Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2001
I bought this album when it first came out almost three years ago and it still sounds wicked. Stand out tunes are "Put That on Everything", "Learn The Hard Way" and "Never Say Never". The beats are way ahead of their time and Brandy's raspy voice fits every songs to a tee. Just avoid the Byran Adams remake - it was a nice try, but nothing could make that song sound good - not even the midas touch of Ms Norwood. A defintite RnB classic.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2001
Smooth, sexy and funky. This album is one of the few I can sit down and listen to, start to finish. The best tracks for me are Learn The Hard Way, Tomorrow and Almost Doesn't Count. Thoughtful lyrics combines with R'n'B, Funk, Soul and pure talent make this an outstanding achievement for Brandy, and everyone can appreciate her in one way or another. Even now ttis album still sounds bang up to date, and her new single is just as good...the only person who can make even Phill Collins sound sexy? Now that's got to be worth listening to! Only four stars cos I want another Brandy album ASAP! Otherwise, a perfect 5 out of 5.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2000
Brandys second album shows a much better style of vocals and production. this is my fave out of both her albums and the best tracks are 'the boy is mine' 'happy' and 'have you ever' with a great album like this brandy shouldn't wait as long to realease another one as she did with the last.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
Right now there are 21 reviews on Amazon co uk and 454 on Amazon com, which says everything about how Brandy's brand presence has shrunk back to her US heartland. This is a sort of massive triumph of corporate pop. Fragile ecozones frizzle in petrol as Brandy, then 18, goes through her predictable repertoire of melismatic oohs and oh yeahs. Tinselly keyboards and swooshes of multitracked vocals, huge empty spirituals based on false promises to climb the highest mountain peak and swim the ocean deep, perfect for hotel lobbies downtown receptions costume jewellery malls, feeding your face and driving around in the car. Whoops - there goes another species extinction ... It's pretty amazing at times: Never Say never is my fave, with Angel, Learn the Hard Way, Almost doesn't count, Top Of the World, Happy, Truthfully. Put that on Everything, Boy is Mine and One Voice are the most purely horrible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
I must say, I really like this Album. I remeber hearing the Song Brandy did with Mase (On Top of The World) in 1998,
& my Classmates whom were forcing me to sing it, made me state Mase's verse, but I was way too timid to finish off
the rest. One even said that I was not that good. This was where she showed her depth, & experience in Songs like
The Boy Is Mine (with Monica), Almost Does'nt Count, Have Yoy Ever, & Put That on Everything, which show just what
she was feeling, & learning prior to the Album's release. it was at a point where R&B had amazing lyrics, raw
emotion, smooth melodies, & tight beats.

I strongly advise those whom are craving for that Soul And R&B feeling (unlike the Pop bs that has replaced real
Soul And R&B) to purchase this.... I have to say it is well worth the experience. This was 1998!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2006
I found this album great! If you are a true Brandy fan, I can guarentee that you will adore each track to the full. Never Say Never includes the singles, 'The Boy Is Mine', 'Almost Doesn't Count', 'U Don't Know (Like U Used To), 'Top Of The World' and 'Have You Ever?'. Plus some other hot tracks, with the beat made by the world famous, Rodney Jerkins. AKA Darkchild. Also included, Everything I Do (I Do It For You), which is a Bryan Adams cover. It's a fantastic album, and it's worth every penny.

Look out for Brandy's new album, coming out early 2007!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
This album by Brandy is fantastic there is no other word for it!!!!

I dont think there is one Bad Song on this album the main one that does stick out from the rest of the album are "One Voice" This is a fantastic song and should have been released as a single.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2002
when ifirst heard this album, my only words were WOW! the first track invites us into the journey through this masterpiece. all tracks have a meaning, from the slow haunting ballad of "one voice", to the upbeat tempo of "happy", this album captures the whole theme of never thinking that you cant make it, as brandy proves time and time again. the songs are excellent! if she's not fighting with Monica over a boy (the boy is mine), then she's pushing one away with the sultry sound of "almost doesnt count", and then the powerful and emotional message of an untrue love that she'll leave tomorrow (tomorrow). And she even brings her own style to the Bryan Adams classic "everything I Do". an overall rating; EXCELLENT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 1999
Moesha star Brandy has a gorgeously warm voice. This album never tires, the diversity of her songs is great. From the brilliant hit "The Boy Is Mine" to the more upbeat number "U don't Know Me". The album starts with an involving "Angel in Disquise" and gradually echoes out with a gospelly "One Voice" and a tear jerking "Tommorrow".Brandy's final number is a wonderful cover of Bryan Adams' "Everything I Do". Definately an album to buy if u love r'n'b.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
Never Say Never
Fantastic cd great to add to your collection whether it's played in the car on the way to a night out, or an evening at home. If you like the sound of Monica you will also hear her voice on "the boy is mine". Very soulful sound that you can feel in her voice. Another talented voice from 'over the pond.'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)