Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Rain Dances
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 February 2014
'Rain Dances' sees Camel moving into an interesting jazzier groove with the introduction of 2 new members to the fold namely ex-Caravan bassist/vocalist Richard Sinclair and talented woodwind maestro Mel Collins. Several tracks stand out for me on this album including:- 'Metrognome' - a jazzy song with a classic Andrew Latimer guitar solo; 'Tell Me' - a beautiful slow song with good vocals from Sinclair; 'Unevensong' - a Camel classic with superb guitar and keyboard solos and 'Skylines' - another funky, jazzy mix. I would heartily recommend this to fans of Camel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2015
This still sounds fresh to me 38 years on.
Tracks such as Tell Me and Elke tend to get overlooked.
The only weak spot is the title track which, while perfectly acceptable, is a bit of an anti-climax but perhaps they always intended to wrong-foot the listener by doing the unexpected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2013
For those who do not know Camel - you are in for a treat. There were many fine albums but Rain Dances and The Snowgoose have always been my favourites. Camel always appear to me like musicians' musicians - in other words I can imagine other artists listening to them and appreciating them. They are extremely fine musicians and the albums are concept pieces based on an idea or book like Paul Galico's Snowgoose. Camel are a gentle band who deliver excellence and appear to be self-effacing while they do it. The sound is almost orchestral in nature as it is the instrument that needs to lead that does in any moment and not about someone doing a guitar solo. The instruments are crafted and blended together much more as one would expect with an orchestra or with classical music. This is progressive rock at its best which is not at all heavy and sometimes just easy listening, using saxophone, flute and keyboards blended beautifully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2017
Good product, as described, very good price, very quick delivery, would use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2018
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2016
I purchased this Cd to replace my old vinyl record which got when first came out in 1978 I thinks it a group I always enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2014
An excelent piece of 1970's music from a group trhat i have allways loved.
this was an excelent CD that lifted my heart a good purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2015
Good CD if you can remember Camel from the 80's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2017
Fantastic vinyl. My partner loves it. Arrived on time and very well packaged. Will definitely buy from MJMusic again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2010
Fantastic album, and Camel's finest in my view.

The bonus tracks are nothing special, but this cd is a must if you own the original as the remastering is superb.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here