Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
Happy Sad
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 22 August 2016
Brilliant Album and the sound of the music itself is very good but the 4 men with beards pressing i bought has quite a few marks and even some sort of glue stuck to the vinyl? which mean the first side has a lot of loud pops and even skips at one point which is a shame- and given I paid over £20 for a record in a basic paper sleeve with no download i would expect a quality vinyl - so yes great music but would recommend people stick with the CD or seek out a different pressing
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
Great purchase and great service, delivered on time just as promised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2013
A must for Tim Buckley fans! At this record Tim Buckley starts to experiment more systematically with his voice and the compositions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
Beautiful relaxing music. An American Nick Drake. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 August 2004
Just taken somewhere I didn't know existed - in words or music. Don't ask for details - this is someone dreaming and Heaven knows how he found the words, the music, the space which speaks what I wish I could speak, or have spoken within me. Dreams. Come true. Please - find it buy it, wish they were your words ... he made them
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 28 September 2010
This is Tim`s transitional album, after the delicate, blue-eyed gaucheries of his bright debut, and the self-conscious angularities of most of its follow-up. Happy/Sad is a perfect six-song expression of one man`s artistic yearnings, presaging so much of what was to follow.
Strange Feelin` is famously based around a riff by Miles Davis (Tim always paid attention to jazz) and has a likeably rolling tempo, with a momentum all its own. A haunting, beautiful song.
Buzzin` Fly is as addictively catchy as its title might imply, with a descending three-chord guitar figure just before the chorus - "that`s how I know I`ve found a home" - that is one of Tim`s happiest creations.
Love From Room 109...the sleepiest, most languid song ever by anyone? Here, as on all the songs - indeed almost everything he recorded - the voice (or perhaps it should be The Voice!) is pitch-perfect, evocative, gorgeous.
All I can say is that `Side Two` is equally marvellous, with Tim making with the frenetics on Gypsy Woman, giving us a taste of things to come...
Although it`s not my absolute favourite of Tim`s albums (see all my reviews if you like to find out which one is) it is perhaps the most flawless, with no weaker track, no lapse of taste.
A word about Tim`s musicians. Lee Underwood is rarely mentioned these days, but his guitar work on several Buckley records is a model of tact, invention and always a complement to the songs. A great musician. Jazzman David Friedman`s vibes and marimba speckle Tim`s melodies with atmosphere, giving the songs a texture found in few other singers` work. It`s obvious Tim gave a lot of thought to texture and mood, while giving his lucky musicians songs of beauty and substance to get their chops around.
Sometimes Tim`s music sounds like heaven.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2001
This is my first encounter with Tim Buckleys music. I had heard of him before, but was only vaguely aware of who he was and no idea what he sounded like. Id heard him mentioned in the same sentance as Nick Drake though, which was good enough for me! Well, I can tell you now that its not another Nick Drake, but I wasnt honestly expecting that. The album opens with the lyrics "Ive got a strange strange feeling", and I can tell you that the lyrics perfectly match the music in this instance. This music could be described as Jazz tinged acoustic guitar music, but its hard to define because Buckleys method of getting from A to B seems to be very different from your average songwriter, like hes approaching from different angles. He also has quite extraordinary voice with a great range. Of the songs, "Room 109" is gorgeous,with compelling lyrics, and at times sounds like a kind of "out there" Radiohead - more than 30 years earlier. "Gypsy Woman" takes its time getting going, but once it does you realise its something special. I have a feeling this CD will be a "grower".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2003
It took me a while to get to grips with this, as it did for me to get to grips with Tim Buckley at all, and there are a whole host of reasons for this. Perhaps the fact that I was more aware of his son prior to being aware of him, perhaps it was too jazzy for my tastes at the first fence. The comparison has been made by other reviewers, maybe because it is an easy comparison to make, to Van Morrison's "Astral Weeks". Praise doesn't come much higher and in this instance it is truly deserved. It is not particularly similar in style, tempo or theme (though arguments can be made for all three) but in the sense that both are emotional travelogues, spiritual journeys that rise and lilt in equal measure.The jazz repetition of "Strange Feeling" is a perfect introduction to the album, superficially relaxed with undercurrents of tension. From there the journey really begins through the romantic and (relatively) simple "Buzzin' Fly" via the epic and meaningful "Love From Room 109 At The Islander", the intense jazz exploration of "Gypsy Woman" eventually to the sweet end of "Sing A Song For You".They don't make albums like this any more that's for certain - it is of its time yet it is absolutely timeless. Truly incredible, any collection is bereft without it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
is good to have some music of the father of Jef Buckley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2017
Great album from Tim.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)