Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
76
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2017
Great product thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
What more can I say? Terrific!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Very good qualities
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
Great idea, put together all the Roses A-sides and B-sides you can't get on the first album. I had all their 12 inch singles so had all these tracks on vinyl and couldn't wait to have them in one cd package.

That's where the great idea stopped.

This album was put together by a wally in an office with a tash, a Liverpool shirt and a male member tattooed on his forehead. Conspiracy? Has to be. Why else would someone do this?

There were some great alternative versions of I Am The Resurrection released on 12 inch, but to release a version cut short of the amazing play out is blasphemy! Why bother? What's the point? What's the meaning of life?

I haven't given this 1 out of 5 just because it has some great B-sides on it (proving what a superb band they were) and if you're new to the Roses it will impress you but this could have been done so, so, so much better.

Will someone at Silvertone please contact me so a quality 'Complete' can be issued.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2003
The Roses were a great band and this compilation attempts to collect some of their singles on one album. It goes from their gothy roots in "so Young" through to "One Love". However compilation this ends up being just another in a long line of cash in's by Silvertone records. We get a lot of shorter and vastly inferior versions of the great songs. I wanna be Adored is chopped. Waterfall is cut. Fools Gold fades out early. One Love kind of disappears halfway through.
The Roses were a great band and these songs are amazing, but you'd be much better off getting either "Turns into Stone" or the more recent "the Best of". This isn't a bad compilation by any means, it's just that there are far better Roses compilations available.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2000
This was the first Stone Roses CD I bought. At the time I had borrowed Turns Into Stone off my friend, and I thought that this would be the perfect album, because it contained all the songs off Turns Into Stone except Simone (which wasn't very good anyway). But then you find that the recordings of Fools Gold and Elephant Stone aren't the same, or that it misses songs like Bye Bye Badman and This Is The One. Also, the disc doesn't contain any songs from The Second Coming, and there is no John Squire artwork. The Roses themselves didn't even recieve any money from sales of this album. If you really want to see and hear what the Stone Roses were really about, you should buy The Stone Roses - Anniversary Edition, Second Coming, Turns Into Stone, Garage Flowers and Sally Cinnamon EP. But if you just want to get a feel for their sound, this will do.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2004
This album includes some of the best Stone Roses songs ever written. Some of the best b-sides such as Mersey Paradise are included as well as the expected Fools Gold & Waterfall. It's great value for money, there are a lot of tracks & you'll play it over & over.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2002
Though, in my opinion, the Stone Roses were one of the greatest bands to have ever existed this compilation is an insult to their name. Piss poor version of Waterfall, the 4 minute edit of Fools Gold, One Love and Somethings Burning and only the first half of I am the Resurrection make this album a shameful cash in on the part of Silvertone.
Buy Turns into Stone for the B sides and non-album singles while Sally Cinnamon and its associated B sides are cosntantly rereleased. Spare yourself the shame of having this in your record collection and get the proper records.
11 Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2000
this album shows along with all the other roses' stuff another kind of sound they can produce,again in this album u can see the mind and creativity of squires work and the mind and charisma of brown.i suggest anyone who doesnt like the roses needs to catch up and wake up,this album is great for getting into the stone roses and it has a very inspirational air about it,after starting with this u can go and buy the whole lot of em'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2002
This album is more than just an attempt to cash in on the Stone Roses. It contains tracks like 'So Young', 'Tell Me' and 'Sally Cinnamon' that don't appear on The Stone Roses or Turns into Stone. 'So Young' especially is so raw and shouted by Brown that it is worth a listen. Sure, there's the old favourites on there too, such as 'I Wanna be adored', 'Made of Stone' and 'Waterfall' to name but a few of them, but with 21 tracks in total it offers the un-initiated excellent value for money.
It's not complete though. Some of the tracks are shortened from their previous album length and other strong tracks are not present. How 'This is the one' and 'Bye Bye Batman' can be left off an album that calls itself 'Complete' is beyond me.
Still, for someone wanting to sample the magic of the Stone Roses, this is a good start, but there is more out there. Don't stop here thinking that you've got all the best bits, because you haven't. Still, it offers a few extra tracks to Roses fans and a good starting point for those just discovering the band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)