Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2008
They're a bit of a hit and miss affair, these Deluxe Editions. When Universal get it right - as they did, for example, with the Who Live At Leeds - the extra material truly serves to enhance the original release. When they get it wrong - as is the case with this album - it feels as if they have cobbled together anything they happen to have gathering dust in the vaults.

I remembering listening to (and taping - think I still have it somewhere) the 1986 Hamersmith Odeon gig on Radio 1. A great, contemporaneous show. So why only use three songs from the concert? Why not the entire show, or at least as much as the BBC recorded? Worse yet, why use live tracks from 2000 and 2003, with completely different line-ups to the band that appeared on the studio album?

The remixes, too, are a slapdash affair. Out goes the Sisa Mix of Something About You - surely Level 42's finest 12" moment - and in comes a completely redundant 'Phunk Investigation Club Mix' of World Machine, which is not even CREDITED to Level 42 - it's actually listed as being performed by 'Electrokingdom featuring Mark King'.

Sadly, it's a mess. Propsective buyers are advised instead to track down the 2 for 1 package of this item from a few years earlier, which paired this album with the previous year's True Colours. And you'll get better remixes, too.
11 comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2000
This is quite simply the most under-rated album of the last 20 years. Every time I listen, it brings back great memories of when I grew up as a kid in the 80s. Every track is so funky - a brilliantly polished collection of songs with superb bass-lines and great vocals, combined with some groovy use of the saxophone. A lot of the songs have a fast jazzy rhythm which could almost make this a 'dance-funk' album.
Why Level 42's 'World Machine' has never got any recognition (apart from one of the singles which was released) is just beyond me. It may be quite old now, but it still has this great feeling of freshness and energy that just won't go away. The songs have a very futuristic, 'ahead-of-their-time' feel to them. A really cool & funky album, I love it :-)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2005
This is probably the second greatest album I ever owned! My grandmother (1921-2001) loved Level 42 and bought me this album for Easter in 1992 and I never go without reference to it I love passing this record on to others and they love to listen to it as well. Physical Presence is one of the best songs and leaving me now rules!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
After a series of well-respected albums, 'World Machine' (1985) represented Level 42's big commercial breakthrough and the standard of material is pretty high throughout. The title track, which opens proceedings, is quite brilliant and 'Physical Presence' carries on the good work. The 2 hit singles released from this LP are quite lovely ~ 'Leaving Me Now' is a gorgeous mid-tempo song whilst 'Something About You' is typically funky (featuring a great guitar solo from Boon). After such a strong start, the middle section of the album feels slightly weaker, but, there are still some fine moments later on - 'Good Man In A Storm', 'Coup D'etat' and 'Lying Still' are all worthy of mention here. Overall, this is an album worth checking out if you like superbly written, 'funky' 1980's pop music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2008
The original 'World Machine' album is second to none, but this 2nd re-release is just pointless. The previous reviewer nailed it for me - what's the point of just re-releasing another version of the 'World Machine' album - when it was already remastered in its entirety 8 or so years ago as part of the double package with 'True Colours'?

Its hardly a 'Deluxe Edition' - thats a bit mis-leading. Fair enough, the record label have added a few previously unavailable live tracks from '86 ("World Machine", "Something About You" & "Leaving Me Now") - which are awesome! - and also an interesting backwards mix of "Coup D'Etat", but thats pretty much it. (I'm sure that this mix has been available previously on CD - while the Shep Pettibone mix of "Something About You' definitely has...) And a new booklet with extra info/pictures etc - fair enough.

But the biggest let down are the final 5 live tracks; those who are expecting them to be live intepretations from the same line-up who recorded them, as are the 3 already mentioned, will be disappointed. Instead, they're all culminated from post-millenium recordings of the newer Level 42 band assembled by Mark King in recent years, which, in theory, (despite them being excellent musicians in their own right) might as well be any band performing them, or just Mark King and his solo band (which they essentially are) - as its simply NOT the same band from the original 'World Machine' album, thus rendering them totally irrelevant and only marginally related to this edition. The same can be said for all the other recent live tracks of re-released classic Level 42 albums.

Some may argue that a number of tracks from the album were never performed live by the original band and its great to hear them live finally - and while that may be so - there are other live CD and DVD compilations of the newer band performing this material - and therefore, these tracks don't belong here. If it's not the original band, who cares.

A 'Deluxe Edition' by its very name suggests itself to be the definitive version of the album for the consumer to own, so why isn't it? Probably because it's just another record label cashing in on artistry and talent.

Those consumers should be treated to some rarities or unreleased demo's - or other previously vinyl-only material - should there be any not yet released digitally. A few things I can think of:
1) 'D7' - 'I Sleep On My Heart' demo
2) 'Hell' - the 12-minute instrumental which although available as an MP3 for a while, needs a remaster
3) 'The Planets' - unreleased instrumental
4) 'World Machine' (Shep Pettibone Remix) - available on RITF Platinum Edition, but would surely be more relevant here
5) 'It's Not The Same For Us' Live '87 - I know this was performed live '86/'87, so where is it?
6) 'Physical Presence' Live '87 - this is already on some recent compilations, but again, surely more relevant here
7) And what about the absolute peach of having the live recording of Level 42 Vs. Casiopea - battling out the latter's "Galactic Funk" from around this '84/'85 era when they were on tour in Japan?

...Maybe an enhanced CD with the videos and/or 'a making of' of the album. THEN add the first three live songs, the "Coup D'Etat" backwards mix, and then the 3 remixes from the previous 'World Machine' re-release - because, if anything, for this to be better than that, its got to at least contain everything on there AND more. Thats a 'Deluxe Edition'. Simple logic.

As a first time buyer of this album, or as a casual fan, you can't go wrong really, but for anyone else who already has the album, this offers very little else. I would download the individual tracks that you want, rather than shelling out for the whole thing.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
I had no idea that this used 2 disc deluxe edition version Level 42 World Machine came from Ireland but first the used price for this was £83 then it was £57 then £34 and FINALLY! I managed to get a very good used second hand condition version for £26 this isn't a complaint merely an observation of the up and down levels random used prices for this album. I remember my Mum sticking on Something About You blaring out loud from her stereo I was 13 years and its thanks to my Mum that I started getting into Level 42 and this brings back many teenage memories and their never be a band as good as this ever again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
Level 42 haven't produced a duff album and whilst all their albums are brilliant, my view is this is the best one ever with their usual mixture of soulful and funky tunes with the wonderful track "Leaving me now" with its fantastic piano riffs being my favourite. An album I would put in my top ten.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
not a bad song in sight. truly brilliant album! for me clearly the best Level 42 album hands down. a triumph
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
An great update of a classic album, brings back lots of memories. Good to be able to hear the live versions of the fantastic songs from the original album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
If you listened in the 80s you will know how great this band is, a reminder is lovely. Their tunes stand the test of time and should be heard today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)