Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2017
very poor donot like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2003
Most of the music on this CD is excellent, but a lot of it isn't what I'd call Motown. With the title "No.1 Motown Album", Universal had a chance to compile an excellent Album, if only they'd tried a little harder. Literally half the songs feature either Marvin Gaye, Lionel Richie, Diana Ross or Michael Jackson (with or without their respective bands). How creative! And why are there 5 average songs from the 1990's instead of more 60's gems?
What's more, the digital remastering is absolutely awful. The songs don't sound crisp, the vocals are too distant and the bass is too loud and muffled.
The lack of effort that was put into the artwork sums the album up.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2003
If you have any clue about music then this is the c-d 4 u. Just look at the track listing! If the three generations of my household fight over it, then surely theres a good vibe in the c-d. Top tune, top order, top musicians, top everything, TOP ALBUM!!!!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2000
I just can't stop listening to this compilation. Motown relaxes anyone, any time, anywhere, and this collection is the perfect example. It doesn,t matter what music you like, you cannot deny the genius of The Commodores or the fact that Gladys Knight has just put sex on a plastic disc.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2000
Uncomplicated, mood-lifting, sing-along motown classics. A spin of this CD will never fail to get your face smiling and feet tapping. For dance or romance give this a chance!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
One of the main events of a Motown hit is the production, this collection manages to bypass that in favour of the beat. It brushes aside those hours of delicate studio work for drums and stifled vocals. Spend hours trying to puzzle the music back into it on an equaliser or buy an old Chartbuster version. Two stars as they kept the original songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2012
If you like music you must like Motown! All the great names here singing your old favorites and some less well known. What can I say other than proper music sung by experts for our pleasure!! Just go buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2009
This is a review for soul + r&b fans, who want an excellent buy - this double CD will definately do the job! All of the compilation reminded me of what happiness can be made from. The digital remastering is excellent, and brings back the great sounds that Motown Records were achieving when they originally released the songs between the 1960s and 1990s. Don't forget that Motown Records was releasing new singles and albums as regular as clockwork. Being possitive about gems like "Being With You" by Smokey Robinson, "Easy" by Commodores and "Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing" by Marvin Gaye with Tammi Terrell are fine examples of what Motown expected from their largely black performers. Purchasing this double CD would definately be a recommended suggestion, especially if you want to try out a type of soul that makes you think "where can I get more from?". You'll be very pleased if you do get it!! It was a re-introduction into music that I was originally unsure about. Hunt around if you want to hear more about Motown Records, and their glorious past - because their future looks bright and rosy to me!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
I am extremely pleased with all the products purchased and I would recommend Amazon as the place to make great purchases
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
As promised in the promotional material; this is a good-quality album of Motown greats, across a good range of artists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)