Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
4.7 out of 5 stars
Earthshaker
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 21 August 2017
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2004
This is the best album Y&T have ever released, which is unfortunate for them seeing as they have released about thirteen more since this, their debut album. It contains the two greatest songs ever written and played by Dave Meniketti and his boys - Rescue Me and I Believe In You. But it ain't all soulful, melodic ballads. There are also some fantastically heavy rockers, particularly Hurricane and Shake It Loose.
I suggested to Dave Meniketti on his website recently that he persuades A&M to re-release Rescue Me in the UK, with Forever from Black Tiger as the B-side, and he said that it would be good if he could. Particularly as a new Y&T album has just been released, and they are due to return to these shores in April 2004.
If you can get your hands on this album do so. If you can't, get the compilation album (Best of 81 to 85). But get one of them. And listen to Rescue Me. And revel in a fantastic tune, fantastic lyrics, fantasic song.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2005
Puchased this CD to 'replace' the aging vinyl album that I had. The sound quality of the CD is poor. It sounds as if it has been taken from an old casette tape and not from a master.
There is a lot of hiss which is a problem on some of the quieter numbers.
This is one of the best Y & T recordings and it really needs to be issued in a remaster to do it justice.
The 4 stars in the review is for the quality of the songs but it only gets 2 stars for the sound quality.
Would not recommend paying the 'import' price for this CD as I made a copy directly from my old vinyl album and it sounded just as good.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2002
I saw Y&T, first back in 1982 supporting AC/DC on their "Cannon and Bell" tour. These guys just blew AC/DC off stage. If you're the kind of person who thinks Angus' shorts are more entertaining than Dave Meniketti's guitar playing and superb song-writing, then this album is not for you. If not, listen to the superb balladic "Rescue Me" and "I Believe in You" or the full-on rockers "Shake it Loose" and "Hurricane".
If you want an extraordinarily good album that no-one else has BUY IT!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2003
A high octane rock release that should have slingshot these Bay City, San Francisco natives into the big time. The pace is relentless without ever sounding thrashy or trashy, broken only at the end of each side to incorporate a ballad of sorts. Meniketti's guitar style, though exceptionally fast paced, drips with melody and invention. Leonard Haze proves himself to be a dervish of focused energy behind his drum kit. No wonder many drummers from lesser metal acts, albeit more commercially successful, refer to him as a major influence. To be honest, it really is quite impossible to put into words how good this album is. To compare it to anything else would be to instantly denigrate it. The fact that it is becoming nigh impossible to get hold of a copy of this 1981 offering is pretty appalling. A&M should re-release it, promote it and get it into the current album chart forthwith. Shake 'Em Loose!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2005
Japanese audio recordings are highly prized and recognised as among the best in the world - hence they command significantly higher prices than their western counterparts. Sadly the apparent exception to this rule is the CD recording of Y & T's finest hour "Earthshaker". As with the previous reviewer i purchased this CD to replace my well - worn and much loved vinyl copy with the expectation of having a top quality recording at my disposal. Disappointingly the sound comes across as a well-played cassette tape (without Dolby) might and does not come anywhere near to what CD audio is about. Fortunately i did not pay anything near the recommended cd import price for the disc but had the sound quality been as it should i would have been more than happy to do so.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
If you are a serious fan of metal you should not be without this complete masterpiece of metal by the mighty Y & T. While some of their peers achieved commercial success, Y&T somehow missed the boat but remain to this day one of the all time great heavy metal acts. Earthshaker does what it says on the box, it shakes you big style!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2008
Another cd that any serious guitar player should buy just for the tracks Hurricane or Squeeze though the whole record is really good. If you need to expand your horizons listen to this cd and hear what came out of the Bay Area of San Francisco in the early 80,s. Saw them live a few times and was blown away with the skill of Dave Meniketti the lead guitar and lead vocals. Aspiring rock guitarists buy and learn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2009
Earthshaker Y & T

For those of you who are unsure Y & T is short for yesterday and today, who are a San Francisco based heavy rock who formed in the mid-seventies.

Earthshaker is probably their most famous album and the one that broke them to international recognition. It contains nine blistering tracks from the opener Hungry for rock to the album's ballad(if you could call it that!)I believe in you. Check out the track Squeeze me in which bassist Phil Kennemore takes over vocal duties from regular singer Dave Meniketti and Hurricane, which is simply riotious.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2008
One of the all-time great hard rock albums, its incendiary tracks form the backbone to this day of Y & T's live set. Fantastic it's been re-released.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)