Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
44
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2007
This Album was the one before the BIG TIME!. I can remember when I was 14 and my mate showed me this Album that he'd just bought and saying they were from sheffield and when we played it were blown away and so proud!.

It shows the true talent of the lads espeacilly when you consider how old they were. I think this is best Leppard Album as it it's songs are as good as the Hysteria /Pyromania era but more raw with more balls and Punch which Leppard slowly moved away from when the became the stadium band a few years later. Gems on this Album are Mirror-Mirror, Hit and Run and Bringing on the Heartbreak.

This is a great starting point for any potential Leppard Fan and also anyone who has only sampled the Hysteria + years. They should buy this and see why this band made it and stayed there.

Still A great Band Live But can't help feeling they've sold out in recent years.. But then again don't they all..and we're still so Proud!.

Superb Album.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
Yes, you read that right. *This* is Def Leppard at their very best. It ranks alongside Diamond Head's "white" album, in my humble opinion! I guess I'm showing my age, but I bought this on vinyl originally - and wore it out. I bought it on CD when it came out. And I'm still playing it. That's not to say Pyromania (which is almost as good) and the lesser Hysteria are rubbish, they are brilliant - in their own way - they just got increasingly too polished for my tastes.

Buy this, you won't be disappointed! Now, if they'd only bring out a deluxe edition......
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Had this on vinyl years ago. Bought the cd as it was cheaper and less time consuming than transferring from record to disc. Brought back loads of memories. Every song is fantastic, nothing was put in just as a filler. Def lep at their best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
Whilst On Through The Night got a good deal of attention stateside, it wasn’t the case in the UK. For many, Def Leppard turned their backs on the British rock scene and chased glory across the pond. This was the picture painted by the UK press at the time however it was far from the case. True, the Lepps sold more records in the US and were much more in demand however Def Leppard have always maintained themselves as a British rock act (hence the Union Jack being proudly on display and worn upon themselves from this point onward).

Following On Through The Night’s lacklustre production and sound, the band wanted Mutt Lange (famed for his work with AC/DC) to helm the producers chair. Mutt took the songs the band had and simplified the structures from the debut album to a set of songs that sounded great on the radio. A mix of AC/DC riffs with Queen’s harmonies. There were no longer old fashioned drum fills and gone were the prog style openings to songs like Overture from the debut. In came three and a half minute rock tracks that didn’t stop for breath apart from one song. Whilst not quite a ballad, Bringin’ On The Heartbreak showed that this band had what it took to not only be a strong rock band but hook-laden songwriters too. With a fledgling MTV in its infancy, this track broke the band big-time in the US.

However, praise must be heaped on all members. Rick Allen’s drum sound was to the fore alongside Rick Savage’s rock solid bass, Pete Willis and Steve Clark's guitars were completely in sync and Joe Elliott became not just a singer but a front man. With multi-layered harmonies added to the crunching songs High N’ Dry was easily one of the best rock albums of 1981 and due to future success still remains a good seller.

Every track is worth a mention, but for pure fist pumping glee, the 3.03 minutes of instrumental Switch 625 is worth the price of admission alone and testament to the writing talents of the late Steve Clark.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
Over time I think I must have possessed this album three times. First as a vinyl record when it was originally released, later as a cassette tape and then a few weeks ago I bought it AGAIN as a CD. It lives in the car. It gets played regularly - and it's the only album by the Leps I can say that of. It's great. 'High 'n' Dry' is pretty flawless in just about every respect. It wasn't for nothing that Def Leppard were originally signed - at the time of the NWOBHM - to a little local label called 'Bludgeon Riffola Records'. There are mightily powerful and memorable riffs here; they're in my head right now. Other reviewers have listed the stand out songs but to be honest it is ALL top stuff. For me, the best track on the album - in fact, Leppard's best track, period, is here in the shape of 'Lady Strange'. Cheesy, silly, but majestic in every sense! Joe Elliot's 'Oooh yeah' on this song is genuinely heart-felt and just plain brilliant. Arguably, you can clearly see why from this offering, their second album, Def Leppard were able to fight their way to the top of the hard rock food chain, leaving many other HM bands of that time stuck desperately flailing around with the other 'bottom feeders'!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
This is more classic Def Leppard. This their second album had to be good to follow their debut album On Through The Night, and it was. 12 tracks of great Leppard music. The track Bringin' On The Heartbreak appears twice on this album the second time the track is done as a remix. Every song on this album is good. The ones I enjoyed the most were. Let It Go, High N' Dry, Lady Strange, On Through The Night, and Me And My Wine. But the others are also very good. The strange thing about this album is that the track "On Through The Night" doesn't appear on their debut album also called On Through The Night. But a great CD all the same.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Their best by far - is there a better first 4 tracks on an LP anywhere? I remember seeing them play Lady Strange for the first time at Reading Festival - it still remains one of their classic anthems!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
I've heard a few songs off this album before: "Another Hit and Run, "Let it Go" "Me and My Wine" & "Bringing on the Heartbreak" but I decided to buy this album the other day and, Wow... what an album this is, I might only be 23 but I have all the classic rock albums you can think of while keeping up-to-date with modern music, this is one of the best albums that I have EVER heard. I may rank it up Pyromania and Hysteria.

This album is raw and is Def Leppard at their roots, if you're like me and haven't heard this album, but it, it's worth the money. Songs such as "Lady Strange", "Mirror Mirror (Look into My Eyes)", "You Got Me Runnin' will keep playing in your memory banks and have you singing along right away.

This albums puts a lot of modern rock albums to shame! Can I give it 10 stars?!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2005
This album pre dates the Phil Collen era of Leppard. But don`t let that put you off. This is Leppard at there most rocky. It`s a great album full of good songs that you`ll be singing for weeks after. It was infact this album that broke Leppard in the States as the band played support slots to more established names, Stand out tracks..... The opener "Let it go" has one of the best riffs you`ll ever hear " Hit & Run " "Switch 625" " on through the night" " Bringing on the heart break" to be honest there isn`t a bad track on the album trust me go buy it now you won`t be disapointed !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
This is pure 80's hard rock right here for you. It doesn't get anymore authentic than this.

If you love Hard Rock / Classic Rock, you must own High 'N' Dry.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)