with a few crackers on there- aint no doubt brings back teenager years and croc shoes will stay in your brain for a long time. I like to listen to this while I paint pictures as the music is really nice and chilled out so do your self a favour and get this best of now
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Everything I need from a jimmy nail album - no discussion required! If you don't like jimmy you are not going to like this are you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)