Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2001
This is simply a masterpiece. Crop circle sets an extremely high standard as opener, and not a single track fails to meet that standard. I cannot really classify the style of this album as anything other than biker-dope-rock. The riffs are excellent throughout and combined with the superb production they make an atmosphere that no other album can. The lyrics are worth listening to as well, always bizarre and sometimes profound. It is a diverse album with the heavier songs like Powertrip, the more melodic and insightful ballads Baby Gotterdamerung and Your Lies Become You, the sinister, atmospheric and entirely instrumental Goliath and the Vampires, the plain doped out rock that makes you want to shout "Get down!" like Bummer and See You in Hell and the songs which just plain rule. Defintely Monster Magnet's best album, i can't believe they aren't more well known in the UK when they are producing music of this standard. A must buy, if you like anything from the world of rock.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
God damn, I love this band. Quite frankly, Monster Magnet should have been much bigger than they are. I have no idea why, that after the original release of this album, they didn't continue to grow as they had done. They got to the heights of headlining London Astoria sized venues (2000+), but couldn't quite make it to the next tier, such as Brixton Academy or Hammersmith Odeon (3,500+), etc.

Still, not that I could care less how many people are turning out to see them these days, cos I know I'll always been there to hear quality music such as this pumped out of a PA at high volume.

Containing the 'hit singles' Powertrip and Space Lord, plus quality deeper cuts such as Bummer and See You In Hell, this album is an all-round heavy rock classic.

Now known for being one of the leaders in the so-called Stoner Rock scene, Monster Magnet had been delivering huge slabs of psychedelic garage rock for many years before the release of this album. Touring with the likes of Soundgarden and White Zombie, and all the other bands that didn't seem to fit in with the usual heavy rock or metal offerings of the day.

With the creative mind of Dave Wyndorf at the helm, and a solid band including the stunning guitar player Ed Mundell, Monster Magnet never stood still. Each release delivered something new. Something extra. And on this release they delivered a bunch of tunes that baited the main-stream hard rock and metal crowd.

Their videos got regular rotation on MTV, and they landed a UK support slot with Rob Zombie (what a line-up that was!), but I just think that the record company didn't know what to do with them, because they couldn't be easily classified.

I bought the original when it was released, but now I get to grab myself a new 2CD version, which includes a rather superb cover of Kick Out The Jams (among other b-sides), and a run of live tracks. The liner notes are a nice bonus.

If you ever considered buying this or any other Monster Magnet album, but for some reason never got around to it, just do yourself a favour and treat yourself to this. You'll not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2004
Whilst many other stoner albums (including some of Monster Magnet's back catalogue) often seem repetitive, self-indulgent and somewhat uninspired, Powertrip sees the standard reset. Whilst sticking firmly to their rock/sci-fi/stoner roots, Dave Wyndorf and co have created a highly original album that is immediately accessible to fans of many styles of music, the main reason being that Dave knows how to write a good song. Whether it's a drug-fuelled epic (Bummer), a total out-and-out barnburner (Powertrip) or contemplative soulful number (Baby Gottedamerung), I can guarantee you will be humming the tune for weeks to come. The sheer originality of this album had me listening to it time and time again, and I normally bore easily.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2007
In a decade better remembered for the rise and fall of grunge and the birth of nu-metal, this gigantic slab of unapologetically overblown sleaze-rock stuck out like a leather cod-piece amongst all the plaid-shirted relics and sportswear-clad jocks of the time. The New Jersey group's fourth album proper, Powertrip was a veritable feast of crotch-thrusting anthems and tongue-in-cheek egomania that finally propelled the band into the big league, leading to high profile support slots with Marilyn Manson and Aerosmith - as well as an incendiary performance at the Big Day Out in 1999.

Up until this point, Monster Magnet had been the archetypal stoner rock band, famed as much for spiking their audiences with hallucinogenic drugs as their addictive blend of Sabbath-esque riffs and 60s psychedelia. But following a series of fairly low key releases, Dave Wyndorf - frontman, Space Lord and self-styled `Bullgod' - decided to relocate to Las Vegas, where he penned the entire record. Previous effort, 1995's Dopes to Infinity, had spawned the ultra-catchy, Beavis and Butthead-endorsed hit, 'Negasonic Teenage Warhead', but this one really had it all. Colossal riffs, song-writing suss -- and a lyrical content that pointed to the fact that Wyndorf was not only someone who walked it like he talked it, but genuinely believed in rock `n' roll as the saviour of mankind. "I'm never gonna work another day in my life" he roared on the title track, seemingly without a trace of irony. On the album's opener, meanwhile, he demanded that listeners "Come to me, I'm your living crop circle, yeah!"

Musically, Powertrip marked a significant departure from the lo-fi stoner metal fare of earlier albums, taking the band in a far more commercially viable direction. While the band's trademark groove remained very much in tact, guitarist Ed Mundell's savage riffing was now coupled with some hugely danceable beats, and the whole thing was treated to a slick production job courtesy of Matt Hyde. Even the less bombastic tracks, the introspective 'Baby Gotterdammerung' and prescient closer, 'Your Lies Become You', sounded totally convincing and Powertrip was hailed by many as a modern masterpiece upon its original release in 1998.

Unfortunately, with their follow-up, 2000's God Says No, and 2004's largely forgettable Monolithic Baby! Monster Magnet failed to secure the universal acclaim Powertrip looked to set to bring them. But as far as big, bold, unreconstructed rawk music goes, any band would be hard pushed to top this, and as such it surely deserves a place in every rock fan's record collection.

Matt Pucci
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are a few things which seem to define every Monster Magnet album; At least a touch (or more) of Psychedelia, lots of guitar effects, vocal and lyrical attitude and humour from frontman Dave Wyndorf and of course, big rocking riffs.

Every Monster Magnet album features these key ingredients in some combination, be they heavily Physcedelic early albums with a few big riffs, or their newer hard rock albums with a bit of Psychedelia in the mix.

The band's biggest and most commercially successful album Powertrip is therefor a Monster Magnet album in every way, only this time however it just oozes with an indefinable x-factor that makes the music instantly classic.

Powertrip was Monster Magnet's fourth full-length Studio Album, which was conceived after Dave Wyndorf relocated to Las Vegas and wrote a full album of tracks designed to make a bigger commercial dent in 1998, it featured the hit tracks `Space Lord,' `See You In Hell' and `Powertrip.'

Tracks like the aforementioned `Powertrip,' as well as `Tractor,' and the furiously catchy `Bummer,' are some of the most memorable and instantly loveable tracks in the band's history, they just so three-dimensional and jump out of the speakers.

The lyrics, as always with Monster Magnet are a mixture of really intelligent and intriguing ideas, with humour, metaphor and cocky rock and roll ego. Dave's diverse vocal range helps convey a whole host of moods, emotions and flavours really well.

Additionally, there is a large amount of variety on the album; from normal Stoner Rock numbers, to Surf Music influences, eastern scales, slow grooves, fast rock numbers, keyboards, bongos, shakers and even a haunting semi-electronic ballad. The album features all the bells and whistles, with an everything but-the-kitchen-sink approach, yet instead of feeling confused and overproduced, it all works perfectly together.

Overall, Monster Magnet have covered a lot of territory over the years, but if you are thinking about getting into the band for the first time, then this is the album that'll settle with you the most right away. It is a very diverse and interesting album that covers a lot of ground and should acclimatize you to the band's vocal and lyrical styles. If you like it then you can start getting into the bands other brilliant, but less `instant' albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
Released in 2001, this is a timeless piece of Rock that stands the test of time! People who get to hear them keep asking me who they are. Having heard one of their most famous songs myself, namely, 'Space Lord' (off this CD), and having, most definitely been blown away by that, I looked them up. With Amazon's preview listening facility I liked what I heard enough to buy the whole CD. I wasn't disappointed. If you're into Rock from Black Sabbath and beyond, you owe it to yourself to have this as part of your collection.

From the forceful opener of Crop Circle, this is a lesson in ROCK of the heavier kind. The next song 'Powertrip' reeks of attitude and has humourous lyrics without being meaningless. This is a common theme for Monster Magnet songs anyway, the sort of glint in your eye humour while making a relevant point. "I'm never gonna work another day in my life...God's told me to relax...and said I'm gonna be fixed up right." 'Space Lord' is another prime example with the words..."when I don't get my bath I take it out on the slaves...so grease up your baby for a ball on the hill...". Perhaps not everyone's cup of tea, but definitely humorous.

I also love the mellow mix of acoustics before the electrics and all the rest come in like fireworks exploding overhead. This is indeed 12 songs made of the most powerful witches' brew. Speaking of which, there's even a song called '19 witches' and I'm sure they had something to do with the creation of these songs ;-) The 19 witches song has an amazing surf-rock feel on account of the reverb drenched guitar sound and playing style (mixed with other guitar sounds) but still with Monster Magnet's impeccable flavour. They end with a calm 'Your lies become you' which is about the only calm song on this CD. It is really good however, with a feeling that is hard to describe, but melancholy and searching would be two words that come to mind. It really illustrates that this band can do more than rock your socks off but the main recipe on this record is diesel fuelled rock to drive that truck down the road with relentless aim. But yes, they end with this calm song which is like a beautiful sunset to a great hectic day.

Monster Magnet may be described as a one trick pony by some (unfairly I would say and completely missing the point) but what they do, they do just about better than anyone else. The bottomline is, this is a quality record with QUALITY SONGS and at the end of the day, that's all that really matters. If it grips you, it'll take you on a whirlwind ride and you'll be smiling wide while trying to hold on...not unlike your favourite fair ride but much, MUCH more dangerous and speedy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2000
It's a VERY, VERY rare thing that you hear an album which, on first listen blows your mind and gets better every time. Powertrip is one such album. Opening with the chugging "Crop Circle", the band (led by the mercurial Dave Wyndorf) unleash what has to be one of the greatest records....EVER. Songs of psychadelic energy "Space Lord", insane grooves "Bummer" and serious rock'n'roll FUN! (The Rest), "Powertrip" kicks you in the head and makes love to your soul-At The Same Time. Yeah, some say Magnet are Stoner, but this albums got WAAAY too much energy! Seriously psychadelic, sounding like every great band of the last 30 years whilst, crucially sounding like no-one else at all.Full of extra-heavy (In an old school way!) guitar and laced with lashings of groove, This album has been an essential part of my life for the last 2 and a half years. Make it part of yours.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2001
This wasn't Kerrang album of the year 1998 for nothing. There is no other way to describe this other than heavy. Don't be put off by that though 'cos its musical as well. This isn't anything like that nu-metal stuff. Its very old school and reminisent of Black Sabbath. I've got most of their albums (Monster Magnet) and I reckon this is the best.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2004
You are only likely to buy any Monster Magnet album if you have already heard their music, but what a waste. This album truly represents theirstyle of pure rock. In my opinion, they are the Led Zep of today, andthey rule.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2000
Monster Magnet's 1998 release Power Trip clearly heralds the arrival of a more produced and polished sound. Nevertheless, the leather-clad crew stay true to their roots, maintaining as they do the hard rock backdrop coated with psychedelic sprinklings and spaced jams borrowed from the likes of classic 70s space rockers Hawkwind. This is also the biggest commercial success for Dave Wyndorf and the boys to date, selling well over 2 million copies world wide. I must say after many years of good records and touring, Monster Magnet (name taken from a Frank Zappa track entitled Son of Monster Magnet ) deserve the success they are now enjoying along with a fantastic wave of other so called "Stoner Rock" bands such as Fu Manchu and Queens of the Stone Age and large amount of hype surrounding the Genre.
Ian
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£12.24

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)