Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
35
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2008
This album is one of my favourite albums ever although quite unlike the Supertramp most people know. The band is different for a start but if you like early King Crimson, yes, etc then this is for you. There's a review here stating the songs aren't that good which is nonsense-they are just different from the later stuff. Songs like Try Again, Nothing To Show and Maybe I'm A Beggar are fanatastic with great lead guitar playing. This rockier stuff is interspersed by soft melancholic songs like Aubade and Surely wihich are great. Can't really compare this to other Supertramp albums which i like also, as it is so different but its a shame we didn't hear more of this stuff-if you want more Breakfast In America etc it may not be for you but if you like proper playing in a hippyish rock way then buy it buy it buy it.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
The name on the cover says Supertramp. And Supertramp it is.
Same band. Same musicians. But not the same music at all.
This is prog rock in its purest form, right between Peter Gabriel's Genesis and King Crimson.
Even better (I challenge anyone to name 5 prog rock albums that surpass this one).
Of course, later fans of Supertramp don't like it (since it is not Supertramp music).
Of course, prog rock enthusiasts don't know about it (since it is written Supertramp on the cover).
It is nevertheless a true masterpiece.
Give an ear to "Try Again" if you're still unconvinced.
44 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Supertramp's debut album is an interesting collection and on tracks such as 'Aubade', 'Words Unspoken' and 'Shadow Song' it is apparent that the band was already able to compose attractive songs. The rockier excursions, particularly 'It's A Lazy Road' and 'Maybe I'm A Beggar', are pretty impressive as well; in fact, the only track that doesn't totally succeed for me is the adventurous 12 minute epic 'Try Again', which contains an excellent guitar solo but falls down with a fiddly King Crimson style interlude which, on reflection, should have been edited out. Slicker production such as that provided by Ken Scott on 1974's 'Crime of the Century' would also have helped this recording but, even so, this is an enjoyable LP.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
That wouldn't be fair. I'm not a huge fan of Supertramp but I love this album. "Try again" is, for me, the high point of their career. The sound quality is a little raw but it is very well recorded as you'd expect from A&M. This isn't Supertramp as we usually think of the group. There's no twin piano sound, no brass instruments at all and Davies didn't do any of the lead vocals. It's earnest rather than smug.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 September 2014
When reviewing albums of a particular band/artist I always like to start at the beginning and work forwards in time in an attempt to see how progression came about. This is often a difficult process and Supertramp are a good example of just why.

Much of their later material is very well known and so trying to forget what is to come is quite difficult. There is certainly something about this album, although in the main it is probably forgettable as the songwriting skills of Roger Hodgson and Rick Davis are by no means fully formed. In fact it just doesn't sound like a Supertramp album. I have a sneaking regard for "Words Unspoken" but in the main it's almost as if this is an experimental album with plenty of extraneous waffle included as shown in the last three minutes of "Maybe I'm a Begger". Weighing in at over 12 minutes "Try Again" is the first of the bands magnum opus' This is a strange piece of music, opening with a medieval style meandering which gives way to some almost throaty vocals. Unlike Fools' Overture which was to come later, this lengthy piece is not really together - too many almost experimental passages sewn together to give it almost a jamming sound where those taking part probably enjoyed it more than those of us listening. And in many ways that sums up the whole feel of the album.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Also I became classics of this genre. The beautiful Own style, didn't disregard fans, but the first album isn't similar to the subsequent masterpieces. In it for the present there is no recognizable figure. And nevertheless this album is good. In it musicians put a lot of heart and soul. It costs independently, it is melodious and beautiful. And of course will decorate your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2008
HI there, I 'm not much of a fan for mid-late 70's/ 80's stuff which supertramp did, but a friend of mine showed this album to me about a month ago, and I love it! There are some tracks which I do not like, as its moving towards that later supertramp style, but in their early days they focused more on improvisation.
I'd suggest this for anyone who likes the long jam sections in alot of 60's/ early 70's stuff, this has several tracks that are mindblowing! 'It's a long road' is probably the best track, rapid bass playing, and I think its Roger Hodgson playing Hammond B3 in one hand and Fender Rhodes in the other, nice :-)
'Maybe I'm a beggar' is pretty good, nice verging on prog rock stuff....
'Nothing to show' is also excellent, and also 'Try again', an epic 12 minute beast, very cool.
I rated this only four stars because I don't like all the tracks on the album, some are not that great. I wish Supertramp did more stuff like this, definately their best stuff in a person who prefers 60's music opinion!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
I heard a dj on a commercial station once say that Breakfast In America was Supertramp's first album. Well goes to show how much he knew. This was Supertramp's very first album and it sounds as good today as it did when I first bought it on vinyl back in the 70's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2007
I had to write this review as I bought this album in 1970 when it came out and greatly disagree with one of the reviewers here!

SUPERTRAMP is a classic album of the period: diverse, melodic, haunting, rocky and reflective. One of the best albums of the time. In my opinion, Supertramp went down market and downhill (and sadly commercial) from this time and never again reached the sincerity of this period. This is the only Supertramp album I've bought; having heard the others I left them on the shelves.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 January 2009
If you don't like Supertramp, what you probably dislike most is that faint whiff of smugness. That and providing Coldplay with a large slice of their sound and look. Me, I like Supertramp well enough to forgive them both of these sins, at least for their better work.

But if it bugs you, I can reassure you that in this earliest incarnation, their emotive, sensitive approach is untarnished by arrogance, although their penchant for truly awful album covers was already well established.

The sound is a less-sophisticated blues rock driven by a strong organ sound that places it squarely in its early 70s era. Their lyrical approach is one of wounded sensitivity, sometimes scarcely breathed over a plaintive organ dirge. Sounds bad? Believe it or not it actually works most of the time, especially on the minimalist 'Maybe I'm A Beggar'. Of their more famous work, Even In The Quietest Moments probably harks back most to this heritage.

There is some effective blues-rock too, which works particularly well on the groovy shuffle of 'It's A Long Road' and will be enjoyed by fans of rocking 70s organ as played by Jon Lord,Vince Crane or Camel. But Supertramp were never really a progressive rock band, and don't expect any of that here either.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)