Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
68
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I suspect there are very few serious Rock/Pop collectors that haven't got at least one greatest hit album of this
iconic group.
Their music have been rockin' the joint since the late 60's right up to and including recent times,, the group was
originally founded by 'Francis Rossi' and 'Alan Lancaster' school-chums way back in 1962, after several line-up
changes they became 'The Status Quo' in 1967 altering it to 'Status Quo' just two years later.
The group back then having much of the line-up we all remember well, there first break in the U.K Chart actually
came in 1968 with 'Pictures Of Matchstick Men' (Chart '7') which was followed up the same year with 'Ice In The
Sun' (Chart '8') though they had a lower chart entry the following year they had to wait until 1970 to return to the
Top 30 with 'Down The Dustpipe' (Chart '12') followed by 'In My Chair' (Chart '21') the same year, they had yet
another non-chart spell, however for me, they really arrived in 1973 with three significant Hits - 'Paper Plane'
(Chart '8') (One of my favourites) 'Mean Girl' (Chart '20') and the memorable 'Caroline' (Chart '5') the groups first
and remarkably only chart topper came the following year 'Down Down'
The group continued to smash the Charts with a series of hits through the remainder of the 70's right through to
the early 90's and indeed beyond with mainly lower order entries.
As an earlier reviewer has pointed out the 2-CD collection follows their chart career pretty much in release order,
which is what many of us like to see in truth.
Among the many great sounds to be found on-board.....'Rockin' All Over the World' (Chart '3' 1977) 'Whatever
You Want' (Chart '4' 1979) 'What You're Proposing' (Chart '2' 1980) 'Something About You Baby I Like' (Char
'9' 1981) all songs listed so far can be found on disc one of the two.......'Rock 'n' Roll' (Chart '8' 1981) 'Ol' Rag
Blues' (Chart '9' 1983) 'Marguerite Time' (Chart '3' 1983) 'The Wanderer' (Chart '7' 1984) 'In The Army Now'
(Chart '2' 1986) (another personal favourite) 'Burning Bridges' (Chart '5' 1988) and 'Anniversary Waltz' (Chart '2'
1990) all those listed in the second part of highlighting can be found on disc two.
There are 41 tracks on-board this 2-Disc cellebration of the groups chart achievements down the years....i have
no problems recommending this 2-CD release as a great reflection of the groups chart career.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2010
What can you say about Status Quo, you either love them or are indifferent. I love them, and if your going to buy a cd, then this is the one for me. It,s a double cd, which has forty one digitally remastered tracks, and it contains all the tracks that I love. I bought this at a great price on Amazon, and Iam delighted with it. It has all their hits and a few covers of old rock n' roll favourites of mine, and covers a broad spectrum of their recorded material. I even love the two Anniversary Waltz medleys on this disc, so if you like the Quo, you will like this double cd, if not, it is your loss. An acquired taste, but very worthwile. Mrs. M Walsh
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 October 2003
From "Matchstick Men" to "All Around My Hat" (From the then up-to-date but patchy "Don't Stop" album). This really covers what is wanted by the record-buying public. All the well-known hits are included, and no-one can really moan about the same three chords. 'Cause if you buy this what else do you expect?!?
Well there is the odd slowie - "Living On An Island", "Marguerita time", "When You Walk In The Room". In the main, tho', you get whatever you want (sorry, I couldn't help it(!)) - "Down Down", "Rockin' . . .", "Dear John", "Ol' Rag Blues", "Caroline", "Rain" etc etc etc.
If you want a Quo collection you could do a lot worse than this. If like me you have it all anyway - but on vinyl, then this ain't too bad for the car!
Heads Down and Boogie!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2005
A lot better than the current compilation because it contains all the hit single and in the the correct order. Status Quo were once very good, something a lot of people don't appreciate much now.
Between "Paper Plane" in 1973 and "Dear John" in 1982 they were a superb singles band, each one a gem. However, once the 80's production values crept in the drums lost their power and stuff like "Ol' Rag Blues" are good songs in search of beefier production and "Going Down Town Tonight" and "Mess Of Blues" just sound weedy. The massive hits of the 80's you cannot argue with - "In The Army Now" is a great song and a pop classic, ditto "Marguerita Time" and "Burning Bridges"... the rest just sound like poorly produced "dad-rock" to me. Fear not though, unlike the latest compilation all this stuff is towards the end of disc 2 - If it's your bag fine, but real rock music lovers of any age should get this and treasure disc 1, it's magic!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2001
This CD has all the Quo classics, from Matchstick men through Down Down to the latest releases. CD1 is non-stop heads-down rock'n'roll done as only Francis, Rick and the guys can do it. CD2 covers the later, pop period. This double CD includes everything in 12 Gold Bars (the previous best of) and more. 41 glorious tracks. YES!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2003
Great music, people might moan it's only 3 chords (which is a stupid thing to say) but I wish I could play my guitar like that.
Great album - great tracks - great band and have seen them live as well and that is a real tingle down the spine the music just takes over together with the boogie rock beat.
So many tracks to choose but I like 'paper plane /down the dust pipe/ caroline' because they play those live at start of gig.
All the best ones are on this album the only problem is maybe to many ? that might sound strange but there again what is to much of a good thing. I will say as a Quo fan but 'buy it' - stick on headphones' pick up the air guitar & boogie / rock on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 April 2015
This came out in 1998, we were in Bournemouth to see them live at the BIC, what a show, album sold out everywhere in town. What is it that makes them such a popular band, ? Listen to this double album and you have your answer, when it came out they were celebrating 25 years of hits, soon it will be fifty years, and they are still just as good. You'll know the songs, you'll practice your airv guitar, legs apart a la Rossi and you'll be rockin' all over the house. With hoops and hollers of I Like It I Like It I lIke It, because this set confirms what in our heart of hearts we already know.. they are one of the best rock bands in the world and have been in all the years they have been going. Whatever you want by Quo is on this wonderful set, the tours still selling out, the albums still hitting the charts, as I write this they've done this new acoustic album, top of the charts again.
This is still a great abum full of hits and fan favourites, but most of all a testimony to one of the most exiting and finest bands around..GO ON ROCK TIME YOU DROP< the medley's the hits, the stuff of rock legends it's all here in this great set of Quo goodies !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
This is a cracking album. I was never a big Status Quo fan, but listening to this double album as one great familiar song follows another, the sheer scale of their achievement is overwhelming. The music only flags towards the end. They were often criticised for their songs all sounding the same on the radio, but in fact now that they are all grouped together, the unfairness of that view becomes all the clearer. Fantastic riffs on songs like Whatever You Want. The haunting Mystery Song remains my favourite. This album is sensibly ordered in strict chronology so you can enjoy their development from the early 60s pop/rock style of "Paper Plane" etc to the heavy rockers of "Rockin all over the world". Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
You really can't argue with this! 41 top tracks from the Quo and not a toss one among them. Sure, a couple times on disc 2 there are some cheesy keyboard intros but who cares - this is Quo! I think disc 1 contains my favourite mix of tracks from what's available here but you can stick both discs on and leave 'em playing and you'll find yourself nodding your head, tapping your hand on the steering wheel or just digging the simple but effective lyrics on some of the more sedate tracks (although 'sedate' tracks are few and far between here!). All the hits are here, the early stuff and basically all the quality you'd expect from Status Quo Best Of package. Can't complain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
what a great cd or two should I say, all the best quo have to offer well worth the money, 42 tracks to listen to, turn up the bass, crank the volume, and enjoy, dont blame me If you end up deaf!....this Is the best quo album I have had the pleasure of listening to, I look forward to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)