Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
Soul Cages
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 September 2015
A more difficult set for beginners but bears repeated listening. The song about his father 'Why should I cry for you' is particularly poignant. Love the opener for its compound time and soaring melodies as well as the theme which is carried through to the title track. One of his deeper ouevres
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2017
This is a sting album I missed at the time, so I bought it recently, I wasn't fond of it when it was released, it is a good album but one of his weaker ones, only my opinion well regarded by lots of people, worth buying for the end of the game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2014
Melancholy but utterly riveting album, whose tunes haunt you for a long time afterwards. Much prefer my Sting and Police songs dark and brooding; this ticks all those boxes and more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2017
love it,quick service,good quality.thank You sm
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2017
Great items and loyal seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2017
Very happy thanks terry.😁
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2018
what an album its one to listen to time and time again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 September 2015
Tagged by many as his least commercial, most depressing album, and also the one least likely to cause crowd sing-alongs on concerts, it is for me on of the high points of Sting's creative career. Varied, contemplative, musically and lyrically perfect, and in my mind his one album with not a single low point. It is such a joy to listen to that I have never found it depressing.

As a poet myself, I find much delight in the depth of imagery and meaning inherent in the lyrics, and also from the fact that they are better written on this album than on any of his others. The lyrics meditate on subjects of a much more personal nature than in both his earlier and later work, extensively using Sting's romanticised imagery from his childhood in Newcastle, when he lived close to the shipyard and kept dreaming of the sea.

Musically, this is a feast for the ears, in particular "the Wild Wild Sea," the melody of which flows like waves, several lines ending in a subtly emphasised s-sound to mimic the calm ocean's constant whisper, and then the melody gradually building up towards a storm along with the lyrics.

"Jeremiah Blues part 1" with its jazziness and wonderfully enigmatic lyrics, the neo-classical guitar duet instrumental "St. Agnes and the Burning Train," the upbeat "Soul Cages," the Northumbrian pipes (similar to Uillean pipes) marking the intro of the album, and the low-key ending with the soothing "When the Angels Fall" - it all adds enormous variety to this album while there remains an underlying feel of continuity and connection between the pieces.

"All this Time" and "Mad about you" make the most easily accessible songs here, and the ones that most immediately catch one's attention, but this is an album to be listened to over and over to catch every nuance of sound and lyrics and let the music grow on you.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2017
Quite simpy this is the best album Sting has released. It's beauty reviels itself over time and as a whole it holds together so well. The weakest track is possibly the single "All This Time" and the standout track is possibly the instrumental. It's a shame he didn't go on to release other albums as good as this. I think the closest he gets is the "Last Ship".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2011
This is a very moving album, written by Sting shortly after is parents died within a few short months of each other, it deals with death and grief so is quite dark and haunting. His lyrics are full of description you nearly feel you are standing on the dock like Billy in Island of souls watching the massive vessel slide down the ramp off to discover the world while he is destined to work the shipyards like his father before him. Very moving songs and a wonderful album even 20 years on.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse