Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2017
Perfect wind down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2004
Of the few techno full lengths to emerge from the mid-life of the british scene, this is easily one of the best. None of the LPs released in that era are very stylistically coherent, and this is no exception, so on first listen it sounds rather patchy. However, taken track by track it shows off brilliantly Orbital's early mastery of their machines.

It does have some flop tracks - but it has more great ones. Anyone who's ever listened to British techno has heard Orbital work their synth magic on 'Chime', but the slight ambient/symphonic streak present in tracks like 'Midnight (Live)', 'Belfast' and 'Desert Storm' is what marks Orbital out as both pioneers and masters of the early alternative/ambient techno sound.

(As a side note, you may wish to buy this for 'Speed Freak'. Along with N-joi's 'Adrenalin', it is a strong contender for the ultimate in acid house/techno excess)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2005
What can I say about this album. If you've never heard of Orbital and you want to know what the're about buy this album.It's timeless in my eyes. I first bought this album back in 1991, the same year that the brothers released Belfast, A stunning track that never fails to impress me. I've seen Orbital twice now 1994 & 2002 and both ocassions they finished the gig with a medley of belfast and doctor who and every one in the place was just smiling with a gentle rocking motion (truly moving).this album is 15 years old and not aged a day
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2007
There must be a track for just about every kind of music lover on this album. I discovered it when I was 14, a bit young to attend the Orbital raves but I have not stopped listening to it since. The "green" album begins with an understated sparse, hypnotic track (The Moebius) which invites Kraftwerk-style contemplation of machines and men, followed by "Speed Freak", which clicks and clatters away in an 80's funk style before opening into "Oolaa" - has anybody noticed that sample from War of The Worlds? Slightly menacing, bleeping its way into a Desert Storm which is a dubbed-out, wavering whirlwind of bleary synth sounds and piano stabs. Fahrenheit 303 starts life as a patter of percussion before metamorphosizing into a jazzy, funk-oriented monster of warm bass and trancey keyboards. After that, it's all metallic clonking, clanking and early gurgly 303 noises in Steel Cube Idolatry, in fact it sounds like the Hartnoll brothers were playing drums on the Eiffel Tower - a precursor for "Are We Here" which would be yet another epic four years later. High Rise comes next, perhaps this is the only track on the album that could be said to have aged. A bouncy drum and bass pattern oscillates between hip hop and funk, followed by an ascension of bleeps which twist and turn before reaching what is, for me, the highlight of the 90's and all electronic music since then - the spiritual sounding introduction to Chime which would become their signature tune. Not surprising as this live version is truly fantastic. I love the piano break in the middle before the original tune kicks back in, the two patterns overlapping like lay lines. Brilliant! Chime bleeds clicking and clanking into Midnight which is a very strong track, one for the nighttime - try it in the car. And to smear the listener with a final, heavy dose of full-fat cream, without trying to sound overtly sexual, the final anthem, Belfast, is quite simply a beautiful ending to a fantastic, ground-breaking album - all the way back from 1991!

This album will never die, and although I will, I'm taking this with me because Chime is my clock and I will never tire of its ticking. A must have.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2000
I own all five albums and it's interesting to see how orbital have evolved from the green album. This is by far their most simplistic album. By Orbital's standards, that's not a bad thing but the relatively primitive loops do show up in comparison to their other albums. An excellent display of staggeringly strange and unique synths such as those on Oolaa remedy this and indicate the experimental and redefining nature of their albums yet to come. It's defintely worth purchasing if you already own the latter four and especially for Belfast which to this day remains one of their standout tracks. It shows the foundations from which Orbital evolved from and which indeed many following electronic artists would attempt to imitate. Overall, I think it deserves four stars as it helped redefine a genre which many considered at the time to be a momentary phenomenom. The Hartnol brothers proved them wrong with this landmark album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
Wow. what can I say . i've just heard that Orbital are about to release there 6th and final album. Its been a 15 year rollercoaster ride of sounds and emotion for me. The first time I heard this album was 1993 , croyde bay , devon. It was about 5 in the morning and some one had it on a tape player we had round a camp fire. To this day Belfast sends shivers down my spine. The brothers Hartnoll and never failed to move me with there music. Some of the best gigs Ive been at were orbital. If you are a fan of Orbital or just wandering what they sound like and fancy a cd to try then I think this is the one , its the first and in many ways the finest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2002
The first of 6 albums, the 'green album' is where it all started for Orbital. Track 1 (The Moebius) really gets the clock-work ticking in executive orbital style. You get a feel for the quality from the outset and it continues throughout...ending in a triumphant climax...sheer bliss! (Belfast)
Not their most inspiring work but quality none the less...timeless.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2008
I ordered this item (ASIN: B00002DE4K) from the Amazon USA site, and it DID NOT INCLUDE the bonus tracks Macro Head and Untitled. I guess those are still only available on the LP and cassette versions respectively.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 1999
Orbital and techno in general at its early, basic forms. Pure and simple the songs slowly build-up and then die-down again with mathematic precision. Beauty in numbers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2003
It can be superb in parts, for example the classic 'Chime' and the superb 'Belfast' but the majority of the other tracks show a group in its early phase, forming new and better ideas to come.
For fans of the group it is a must have. I wouldn't recommend it for an introduction to the music of Orbital for new listeners. Try 'Insides' and 'Snivilisation' first.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)