Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
45
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 May 2009
Season's End is Marillion's first album after the departure of Fish. With the arrival of the very capable and distinctive vocalist, Steve Hogarth, Marillion continued, with this Seasons End album, to demonstrate their instrumental prowess and very distinctive Rock heritage.

The flavour of the album is still very much akin to the Fish era, possibly to pander to their large fan base, but with the new vocals of Steve Hogarth there is a feeling that they are wanting to progress and grow, and also demonstrate that they were not just a backing band to the mighty Fish.

Overall the album is excellent, with the truly hard rock "Hooks in you", the immense "Easter" and popular "Uninvited Guest" just highlights of a sensational album. All the tracks clearly demonstrate the bands strengths; a distinctive sound, clear and challenging vocals, incredible instrumentals and a togetherness that very few bands can equal.

A 100 percent recommendation.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
This is good quality music as all of Marillion s music is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I suspect many Marillion fans viewed their former singer and leader Fish, in the same way Genesis fans regraded Gabriel - he was the band or at the very least, difficult to replace.

Enter Mr. Hogarth to take the band away from their Genesis ish incarnation to a different beast. The first Marillion release with Hogarth on board finds the band in surprisingly confident form. The opening track The king of sunset town immediatley confirms that there would be life after Fish. Great build up to this track before it bursts into life. An impressive opening salvo. Easter is another popular track with Marillion fans - containing Rothery's much vaunted guitar solo.

But the gems keep coming with the rockier The univited guest - impressive lyrics showing that this side of the band (always a strength) wasn't going to suffer. Even more impressive is the thoughtful title track about the battering we are inflicting upon the environment.

After me is a decent acoustic number and I also like the catchy Hooks in you - which appears to a very unpopular song for some people. Whatever, I like it!

The band proved not only could they survive the lost of the highly impressive Fish, but they would go on to match or even surpass the high peaks the band achieved with him. The process started with this enjoyable album.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
The first album Marillion post Fish i can recall this coming out and my friends at the time deserting the band. I stuck by them. The catalist was for them was Hooks in You which none of us liked as a single. Fish State of Mind was much better.

However, i think my friends were wrong to reject the album based on the single. Better single Easter and The Univited Guest were more intreging and album tracks like Berlin and King of Sunset Town did it for me.

My parents record player couldnt do the sound justice but i still have fond memories of one of their better albums and i prefer this to the commercial Holidays in Eden which i believe was their attempt at doing another Misplaced Childhood. Should they have changed their name? Steve Hogarth has said so. New album new band etc but take this album as is. Marillion finding a new voice and moving on after Fish left.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
The album after Fish went and we all bounded around the ground floor listening to Hooks In You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2000
Seasons End is one of Marillion's finest albums. It manages to combine the pop of Holidays in Eden with the progressive styles of Marillion's earlier work to create one of Marillion's most eclectic albums. The King of Sunset Town opens slowly with atmospheric, glittering keyboards before exploding into a crescendo of brilliance (one of Marillion's most sadly forgotten tracks); Easter combines folk and rock successfully (trust Marillion to try something like that) and if it just doesn't touch you inside you aren't human; The Uninvited Guest is very much pop; the titletrack is quite progressive and features another very emotive lyric; Holloway Girl is another heartfelt track with a soaring chorus; Berlin is a really powerful track with, very unusually for Marillion, a bit of saxophone thrown in; After Me is the weakest track on the album; Hooks in You has a riff to die for and sees Marillion perform their first rock 'n' roll number (even better live!); The Space is again quite progressive and puts the human race in perspective: "Everybody in the whole of the world is the same". Great album, every track is superb, except for After Me, which is just quite good.
55 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2009
This is a much better album than I remember when it was first released back in the late 80's.
It is of course the first album with Steve Hogarth replacing Fish as lead vocalist. Much better was to come in later albums, but there are some cracking songs on this one and I would recommend it to any fan.
It's a great sounding re-master and has an interesting bonus disc and booklet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2004
When Fish departed ... Marillion died for me. Then a year after this album was released a colleague virtually forced me to listen to a copy and I was blown away by King Of Sunset Town. Now it is not just my favourite Marillion track but one of my all time favourite songs. It rises in an anthemic crescendo not too disimilar to All About Eve's Road To My Soul (another of my faves). I was wrong, there is life after Fish and perhaps I have to concede that Steve Hogarths lyrical range is less constricting and offers more scope to the band than the highly distinctive sound Fish had.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
This album was the real turning point in terms of Marillion's sound. The songs are still big in sound, but you can feel it was rushed a bit, songs like Berlin & Holloway girl could have been stronger, maybe produced a bit better. Hooks in You was the lead single, but after the initial guitar riff, there's not much left. King of Sunset Town, Seasons End, & The Space are great though, real Marillion at their best. And to be fair, Hogarth's voice sounds good & raw. After Me is a also a good song, a proper "song" if you like, just 3 minutes of a good tune. The one thing is though, Steve Rothery is a great guitarist, but why did he insist on using the delay/chorus effect so much during this period (including the previous & next 2 albums)? I often yell out load "turn that bloody effect off!". Overall though a great album, at the time i thought it was their best since Fugazi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2000
With the new vocals of Steve Hogarth this lifts the rest of the band to some of there finest work to date. Particular tracks to look for are "Uninvited Guest" which is supposed to be written about Fish and the last few months with the band, "Space" has an ending vocal which is second to none for emotion and makes the hair on the back of your neck stand up and "Berlin" is a haunting track which needs to be played over and over...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)