Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
70
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2010
The CD was delivered this morning and I put it on immediately. What a great album! I bought it on vinyl when it originally came out in '76 but haven't heard it in many years. There just isn't a bad track on it. It's a great blend of strong melody, heavy-ish rock guitar and superb vocals from Phil Lynott; what a cool guy and sadly missed! Lynott wrote all the songs, with the help of other band members, and he did a great job. If you like `The Boys are back in Town' and have wondered whether or not to get the album; do it. You'll love it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
Great album. Super quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Very Good!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
What a album, reliving my youth when I had this album on a daily basis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Amazing! thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Great album, great Band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
brilliant good value for your money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 August 2017
Sandwiched between Ziggy-era glam-rock and Complete Control-era punk, Thin Lizzy’s 1976 masterpiece, in effect, defined 70s rock for me. I find it interesting that Lizzy are often categorised as 'heavy’ or 'hard’ rock, since this album reveals multifarious influences, not least blues and straight pop, all encapsulated in what is a series of stunning (and timeless) songs, showcasing the band's and, in particular, Phil Lynott’s compositional ear for a catchy hook and/or melody. The tightness and all-round energy and exuberance of the band is both palpable and unmistakeable, as, of course, is the twin guitar attack of Brian Robertson and Scott Gorham. One of the defining qualities of Robertson and Gorham’s playing here is that their solos are perfectly judged time-wise – they never overstay their welcome, converting otherwise great songs (and potential no. 1 singles) like Running Back and Romeo And The Lonely Girl into out-and-out masterpieces.

Make no mistake, there is not a duff song here, but, if pushed, I would probably opt for Cowboy Song as the album’s pièce de résistance. I remember reading once somewhere (the NME Encyclopedia of Rock?) that Van Morrison’s song Into The Mystic could be regarded (perhaps hyperbolically) as 'the finest constructed in the history of rock music’. Well, along with (personal favourite) Springsteen’s Jungleland, I would put Cowboy Song in a similar ballpark – it’s that good. And, I would suggest, Lynott’s soul-infused romanticism, which is so much in evidence on Jailbreak, also stands comparison to that exuded by the two aforementioned greats.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Great Music, especially Emerald, probably one of the best rock guitar tracks ever along with All Along The Watchtower by Hendrix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)