Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

  • Debut
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
58
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2007
A fascinating album which stamped Bjork's unique character, compositional, lyrical, and melodic sense all over it. The songs work very well as an entire album, with downtempo and faster numbers belnding in seemlessly. It has atmosphere in vast amounts and sounds as fresh and intruiging today as it did when first released. Bjork is a true original and this album is an absolute gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Thought I would find out what all is Bjork thing was about. I suppose it is quite original and vocally genuine sounding, though a bit over produced with a fair bit of techo sounds mixed in. Kind of weird eclectic dance club music, some of it. So you get nothing warm, emotionally engaging, or melodic, though it does sound like you get something reasonably genuine, from a vocal and writing point of view.Does nothing for me though. Actually, a lot of the writing looks like poetry,then put to music. Weirdish, personal poetry, that is. Should have known better and never bought it, but I guess the charity shop can make a quid or two on it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2008
I found this album to be very pleasant, although I didnt favour all the songs on it. Violently Happy, Crying, Human Behaviour, Venus as a Boy and Big Time Sensuality are great tracks indeed. I advise you to buy this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
I first had this album many moons ago when it was first released onto audio cassette. It sounds just as good today with a mix of strange vocal styles , icelandic folk music and heart felt ballards brilliant !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2001
Haunting, intelligent songs from Iceland's hottest export since cod. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
A purchase to add to my personal collection of "back catalogue" albums, I like most of the songs but do find that smaller doses of Bjork's voice are easier on the ear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
Ho hum, getting old because I remember how much I loved this at the time. I'm translating this in to my new fangled digital library, and I STILL love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I bought this as a secret Santa present for my colleague and the impression I was given was one it was clever and the other good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
It's not often you hear such a fully formed album debut, but this must be up there will the best I know. what a voice and talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
Bjork merging from Sugarcubes to her solo career, and this is a great introduction to what her music was to become
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)