Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2002
Forgive and forget the sprinkling of conventional unchallenging numbers, notably the cheery, singalong, trite My Man, a Sweet Man (lyrics certainly suggest a grateful girly-in-love who is far from the upfront, sceptical persona Jackson puts across in the other songs).
You can overlook a couple of donkeys in a value-for-money 21-track CD that otherwise features bold blues, cynical challenges to the whole concept of 'lurve' and confident instrumentals that match up to Jackson's effortlessly big voice.
21 of the Best ranges from the striking cynical commentary on religious hypocrisy of A Child of God (It's Hard to Believe) to the hurt of the cheated wife in How Do You Feel the Morning After?
Then there is pathos in the commentaries on lost love - It's Gonna Take Some Time This Time and I Feel Like Walking in the Rain ('it's gotta be one of us but who do I blame?') and the classic tale of the 'other woman' in (If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want to be Right.
In the slow-burning, rhythmic, confrontational All The Way Lover (one of the best tracks), Jackson challenges both men's and women's take-it-or-leave-it approaches to their partners ('your man too cute to get down - he might mess up his curls') yet balances this scepticism with the urging to give-it-another-chance of If You're Not Back In Love By Monday.
There's also a goodly sprinkling of raunch: (Go Out and Get Some and Kiss You All Over) though interestingly a subsequent hearing divined a far purer interpretation of Never Change Lovers in the Middle of the Night than the smutty one assumed from my first and only previous hearing at a party years ago.
Elsewhere there is bold R&B - It Hurts So Good, Keep the Home Fire Burning and the classically bluesey The Blues Don't Get Tired of Me ('the thing about the blues is, they find me fascinating...I guess I'll always have company 'cause the blues don't get tired of me' - who hasn't felt like this?).
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2002
This is a great collection of millie jackson's U.S single releases from 1971 to 1983.everything from northern soul to disco.Standout tracks for me were "ask me what you want" and "it hurts so good",both great soul tracks that made the top 30 pop chart."loving arms" and "it's gonna take some time this time",are great tearjerkers.The northern soul classic "my man is a sweet man",and the lovely 1983 ballad "i feel like walking in the rain",were both minor U.K hit singles.This is a great overview of millie in her prime.there is a very good booklet about her career and r&b/pop chart positions,enjoy.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
If you like early Millie Jackson this album is the one for you. Yes in my opinion 71 - 83 were here very best years this is not the pop person she turned into, this is her raw soul years.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2007
Millie Jackson held high the torch of soul/R&B, when the world was going disco crazy.

This collection of single releases is notable for two things. One is that her albums tended to do better than her singles did, which was quite unusual at the time. Even on the R&B chart, her single success was not very distinguished , but that does not mean that the music is bad. Well she did notch up 39 Top 100 R&B entries, but only 6 of them made the top 10 (four of them are here). Second is that, as these singles were designed for radio play, they mainly avoid the raunchy blue comedy to be found on her albums, which got ruder and bluer as she went on! Now I love it all, but I appreciate that people might not want their children to hear some of her stuff.

This album just concentrates on the music, fine Muscle Shoals soul music in a broad range of styles. A bit of Northern, a bit of country, some blues, ballads and up tempo tunes. Those Muscle Shoals musicians knew their stuff. Most of you reading this will know that already.

All in all a great sampler of one of the great R&B/soul voices.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2008
The first half of this CD demonstrates what a fine singer Millie Jackson was, soul music seldom matched, with excellent musicians used well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I have always wanted to own this album and I am very happy with it. her style is very different and absolutely delightful. I can listen to this all day long. There is nothing else out there in the world that comes closer to her style, A true legend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Great collection by a lady with one of the most distinctive soul voices of all time. The track selection gives a good over view of Millie Jacksons releases on Spring records and includes some very pleasant vocal performances that really touch your soul. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
Once again Millie Jackson does not dissappoint with this CD/
I have the vinyl but it is so scratched through playing it,that
I thought I would treat myself to the CD.Love it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Really good album, what a mix from a true superstar!

From disco - ballads, all the classics and more - what more could you want?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
This is Millie at her very best hence the album title fond memories back in the 70's on the dance floor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£12.85
£10.04

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)