Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
Advance
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 May 2017
Top
Mark Bell RIP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2000
After a hiatus of too many years, LFO returned with a breathtaking LP that somehow managed to slip through the media net. Living up to their reputations as innovators, they crafted tracks which both defy and create new genre categorisation. At times erring on the side of brittle techno, at others on sparse electonica and others on harsh electro workouts, 'Advance' is always challenging yet has enough hooks (thru the choons, man) to maintain your attention and dancing feet as opposed to needless indulgence (a la Aphex). Astounding. Buy now or forever hold your peace!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2001
I've had this album for a long time now, and it just keeps coming again and again as a really good (although pretty experimental) classic. It interleaves pounding distorted electronica with some of the most beautiful, gossamer-light tracks since Aphex Twin's Selected Ambient Works.
If I lost this album, I'd gladly buy it again purely for the tracks 'Goodnight Vienna' and 'Shove Piggy Shove' - two cast-iron ambient classics.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
I've lost count of how many times I've listened to this album, but it contains some of the most beautiful ambient techno I've ever heard. A must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
Since I first heard this Album around 15 years, I've had a lot of respect for LFO. Some of the tracks on Advance were ground-breaking at that time, and still stand up very well today. Over the years since it was released, tracks from this collection such as "Loch Ness" and "Goodnight Vienna" are still heard as background music on many TVs shows, and a few films. In fact, I've actually bought this album several times since as it had a terrible habit of being pilfered by others! LFOs 'Advance' is classic minimalist electronic music at its best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2007
I absolutely love this album. Very direct and concise. It's got hardness, it's got beauty. It never drags. The tracks are quite short. There's a real sense of purpose here.
Shut Down for it's menancing stomp combined with the best distortion sound ever. Tied Up with it's layers of lush noise, followed by the inverted version Them. Psychodelik is beautiful. Kombat Drinking, great title, great track.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2000
I suppose if you were forced to categorise this album you'd have to call it techno, but it strays so far from the techno norm that it's actually tuneful. It's like a grown-up version of their first album. Yes, that good. It's a real shame that they've split up because their solo work, though quite good, doesn't came anywhere near this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2005
...if anything for the gorgeously repetitive "Psychodelik." A most-underrated techno track and a sincere favorite easily sitting alongside Jeff Mills' "Alarms." Your subwoofer won't know what's hit it...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Excellent Serice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Frequencies
£11.56
Sheath
£13.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)