Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13

on 30 January 2018
Love the Wildhearts, great be able to get the first recordings on CD, amazing songs :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2017
Stunning cd and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2014
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
What more can i say? Excellent. As all wildhearts songs are!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
Fast delivery good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2004
And so we have The Wildhearts as they once were. A bunch of pop-glam-metal rockes who exploded on the music scene with punch ups, drug feuds, sacking of band memebers, being thrown off of tours and above all SUPERB music. This release is their first two E.Ps stuck together.
The first four songs are from the "Mondo Akimbo Ago-go" release, but are given a "Anti-Dance Mix" because the quality of the recording was so bad first time round. This mix is essential because the songs can be enjoyed without having to strain your ears.
"Turning American" is simply a feriocious opener, with Ginger screaming, spitting bile and thumping riffs out of his guitar as if his life depended on it. "Crying Over Nothing" keeps up the pace with the same power but drips in melody so fine you be bopping down the street humming riffs to yourself before you know it. "Nothing Ever Changes..." is what the Wildhearts do best, a perfect mix of pop sensibilty hammered home with rock riffs. Classic. Then "Liberty Cap" goes all heavy and shouty, it's fun, it's metallic, it's great to bang your head to, but it's the weakest of the four.
Then the second E.P's songs. "Don't Be Happy...Just Worry". This time round the melody reigns supreme and the guitar becomes more twiddly as opposed to solid riffage. "Splattermania" is Ginger's homage to gorey b-movies, his "TV screen is dripping red, with the gates of hell and evil dead". "Something Weird..." is one of the most sing along songs going, until "Weekend" which somehow tops it, with lyrics of suffering all week until the weekend hits and joy returns. Finally "Dreaming In A" is a bit of a campfire strummer. I think it sounds alot better acoustically, and i would call it the weakest song on the whole collection, but the thing is...it's still good.
So there you are, the roots, the origins, the foundations of the Wildhearts were laid......then came pitta bread, trashing Kerrang! offices and the seminal debut that was "Earth Vs The Wildhearts".....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2006
Well it all started for me here. First i started with this then everything else very soon after and you may as well too. If your reading this then chances are you've never heard of the wildhearts. Shame on you. But chin up chaps and chapesses coz this is your chance to redeem yourself and be introduced to the finest rock band in england, nay the world !!! Ginger's lyrics and ear for a hook are second to none. Every song here is genius and then from albums onwards it just gets better and better. Personal 'hearts faves of mine are I wanna go where the people go (P.H.U.Q.) which got played at my wedding, no-one noticed the naughty word either (bonus :-)ha ha)someone that won't let me go (wildhearts must be destroyed) and nita nitro (P.H.U.Q.)& return to zero (coupled with). To be honest (and to save me writing lots) you could just look at the track listing for every album. They always turn a frown upside down and it's always a pleasure (and never a chore) to see a new release from them when they turn up. There's a new live album just released and a possibilty that they'll be back in the studio before the years out. Lastly u must also realise there's lots of other ginger (lead singer, lyricist, GOD LIKE GENIUS) stuff out there either solo or side project (clam abuse, silver ginger 5, supers*!t 666) of these the best are Ginger's Valor del corazon and Silverginger 5's Black leather mojo. Phew that's all from me, i hope you do take this journey and collect em all, it'll give u such a rush to have a complete wildhearts collection on ur shelf. ENJOY !!!

p.s. If you've seen bad reviews of endless nameless don't worry, if you think of wildhearts mixed with a bit of ministry/nine inch nails before you start listening to it ull do fine.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2005
Well O.K, if you wanna split hairs, it's a mini album, not like any other. No sir, this here is possibly in my opinion, the best slab of the wildhearts ever documented in the medium of audio entertainment!
When I first heard it, I was 12 years old, back in the summer time of 1993. It was the only record that made my pulse race and jump up and down like a cat on a hot tin roof. The opening riff to 'Turning American' is one not to be reckoned with and the sheer riffage behind the monster 'Crying over nothing' to this day makes me believe that Ginger and the boys were the second coming!
The sheer excitement of this CD being something new still lasts with me to this day and its 13 years old!!!
Do yourselves a favour dudes, pick up a copy, trust me it will open your eyes and make you realise just how cool and precious this band really are!
By the way, did I mention that this album made me pick up the guitar meself and form various bands? Its all thanks to these guys! Enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2001
There are some bands you can count on to release a new CD that is just as good as the others they have done. The Wildhearts are such a band. This CD contains some great songs and some great guitar. If you like loud rock this is your CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2003
You cant fail to have this album in your wildhearts collection. One rift after another not one song is average or just ok every track is brilliant. This mini album is must for any wildhearts fan or just someone who wants to know what there all about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)