Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
107
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Singles Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


HALL OF FAMEon 20 September 2008
For me this is still the definitive Bowie collection. On two discs you get 37 songs spanning his career up to 1993. Presented in a chronological way this collection allows you to move with Bowie as he developed his style with experience and trends of the time. With such gems as 'Space Oddity', 'Starman', 'Ashes to Ashes', 'China Girl' and one of my personal favourites 'Modern Love' and more besides, this album has so many outstanding tracks to whet your appetite. Bowie always was and is an innovative artist, with a flair for songwriting and performance and this album is the best place to go for your first introduction to what he has to offer. Superb for those new to Bowie and still invaluable for those who have some of his albums. Highly recommended.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2001
In my opinion this is the greatest 'greatest hits' package of all time, even better than '1'. My only complaint is that we are offered the original edited version of 'Hereos' which doesn't do the song any justice. For an introduction to Bowie's career this will do the job nicely! Sit back and listen to some of the greatest rock/pop music of all time.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
I had bought previously some of Bowie's work on vinyl many years ago, however those are now long gone. I chose this simply because it had many of the tracks I remembered and wanted to hear again. The album is a real trip down memory lane for those who heard his work when it was originally released, and a voyage of discovery for those who are hearing it for the first time. The influences of the time these songs were written are clearly told through the lyrics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
In terms of the number of singles presented this is a good compilation, but compilations often use poor masters in a poor pressing. This Dutch pressing is splashy and thin. Compared to a UK pressed Ziggy Stardust original it has a very poor overall sound quality and loses much of its musicality. I would probably still buy it for the selection as it was cheap, but please don’t buy it full price or for anything else except convenience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
If bowie had not lived to such a ripe old age he would be in the saint status the Lennon, Morrison, Joplin and Hendrix are...I am sure of this...pre 1970 he wrote Space Oddity..a remarkable and avant garde masterpiece that says it all for me...! On and upwards to the more modern sounds of Lets Dance and Modern Love...My whole 5 piece family ranging in ages from 50 down to 3 absolutely love this album...!! Eugene Brosnan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Item arrived jewel case broken and the sixth track on disc two jumps the problem of buying second hand items
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Very nostalgic, have very much enjoyed listening to the best of Bowie, If you want to try Bowie but aren't an ardent fan then this is the C D for you nothing to out the box as he often was for those who didn't appreciate his style of singing and fashion, but this man is an icon ( and i am not an ardent fan, just someone who appreciates talent.).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
David Bowie has a voice of outstanding Quality and excellent talent. From Space Oddity, Under Pressure Duet with Queen, Dancing in the Street with Mick Jagger, Ashes To Ashes, Fashion this album covers all his greatest hits. A different album would be an alternative not having so many big hits to enjoy David Bowie further.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Oh, David!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Renewal of old favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)