Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
26
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2008
I can't agree with Y.O. Barton. This CD is a useful adjunct to Piaf's studio recordings, only seven of the tracks were recorded in "some American music hall" (Carnegie Hall, actually!) the rest are from the famed Olympia in Paris, recorded betwen 1955 and 1962, and demonstrate something of her power as a live performer. The english version of "Les Amants d'un Jour" may not quite have the subtletly of the original (how do you translate "...ce decor, banal a pleurer" using the same number of syllables? - impossible) but it still packs quite a punch, and I still play it to newcomers to Piaf who don't know French. Most are visibly moved by it, so don't knock it!
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2009
Ignore Y.O. Barton's review. His ignorance of the significance of these recordings is exemplified by his "...some ghastly American music hall..." comment. The "ghastly American music hall" in question is Carnegie Hall and the Carnegie Hall recordings are recognised as some the best of Piaf's career. The term "legendary" has been used on more than one occasion to describe these concerts.

This is a superb introduction to the power of Piaf's live performances, many of which are available on her numerous live CDs recorded at The Olympia and Carnegie Hall if this budget priced disc should whet your appetite.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 July 2009
OK, the packaging of this CD is cheap and nasty (it *is* a Music For Pleasure release after all, and that imprint was never renowned for its elegant aesthetics), and it may not be apparent from a cursory glance that these are live recordings. But live they are - and also wonderful, giving some measure of indication as to why Piaf, alongside Garland, was on her day arguably the greatest live female singer and performer of the 20th century.

Virtually all of Piaf's most celebrated songs are here, providing a useful counterpoint to the recorded versions. On the subject which has already been touched on by previous reviews of the inclusion of the English version of, for me, Piaf's greatest achievement of all, 'Les Amants d'un Jour' - yes, of course the original French version is a heartbreaking masterpiece, which is also available on any number of Piaf collections. The English version is much less easily-found, and it would be the worst kind of precious musical snob who would deny that it has a beauty of its own. 'Who am I to care, one more love affair? Love is nothing new, I have work to do' somehow encapsulates a whole life in 18 words. (Interestingly, this version explicitly makes Les Amants a heterosexual couple, while the more ambiguous French lyrics make no such reference).

This album usually seems to be available for peanuts, and in my opinion wouldn't be at all a bad place to start for anyone new to Piaf who may not at first necessarily want to fork out a larger sum for a more sophisticatedly* presented and comprehensive collection. *(If this word exists, it looks kind of wrong!)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2005
for some reason I am the first to write a review. When I saw the invitation I had to accept. It can only be possible that I am the first because no-one believes a review is really necessay for such a great and well-known artist-singer. In the unlikely event that you are new to Edith - and she does obviously belong to an older generation - these recordings belong to an older school and technique and lack today's brilliant clarity, but this is all the mroe appropriate for the unique smoky voice that is Piaf. Her's is the original sound of soul, of the human spirit and the love of life even in the midst of the melancholy and tragedy of her times. She will stop - and then enspirit - any of your parties or just fill your evening with pleasure
22 Comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
Anyone that considers buying her album, should stop and just get it. Amazing voice, and the CD has also retained some of that authentic atmosphere that you get when listening on vinyl! Totally worth it. :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
If I could give this ten stars I would. Just superb. If you like Edith Piaf you will just love this. She sings with such passion. So, so enjoyable to listen to.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2016
If your looking for cabaret singer in her day she was one of the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2007
Dreadful waste of (not very much)money. Much of it is of a concert to some ghastly American music hall audience, and some songs, including the haunting Les Amants d'un Jour, are in English, sanitising them of any romance. I beg to differ: this is not the real Edith Piaf. Don't touch it.
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
For my late friend, sad memories, lovely cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)