Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2003
I bought this CD when it first came out. It was so good to hear those great tacks together in CD quality by my favourite band of the time. The first track I looked for was Oh Well Part 1 and 2. It is all there and sounds so much better on this than the old vinyl. The great single version of Albatross can be found on this plus their final release Green Manalisihi. We even have a few of the great not so famous items like Rattle Snake Shake. It will take you back to a time when beer was a decent price, peace was in the air and Top of the Pops was forced to show pictures of seagulls instead of Peter Green and the boys. Yes all the single releases are there including the often forgotten but great Need You Love So Bad. However it is not all good news. I had the occasion recently to replace my copy and all these great hits plus some more can be found on “The Best of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac”. It is a later produced CD and the a few nice extras. That is worth five stars.
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 June 2016
Can't really believe I bought this album on vinyl in 1971. It's still sounds so fresh, despite knowing every lyric and riff over 45 years on. For me, this is quintessential Mac. Homage to their true R and B roots, Peter Green before he went walkabout and every track is a well constructed winner. Green Manahishi remains my all time favourite, followed by Oh Well. And shame on FM for later refusing to play and saying they're 'bored' with Albatross. It made the band and despite that, it's a beautifully constructed sound that's endured for pushing half a century.

This remains one of my top 5 albums. I lost the vinyl a few years ago. I'm delighted to have found a Cd and I still think the play order is genius. Well balanced and forever the real 'Mac'. Give it a spin...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
There are two versions of this available on Amazon with virtually identical covers so be careful you pick the right one if you are after specific tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
From the early days of Fleetwood Mac some great sounds that pass the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Great sounds and going back to the musicians of the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
The CD itself is good however it was too expensive and wasn't as described (description said colour insert?) I complained to the seller and questioned what was so special about it but got no response. Unfortunately it had been opened so I couldn't return it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Good thanks Paul
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the original superb 1971 vinyl album showcasing the best work of the first incarnation of Fleetwood Mac, released on CD with the same artwork, same song list and no additions or extras. The original line-up of Peter Green's great blues band (`FM1') had a rhythm section of Mick Fleetwood and John McVie with Jeremy Spencer and Danny Kirwan joining Peter Green on lead/rhythm guitars, to make FM1 one of the only 3-guitar bands which ever worked well and sounded good.

All the great early work is here: `Green Manalishi' (a slang-phrase for money), both parts of `Oh Well', the ethereal chart-busting single `Albatross', the classic `Black Magic Woman' (which Carlos Santana later made his own), `Need Your Love so Bad', `Dragonfly' and the rest.

BTW you can get all these songs plus a few others on a more recently released and beefed-out compilation CD titled `Best of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac' which you might choose to buy instead of this `Greatest Hits' album, unless for reasons of sentiment you want the classic album in all its purity.

One caution: a version of this album had limited release in the USA some years ago with the same cover-art and the same title, but with some of the star numbers (like `Green Manalishi') not included. Check before ordering, and avoid the inferior release.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2002
Just like the name, this CD really does contain some of the greatest ever Fleetwood Mac hits! The two songs that take over the CD for me are "OH WELL" and "ALBATROSS", prehaps two of the greatest songs I have ever heard! Allthough these are my 2 favourite Fleetwood Mac songs, I still have 2 comment on some of the other songs on the CD that are fantastic aswell, including: " LOVE THAT BURNS" "MAN OF THE WORLD" "DRAGONFLY", and of course,the amazing "BLACK MAGIC WOMAN"!!!!
This cd is great for any fleetwood mac fan, featuring some of the best songs ever done by a band, so at the price that amazon are selling it for, your in for a real treat!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)