Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
30
2.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2015
Awful sound. is it a remaster of this album? Worst sound from a 2009 cd never heard before! To avoid, this is a very bad sound product
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
Just Got This Special Edition Today Of "Journeys To Glory"...........And If Im Completely Honest! Having Read Previous Reviews etc...I Wasnt Sure What To Expect!!! Especcially Regarding Sound Quality!!!! But I Have To Say.........I Was Very Pleasantly Surprised!! It Was Better Than I Was Expecting It To be, My Only 2 Buys Of Spandau Ballet Have Been "Journeys" and "Diamond" ( That Review To Follow!!)
I Have To Say!!.....This is EXACTLY How I Remember This To be.........A GREAT Record From 1981 !!....The Singles "To Cut a Long Story Short" ..."The Freeze" and "Musclebound" Sound As Fresh As They Did Originally, Not Forgetting "Glow"..
Also, I"d Forgotten How Good "Reformation" and "Mandolin" Were!!!!.........Lol!!!!!...I"d Not Also Realised Just How Under rated Martin Kemp Was As a Bass Player!!!...Ok He"s Not The Greatest Ever Bassist!!!!!! Better Than Alot Though!!!!...Tony hadley Is/Was a Fabulous Singer, and Gary Kemp A Superb Songwriter and Musician. John Keeble Was a Fine Drummer ( And Still is Im Sure!!!) Steve Norman!!!...I"d Forgotten he Played Guitar In Those Early Years!!!!......( Sorry Steve!!!!!)

Now! The Extra Tracks, The Remixes etc Are Another Throw back In many Ways!!!!........I"d Forgotten How GOOD "Cut a Long Story" Was As an Extended Version!!!! And How Slightly Disappointed Now "The Freeze" Was 29 Years On!!!!!............For Some Reason, I Imagined That to be Better Than It Is!!!!......Only a Very Minor Complaint Mind you!!!!!!!

As Other Reviewers have said However, WHY Wasnt The 12" Version Of "Musclebound" Not Included???.....Especcially As Other Tracks From That Format WERE Included......Must be a Copyright Problem!!
The BBC Session is Interesting, Verrry Good For The Age They Were Back Then, Musclebound Particullarly Is Excellent.

Im Giving This 4 Stars, Only Because Of The LACK Of The Extended Version of "Musclebound"!!!!!!! The Inlay Booklet Could Have Been More Extensive, But Some Good Pics

In Closing, This Remastered Version ISNT Nearly As Bad as Other Reviewers Have Described. And You Get ALL the Extended Remixes.........( Apart From "Muscle Bound"!!!!!)
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
Not being a great album to begin with, the shoddy remastering makes this one virtually unlistenable. Avoid!
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
Please be careful with reviews chuntering on about sound quality, i read the previous review and wondered if i had purchased a dud of a re-master,so with trepidation i loaded this album and waited for the tinny,bad remaster to boil my eardrums...but wait...ITS FINE.

No sound quality issues at all, a rich,vibrant and loudly mixed remaster of the Spandau Ballet debut album, back in the days of funky basslines,buzzing synths and strange kilt-wearing fashion.

The classic three singles from 1980-81 are all here with 12' versions and a BBC session too,it feels markedly different to major rivals Duran Duran's debut LP of the same year, more club-orientated, more cutting edge but i'm looking back after 29 years,so maybe i'm wrong.

The only downside is no liner notes and FIVE versions of the good but not brilliant single "The Freeze".
44 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
For get all these so called remastered cds
You cant beat the original Lp every time
I know cds are more covenant and realise that vinyl isn't for every one but for classic albums such as this. you cant beat the original Lp......just my opinion of course 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
early Spans. Difficult to beat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
WHEN THIS ALBUM WAS RELEASED THE BAND WERE SOMETHING OF A CULT ON THE LONDON CLUB SCENE EG BLITZ ETC.BUT RATHER LIKE TOYAH WHO TRAVELLED THE SAME ROAD IT WASNT LONG B4 TOTP AND THE MAINSTREAM CAME CALLING.GREAT FOR ONES BANK BALANCE BUT NOT FOR UR STREET CRED.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Journeys to Glory was Spandau Ballet's debut album and was released in the British spring of 1981. These five lads from Islington, London actually did something unique with their first album - instead of signing with a record label they created their own label - Reformation.

Both Gary Kemp (songwriter and guitarist) and John Keeble (drummer) have been quoted over the years as saying that the name Reformation was chosen deliberately as they wanted Spandau's music to be all about change. Fast forward to the 21st century and Spandau Ballet have completed a world tour called the Reformation Tour, but we're getting ahead of ourselves.

Spandau Ballet's record making journey started with the aptly named album Journeys to Glory,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2010
This is a music and culture review not a packaging review. So here goes

Spandau Ballet were essentialy soul boys who stumbled upon a up and coming musical scene. Musical innovator Gary Kemp combined Roxy Music's glamorous pop with Chic's grooves all mixed up through synths and kilts. Along with Visage these little rich Islington drama school (North London) boys went to rule the world, accompanied by a legion of social miss-fit, fame hungry, gender bending sycophants. It's quite alarming when you look at the facts and discover that nearly every one of these peacock Dickensian characters went on achieve mainstream success in popular culture or a highly regarded professional career. Albeit some a little later than others.

Although they wore Lipstick, eyeliner and blusher and dressed in tartan lace and ruffles Spandau were never quite androgynous as the rest of the pack. They just flirted with it , they loved attention and happily played with the media and were the in house band at the BLITZ.............Like Punk which had evolved in back streets of London flourishing in the suburbs, once the media became aware numerous copyists sprang up creating health competition like Duran Duran and the Human League. In reality the moment had already gone. The Blitz Kids or Cult with no Name had already been active for two long years and that's why these Boys and Girls succeeded. They had already served their apprenticeship.

When it was released the album Journeys to Glory released it was considered fresh, bold, and even somewhat avant-garde a positive and conscious move away from punk and songs of disenchanted youth. The whole album created a sense of mood that you could almost smell with a tension that was as tight as a drum waiting to explode. Early Spandau Ballet were a stylish, original and exciting. Electronica-spiced dance music with an infectious club beat that could of only been developed in the seedy basements of a soho nightclub. It's actually quite a broody and dark album that conjures up tribal images of a bleak war torn environment. It's the only Spandau Album that deserves the tag 'New Romantic' along with Visage by Visage a second close was Duran Duran by Duran who were immediacy was more accessible and pop orientated.

In recent years, however, the record has been seen in less positive light. All music reviewers have disparaged Journeys to Glory as being even more dated than many other New Romantic recordings. Spandau Ballet fans are more positive, many feeling that the spare, drum-led, funk-undertones are more original than the group's later soul-influenced recordings. Journeys to Glory was the first new romantic album I listened to. Oh, and how I liked it! I was practically enchanted by "To Cut a Long Story Short". But now all this seems just silly to me: "Standing in the dark oh I was waiting for man to come I am beautiful and clean and so very very young to be standing in the street to be taken by someone" - what a tasteless poetry. But at 17 years old this was like pure magic. I was flying the nest and these guys were my first beacon
Spandau Ballet as I have mentioned were actually Soul boys who happened to like Bowie and Roxy Music as such the songs are very danceable, with occasional funk and synth parts that tend to stay in the background, underlining the rhythm. The production may sound dated by today's standards but its part of the album's charm. But remember these were pioneering days (thirty years ago), They were the first and as such deserve some credibility

The major weakness lies probably in song writing memorable melodies are few and in my opinion only "To Cut a Long Story Short" and "Muscle-bound" are true classics. Buy Hey lets face it Gary Kemp was the only real talent the rest just hitched a ride and just happened too be good looking. But Clubbing is all about looking good and listing to dance music thus the album is a triumph of danceability over song writing. The second album Diamond nearly sunk them as they tried to turn their back on what made them unique and indulged in a bit too much Funk. Then came the over produced blue eyed soul of True and the rest is history. Spandau have recently com back in to vouge after kissing and making up in public. I think they should stayed were they were. Spandau were very much part of an incestuous scene and there relevance remains there. Sometimes Memories are better than relieving the experience.

Journeys to Glory is an artefact of its time - uneven, but fascinating in a way and the only Spandau Album with a sense of originality. Unless you buy the greatest hits it's the only one worth buying.

Little did I know that just a stones throw away the Northern gloom of Joy Division and Echo and the Bunnymen was to rip of the frilly shirts an wash of the make up.
Oh to be young again- No once is enough thank you very much
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£22.55
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)