Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 10 January 2014
This album is a wonderful tribute to Freddie drawing on music from his solo career.

We have some of his opera work with Cabelle but also some sublime recordings including the delightful 'Living On My Own'.

I run a second hand book and music shop and this is one of my most consistently popular selling titles - which speaks for itself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
Quality sound and great value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2017
nothing but the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2017
been waiting for this album for years, difficult to get hold of so very pleased to have it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2017
Easy Listening Great Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
'Freddie Mercury' was of course the lead-singer for the fabulous group 'Queen' that
set the 'Charts' alight for many years through much of the 70's and 80's.
'Freddie Mercury' did also however record much in the way of solo material from the
mid 80's up to his sad passing 'November 24th 1991 aged just 45.
His great vocal ability reached out to music fans of all-ages world-wide.
I remember his very public disappointment when 'Opera' singer 'Montserrai Caball'e'
didn't come over to the U.K to promote their brilliant effort 'Barcelona' 'Freddie believed
had she done so, the song would have topped the Chart, well, it really was an outstanding
song for sure, it only managed to reach number '8' in the U.K (It did deserve a better fate
in truth)
'Freddie' though pursuing his solo ambitions did of course continue to record and perform
with 'Queen'
On this album it does include several solo successes including - 'The Great Pretender'
(Chart '4' 1987' also charted again after his death) also 'In My Defence' (Chart '8' 1992)
'Barcelona' made a second chart entry after his passing reaching number '2' in 1992.-
'Living on my Own' (Charted at a low number '50' in 1985, re-entering the Chart, again after
his passing reaching the number '1' slot in 1993.
Among the other Hits on-board - 'Time' (Chart '32' 1986) and 'I Was Born To Love You'
(Chart '11' 1985) - There are four other very good tracks on-board that didn't independently
Chart.
This, a great album that portrays the true talent of this legendary artist, surely a consideration
for any collector...........as I do with all my music reviews, I play the album at the time of writing
the review.
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2002
I suppose this can be classed as Freddie's greatest hits because it contains all the hits from two albums, a musical plus the one-off hits "Great Pretender" and "Love Kills"
BUT, BUT, BUT - BEWARE!!! Most of these songs have been remixed beyond recognition, and generally not to their benefit. Buy "Mr Bad Guy" for a true representation of Freddie solo, and get the more recent "Solo collection" to mop up the rest of his hits, THEN if you still feel the urge come back to this to hear what remains.
Served it's purpose at the time as it was issued as a single CD soon after his death to help satisfy the initial surge of demand for Freddie material.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2006
I have owned this now for 12 years......it's a funny old album really. It has it's fair share of awful tunes: "Foolin' Around", "Your Kind of Lover", "Let's Turn It On" and I even dislike the top 10 UK hit "Love Kills". Terrible, tacky, 80s-electro-dance-disco-pop or whatever you wanna call it.

However "Mr. Bad Guy" is enjoyable and the rest are gems. Freddie's cover of "The Great Pretender" eclipses The Platter's original. That pretty much makes Freddie some sort of God in my eyes. The Euro hit "Time" is just a great thoughtful number taken from the musical of the same name. The other song taken from the musical is the even bigger hit "In My Defence", this is a powerhouse track showcasing Freddie's unreal vocal talents. The No More Brothers Mix of 1986's "Living On My Own" took it straight to the top of the charts in 1993 where it truely belonged. This is just one of the all-time classic dance tracks. Looking back now on the '86 original, Freddie had made a track perhaps ahead of it's time.....just took a little while for the rest of us to catch up!!! We all know about "Barcelona", another smash hit. Amazing piece of pop-opera up there with "Bohemian Rhapsody".

For me "Exercises In Free Love" is the reason why people should buy this album. It truely is an jaw dropping piece of music. Freddie shows off his amazing soprano-operatic voice. Freddie was the greatest singer of all time, and this haunting song proves it.

R.I.P. Big Guy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2002
This must be one of Freddie's best solo albums. A must for any Freddie fan, whatever age. Some of the tracks need to be listened to a few times before you warm to them. A great mix of music for the rhythm, lyrics are in some very heartfelt and all vibrate with Freddie's outlandish character and personality.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)