Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
50
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2011
This is a classic album I have in vinyl, and I am glad at the extras they have put in here. In fact no word can do justice to this stellar historical album, so just stop reading reviews, and buy it right now. Satisfaction guaranteed. Fast Eddie was great then, and this is a great testimony of the pre-Phil Campbell days. Motorhead is a whole chapter of the history of rock, period, and this is one of their objectively best albums.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
This classic live album captures the 'classic line-up' of Motorhead at their peak. The album went to No.1 in the UK album charts in 1981. It was assembled from recordings made in Leeds and Newcastle in March 1981, except for one 1980 performance of 'Iron Horse' which was hard to improve upon.

The 2 disc expanded edition first appeared in 2001, and adds 17 more tracks from the same venues. The (then) current album 'Ace Of Spades' is promoted, with all but 3 of the original 12 tracks being performed.

The song 'Motorhead', which dates back to Lemmy's time with 'Hawkwind', became a UK hit single in July 1981, coupled with the 'Bomber' B side 'Over The Top' (live recording), which may/may not be the same version included with the bonus tracks on CD1.

'No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith' contains definitive, fully realized versions of several songs such as 'Metropolis', 'Capricorn', 'Iron Horse', & 'The Hammer'. The first disc is now enhanced with more strong performances, boosting the original 11 tracks to 19 songs. 'Shoot You In The Back' sounds like a serious omission from the original release. The 11 tracks which make up CD2 duplicate songs on the first disc, but offer an alternative listening experience.

It is hard to fault the powerful drumming of 'Philthy Animal Taylor', the guitar playing of 'Fast Eddie Clarke', the bass & gruff vocals provided by Lemmy, or the strong material performed.

Today, I had a noisy road drill outside my home. 'No Sleep 'Til Hammersmith' provided the perfect antidote.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
The definitive live album by the classic Motorhead line up it captures the intensity and ferociousness of a classic Motorhead concert.Every track is a Motorhead classic in its own way delivered in a way only Motorhead can deliver full blown like a hurricane, played loud fast and heavy.This was recorded when Motorhead were becoming more recognised by fans of hard rock without the thrills of perms or pouting of some early 80's bands.If you like your rock hard, heavy and dirty this is an album for you and then some.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2008
I loved this album when I first bought it on vinyl, and it still sounds great now on cd. It belongs in the collection of anybody into hard, loud, up-tempo rock music.
Save yourself money by buying the single cd version. I paid extra for the 2 cd "special edition", and the extra disc just contains inferior recordings of the same songs. Probably the ones that were rejected for the original release.
I do actually think "Everything louder than everyone else" is their best live cd, whereas this is the one people know because it was released at the height of Motorhead's fame. Buy either and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2016
This is the best live album ever by the best band ever this is the only heavy metal/rock album to be a number one live album thats how good this is if they wern't legends before then this just proved the point even more to my knowledge no other band as ever had a live number one album of this stature I can not put in words how good this is your not just listening to a album you are listening to a piece of history. There is only one thing to say and that is thank you Lemmy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
One of the classic live albums of rock. Perfectly sums up the out and out energy that was Motorhead and while it may not be technically the best recording it is somehow better for that. These were the days of rough, down to earth rock and this gives you an understanding of what it was like to be there. Whether you get the standard of deluxe editions does not matter much as the extra versions of the songs are interesting but not overly essential. Had this already on vinyl but so glad to add this. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
RIP LEMMY! This album went to No1 on the UK album charts when released in 1980. It was recorded on the ACE UP YOUR SLEEVE UK TOUR 1979. Its the only MOTORHEAD live cd you will ever need. To think LEMMY AND PHILTHY PHIL TAYLOR are now dead. Theres only geetarist FAST EDDIE CLARK alive. This cd came in only 2 days so gr8 alround. Recorded in LEEDS, NEWCASTLE, GLASGOW AND LONDON. BUY!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
Still sounds great almost 30 years after it was recorded. One of the great live rock albums of the late twentieth century, this is the closest you'll get to the overwhelming experience that is Motorhead live, like being run over by a train. Motorhead have never been a straightforward heavy metal band, Lemmy's rockabilly roots and punk sensibilities are in evidence throughout, accompanied here by the classic lineup of Fast Eddie Clarke on guitar and Philthy Animal Taylor on drums. Only three guys producing a true wall of sound, it is said that all the best bands are three-pieces. This is Motorhead's most commercially successful album to date, reaching number 1 in the charts, as the band benefitted from their punk/metal/biker crossover appeal and the chart success of the preceding "Ace of Spades" single and album. Possibly this was too hard an act to follow up, as Lemmy admitted this album was their "downfall" as well as their greatest success. The following studio album "Iron Fist" saw a dilution of the band's creativity, and soon after that the departure of Fast Eddie, who had grown tired of relentless touring, and getting pumped up on drugs to reach the state of intensity required to perform this sort of music this well.

Though surprisingly danceable at times, it's not for the faint-hearted: this is very noisy, uncompromising, aggressive music mostly at a quicker amphetamine-fuelled tempo than the studio recordings of the same tracks. Turn it up as loud as your speakers can stand, your neighbours will love it too! Contains the definitive versions of "Overkill" "Bomber" and "Motorhead" plus bonus recordings previously issued as single b-sides back in the 80s (the band couldn't quite find enough material for a double album). Particularly memorable amongst these is an outstanding version of the R&B standard "Train Kept A Rollin'". Sure it's teenage nostalgia for me, but highly recommended for anybody who likes fast, hard punk or rock music. More remarkable still is that Lemmy's still at it: an icon. Hats off to you sir!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Motorhead at their peak - the original studio albums are excellent, but these numbers from the first four albums, 'Motorhead', 'Overkill', 'Bomber' and 'Ace of Spades' are played harder, faster and dirtier. I saw them live on the 'Bomber' tour at Birmingham Odeon in 1979, and this brings it all back. The following studio album 'Iron Fist' completes the 'Fast Eddie Clarke' incarnation of the band, another worthwhile addition. Motorhead are still a force to be reckoned with - checkout 'The World is Yours' and 'Aftershock'. They are Motorhead, and they play ROCK AND ROLL ! ! !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2001
Having listened to motorhead in my late teens and gone to their concerts I eventually drifted away as I got older. However I recently saw the CD and decided to buy it for old times sake. I waited until my wife and children were out and put it into the CD player.... and turned up the volume. It was brilliant, the windows shook, and the bass blew my ears off. I was right back in the concert hall 20 years ago. I'm sorry I waited so long. This is a real "Blast from the past". Go get it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)